We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Western Isles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tobermory
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here one night whilst touring Mull.

Location - Could hardly be better. Set in a commanding position above Tobermory providing stunning views of the bay and straights beyond from the front of the hotel. A short 2 or 3 minute downhill walk (steep) deposits you on the main street of Tobermory.

Service - Reception was efficient and friendly. The staff are young and do their job but you couldn't say they go out of their way or are particularly friendly.

Facilities - No lift so be prepared to negotiate some quite steep stairs (and a lot of them if you are staying higher than the 1st floor), Evening meals are served in the conservatory overlooking the bay - dogs are allowed (as they are in the rooms). The bar is also in the conservatory. Breakfast is served in what was obviously once the main dining room which also offers spectacular views. There is a magnificently Victorian lounge (with smaller side room) both boasting open fires - a great place to relax after dinner with a glass of Tobermory single malt.

Food etc - No complaints at all, The menu is not enormous but what they do they do well and it's all served quickly and efficiently. Moderate wine list and an impressive array of malts.

Room - We stayed in the Ghllie, a double room on the second floor. Clean, comfortable, fairly large and adequately furnished and decorated - fine for the price. The bathroom was large and well equipped. Water was hot and there was plenty of it. No problems with noise from other rooms. All in all no complaints at all - and then there is the view from the room which would make up for most things.

Dog friendliness - exceptional throughout the hotel (apart from at breakfast).

Overall - the hotel is clearly long past it's Victorian prime - but the owners seem to be making a fist of keeping it updated where it matters and making sure that staying here is an enjoyable experience. In my opinion the slightly shabby edges and air of faded glory enhance the character and atmosphere of the place no end.

If you want to stay in Tobermory I doubt you could do better.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front enjoy stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Swoggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Swoggler

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Its great that you've left such thorough comments to help future bookers. We hope to welcome you back soon

Very best wishes

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

We were very disappointed to find that this hotel had made a booking error and were unable to honour our booking.
The management went out of their way to try to put things right and we accepted their offer of a complementary dinner to compensate us and for them to arrange a room for us elsewhere.
The dinner was served in a very lovely dining room overlooking the lovely bay of Tobermory.
The food was excellent. The sad part was leaving to go to our much inferior accommodation in the hotel behind this one.
If ever I am lucky enough to return to Tobermory, The Western Isles Hotel would be my first choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank andreamay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear andreamay_11

Once again I'd like to apologise for the mix-up on our part that meant we were unable to honour your booking. As we discussed, it is very very rare for us to do this and we were tremendously apologetic. I'm glad that your meal went some way to assuage your disappointment, and that you'll feel able to give us a second chance next year. If so, do call and speak to me directly to make sure all the i's are dotted and t's are crossed.

In any case, thank you for sharing such a kind review

Very best wishes
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

It was some 20 years ago when we last visited the Western Isles Hotel, at Tobermory on the Island of Mull, and at that time it was clear that it was in need of repair, upgrading and refurbishment if it was to be maintained as Mull's most prestigious guest accommodation. Since then the Hotel has had a chequered career which we kept track of on Tripadvisor, was closed for a time and suffered from changes in ownership. We visited again between 21 and 23 October, and chose to stay in a superior room overlooking the harbour. The views were stunning and we
were pleased that the new owners have a vision and plans to restore the hotel to its former glory.
We don't envy them their task, it must be like painting the Forth Bridge, but at least they are well on the way to achieving their goals. Internally, there is evidence of upgrading, but externally the
gardens are overgrown and what used to be paths down to the harbour are overgrown and unusable. The meals were excellent, although the dinner menu never varied during our stay and whilst scallops were advertised they were never available when requested. Staff were charming, save for one exception with a dining room waitress over a contretemps about scallops who was frankly, rude. One of the proprietors was always in evidence and appeared to take a personal interest in guests' requirements and seemed to iron-out problems before they occurred. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Mull and stay in what was once and will be again, the most prestigious accommodation on the island. The proprietors deserve recognition for their hard work to date and their vision for the future. They also have a great off-season deal, where the Hotel pays for your ferry fare from Oban as part of their offering. This was a great success with guests and contributed to almost full occupancy during what would normally be the end of season quiet period. A very imaginative incentive, well worth repeating.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated on a commanding site overlooking the harbour and we would recommend booking ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Michael S

Thank you so much for leaving such a great review. You and your wife really appreciate what we're trying to do at the Western Isles. You're right that it is definitely a labour of love! Please accept my apologies for the apparent rudeness - I appreciate how the waitress may have come across, but there was absolutely not intent to offend on her part. We'll definitely take on board all your comments, so thank you for making such an effort to leave them

We hope to welcome you back soon

Very best wishes
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is as good a base as any for a holiday on Mull, with stunning views over the Sound of Mull and within easy walking distance of the shops and restaurants of Tobermory's colourful main street. The furnishings and decor are dated but that adds to the charm and seems appropriate to the history of the hotel. In other respects, the hotel is hard to fault. All the staff were friendly and helpful, service in the bar and at meal times was good, as was the quality of the food at dinner and breakfast. Overall, good value and somewhere we'd recommend to others.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the small amount extra for the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear alyth

Its great to hear that you'd recommend us to other folk looking for a base on Mull. Thank you so much for leaving a great review

Hope to see you back soon
Very best wishes
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed at the Western Isles fab time great hotel, staff and food. Hotel is a little tired however did not spoil a great experience. It was my second stay there and since being taken over by Richard things are really improving. Will be really great when the showers are working properly. Bath was fine water hot..
Great experience.

Room Tip: No lift at the hotel so if you struggle with stairs try and stay on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardCurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear RichardCurtis

We're so pleased you had such a great experience with us, and thank you for leaving a good review

Very best wishes

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Our son and his now- wife were married at short notice in Tobermory and the Western Isles hotel hosted their wedding breakfast after their marriage. They gave us a private function room and the staff were friendly and helpful in planning the wedding managing to be both discrete but attentive. The stunning position of this hotel and the views over the sea added to the atmosphere. We were particularly grateful to the staff for their patience as we arranged this party within two weeks and inevitably there were changes of plans in the numbers of guests and in their menu preferences. A big big thank you fro us all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Henrietta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Henrietta B

Thank you so much for your kind words. We try our very best for guests, whether its planned months in advance or at the very last minute, so we're really pleased that all worked out well for you and the family.

Very best wishes

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. The original features in the buildings add a lot of character. All the decor in the rooms was modern enough without taking away the character if the house. Breakfast was incredible and so much choice with breathtaking views. Hope to visit again, Thank you!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank TravellingMandy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear TravellingMandy87

Thank you for your great review. It really is much appreciated

Very best wishes
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.2 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
436 reviews
16.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
0 mi away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
90 reviews
0 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#7 of 27 in Tobermory
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Isles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Isles Hotel

Address: Tobermory PA75 6PR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range: £58 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Western Isles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning views over Tobermory Harbour or across the bay and out to the Sound of Mull. If excellent food, friendly service and a great atmosphere are what you're looking for, then the Western Isles is for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Western Isles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Isles Hotel Tobermory, Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing