We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Western Isles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tobermory
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Glad I took a taxi as the hill is very steep but you are rewarded with fab views from the terrace and from the rooms overlooking the sea. No lift but was helped with up with my bags. Lovely room, bathroom very clean, bit dated but kinda suits the hotel and not in a bad way.. Bar area seemed more set for meals/breakfast and bit too much like a cafe. The lounge was comfy and terrace with views lovely. Wifi free but connection a bit soso, got the best connection from seats by reception. Would happily stay again... didn't get to meet the cute dogs I'd seen on the website!

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear panda60

Thank you for your very kind review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Sadly Jasper has been a bit under the weather recently, but he's improved a great deal over the past few days and should be right as rain soon.

Take care and very best wishes
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

Despite its history, its supporting role in the film "I Know Where I'm Going!", and the views from (some of) its windows, there are so many other aspects to staying at The Western Isles detract from its charms that I wouldn't advise staying here. (There are many B&Bs and self-catering rentals also in Tobermory.)

The hotel is a grande dame that needs a major overhaul instead of patching. Check out the cracked walls, thick dust on trophy heads, dirty carpets on the steps and plumbing that wakes the dead when the toilet is flushed ("We checked it - it's fine"), for examples.

Wifi worked occasionally, and not very well then, a huge fault these days. People were sitting in the stairwell near equipment, trying to get any signal at all. Really. Large inviting lounge has no wifi at all. Our room was small, view of another hotel from our window, £90/night with breakfast for two.

Summer staff is sweet and well-meaning but not very well trained. Breakfast was fine, full menu, good coffee.

Yes, the views are incomparable. But save some money and climb the hill to have a drink or a meal; just don't spend the night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suomigrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Sumogirl

I'd like to apologise for the fact that we clearly didn't meet your expectations. We are a three star hotel and we make no secret of the fact that some areas do need refurbishment. The building was erected in 1883, and over the years there have many improvements. However the floorboards creak in some rooms, and the plumbing may be noisier than in a Travelodge, but most of our guests enjoy the quirkiness and character that these idiosyncrasies bring.

While you were here, there was a serious problem with broadband to the whole of Tobermory, as you'll see from recent coverage in the Oban Times. This was completely beyond our control. The wifi connection is never brilliant, but if you want Fibre Optic connectivity then best avoid the West Coast completely.

It seems as if you booked an inland view room, and that's the view you will get from your room. Harbour view rooms as well as sea view rooms are also available, subject to availability of course and usually at a small premium. Perhaps you would have been happier if you'd booked a room with a view?

In any case, we're pleased you enjoyed the location if nothing else

Best regards
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

One of my very favourite hotels. . Comfortable rather that luxurious, this is a special hotel. The views are out of this world and the food is also cooked with care and attention to detail. Friendly and helpful staff. Even our 2 year old Jack Russell enjoyed his stay!

While you develop the hotel further, please don't change too much. Just one small request, and it is almost being churlish, with the hotel's admirable policy to stock local produce do you think it would be possible to stock a local Scottish draft beer?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidwLinlithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear DavidwLinlithgow

Thank you so much for your great review which is very much appreciated.

I completely agree with you on the real ale front, however one of the many things that we have to consider when choosing which beers to stock, is how much we're going to sell. If you don't get a high enough turnover of the beer then you either end up throwing it away which is completely uneconomic, or the product is well past its best. And as I'm sure you'll agree, there is nothing worse than a poorly kept pint of ale.

Sadly our turnover of beers on tap is nowhere near high enough to warrant a keg of real ale - Scottish or otherwise. We do have a choice of Scottish bottled ales, one of which is brewed just a mile or so from the hotel. I know its not the same, but its the nearest we can manage!

What we miss on the ale front we hope to make up on the wine front with a wide choice of more than 10 wines by the glass and a good choice of sherries and gin. These are the drinks the majority of our guests enjoy.

Thank you for your comments though - I wish I had a better response

Very best wishes
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights over Easter and received a very warm welcome from staff. The hotel is in a great location albeit at the top of a very steep hill but it's a stones through from the Main Street in Tobermory. The room was a bit tired looking with drawers falling apart and the curtains didn't close properly so the room got really hot with the sun from early hours. Kippers for breakfast were fab!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBryan1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear LBryan1007

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your Easter break with us so much. Hope to see you return soon

Very best wishes
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A great hotel, needs more TLC but they are getting there slowly which is how they do things on Mull. Go for a room on the 2nd floor, which we had, unfortunately our friends had as 1sr floor room which was right above a meeting room which on our 1st night was occupied by a very loud group of people and kept them awake. The floor boards are very creaky but it is an old building so its to be expected. We did have a very nice stay, the breakfasts are enormous, evening meals are very good. Will be back but will definately ask for thev2nd floor again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Chris H

Thank you for your good review. I've tried to work out the dates you were here, but we haven't had any groups staying with us for some time so I haven't been able to get to the bottom of it. We don't usually get many comments about noise from other rooms - apart from the floorboards - as Victorian hotels were built very sturdily so noise generally doesn't travel. Anyway, your friends were clearly disturbed for which I apologise.

Hope to see you return soon
Very best wishes
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

After nearly two years of being away from Mull, it was so good to return to The Western Isles again. Fabulous welcome from all staff, actually quite emotional. Great food, accommodation, and, as usual, the hotel views are priceless. Booked straight away for October!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank paulpegrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear PaulPegrum

It was great to see you back in the Western Isles after too many months away, and on such good form! Looking forward to the rally!

Thank you again for the great review

Very best wishes
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We recently visited the Western isles hotel for a Birthday dinner.

The hotel staff were very helpful in organising the dinner prior to the night, and had a side room organised for us that was perfect for the 15 people that were in our party.

Dinner was very nice, and was good value

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stonehaven1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardNealon, Owner at Western Isles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Stonehaven1967

Thank you so much for your great review - as I remember you had one lovely oval table in Kiloran which worked so well for you all. Heres to another year!

Very best wishes
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
16.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
433 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
13.3 mi away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
90 reviews
0 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#7 of 27 in Tobermory
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Isles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Isles Hotel

Address: Tobermory PA75 6PR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range: £68 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Western Isles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning views over Tobermory Harbour or across the bay and out to the Sound of Mull. If excellent food, friendly service and a great atmosphere are what you're looking for, then the Western Isles is for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Western Isles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Isles Hotel Tobermory, Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing