We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Harbour Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tobermory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tobermory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Harbour Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed here on business in September with clients. The Hotel is where the "Cosy Café" used to be in my childhood (50 years ago).
My room was on the ground floor and had a great view of the harbour of Tobermory. Parking was right opposite, but there is plenty of free parking at the car park next to the distillery.
My room had two twin beds although I had only paid for a single room, the bathroom was large and modern with excellent shower.
Breakfast was excellent and I would recommend the Tobermory Hotel to anyone staying in Tobermory.
The only drawback I could see was there is no lift/elevator if you have mobility issues, and the ground floor room was subject to a little noise from people walking along the street, but I would trade that anyday for the view oof the harbour and Calve Island!

Room Tip: If you want a good view and have mobility issue as for ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highlandtourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    118
    35
    15
    4
See reviews for
56
188
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very cute hotel with lovely views and great home cooked breakfast. There are a number of lovely restaurants on the main strip. Animal friendly. Staff friendly and bed was very comfortable. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night. We’d booked a smaller rear-facing room but on arrival had been upgraded to a sea view and four-poster bed which was amazing. We’d actually had a bit of a bad day, so this was just a really nice gesture for us. The bed was extremely comfortable. We were in room 9. We had a lovely view over the bay and generally the room was very nice. We were really so grateful for the free upgrade! Very happy indeed.

The hotel is in a great location, right on the main street but it’s not noisy. There are great photo opportunities and everything is close by. Tobermory is well equipped with post office, supermarket, bank etc all just down the road.

The staff were friendly and the hotel was quiet. We had a great night’s sleep. Breakfast was great, a nice choice and the guy serving was extremely friendly and accommodating. We really enjoyed our stay, just wish we could’ve stayed longer. Great location, great service, would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GemmaR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile


Stayed as a family and were given 2 rooms in 'a corridor of our own' - unfortunately the children's bathroom was across the corridor and with the doors locking once shut, we were forced to leave their bedroom door on the latch, which didn't feel ideal and meant we slept lightly.

The sloping roof in the bathroom made it very difficult for my tall husband to use the facilities and I had to give the bath a quick wipe around before using it (hairs, insects). The window latch had broken off and it was difficult to pull the curtains.

The owners were very courteous and helpful and the kippers were good for breakfast, the view was great.

Overall, OK, but I wouldn't choose it if visiting Mull again and we paid a lot to stay here.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JerseyTracyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redcar
Level Contributor
160 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

stayed here one night and booked directly with the hotel only 3 days before so we were glad they had a room available
the hotel - (not really what I would class as a hotel - more like a B&B) was easy to find on the main street.
we checked in and the lady was very friendly and cheerful and showed us to our room
the room was a reasonable size and was clean with good furnishings and beds and a nice en suite bathroom.
the man on the reception on the evening was very helpful in helping me decide a route to walk and even lent me a map to plan a walk for the next day.

the hotel overall was small with very little facilities - there is no bar but you can order drinks and they get them for you and you can sit in the lounge to drink them
no outside area or garden, no other areas to walk around or sit in there is only your bedroom and a lounge - considering we paid £128 for one room for one night we found this to be very, very overpriced
our room was next to the main street and people walking by woke us up several times through the night ( maybe a double glazed window would help) and as a result of this we did not sleep well so we were tired the following day and I did not go for a walk.
some small maintenance issues - the toilet did not flush properly and had to flush it 5 or 6 times to get it to flush, there was black mould on the ceiling above the shower and on a 3 light fitting in the room only 1 bulb was working - I did mention this to the man at reception as we left
overall it is a reasonably nice place but when you are paying over £120 for one night you expect a lot more and you expect things to be checked before you arrive such as toilets flushing and light bulbs working
the breakfast was o.k but I was not given a choice of how I wanted my eggs - it was full breakfast and no options offered, also I had cereal and the used cereal bowl and spoon were left on the table and not removed even when they put my cooked breakfast on the table
if you compare this to other hotels it is massively overpriced and there are no facilities for guests

Room Tip: the room we stayed in was next to the main street - check if your room is the same as you may be wok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmcquade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I was disappointed with this hotel. We were in Scotland for 2 weeks and stayed in 5 different B & B's and/or hotels. This was by far, the most disappointing. The room was a disaster, the furnishings too big for the room, our room looked out over the harbor, which was lovely and NOISEY!!! Drunken sailors all night long walking from the bar to their boats along the waterfront.....not the hotels fault, I realize, but still not a quiet place to enjoy the view. The room we had, was clean enough, but the bed was hard as nails, the so called window seat was a oversized chair meant for a large room, and took up way too much space by the window, and it had an old blanket over it to cover the tears and rips of the fabric. The bathroom had no window, so the light was important. Our light was not working and when I asked if someone could fix it, the lady said she would send someone up to fix it, but of course, she never did......so we went for three days in the dark using only the natural light from the window......what a disaster....and annoying. The breakfast was delicious, very very good, no complaints there. Some of the staff were very helpful and kind, others not so much, fake smiles and faked behavior....wierd. AS another reviewer said the walls are thin so you hear everything. So bummed I didn't look at the low rating and stay in another b and b.....this place was a rip off, and not worth the money!!!! Every other place we stayed around Arran and Kintyre we loved, well worth the money.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in room 9.....horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Would that all hotels would strive to achieve this blend of professionalism. Our welcome was warm and gave you the feeling that you were a welcome guest. The location was superb --my daughter and I could just have moved in on a permanent basis especially as the management seemed to produce wall to wall sunshine! The little luxuries in the bedroom were most welcome including the waffle bathrobe. Meals were beautifully presented,not in a "twee" way, and deliciously substantial.There was plenty of informative leaflets with all the many places to visit and excursions to undertake and this hotel, and indeed the town of Tobermory had an air of tranquility which seems to be in rather short supply in to-day's frantic world.

Room Tip: Overlooking the harbour is a real bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargaretK4925OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.2 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
16.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
14.3 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#9 of 28 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
4.2 mi away
Glengorm Castle
Glengorm Castle
#4 of 28 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dervaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tobermory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tobermory Hotel

Property: The Tobermory Hotel
Address: Main Street, Tobermory PA75 6NT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tobermory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the colourful harbour of Tobermory, this boutique-style, family run hotel offers quality service and highland welcome. Enjoy a dram in front of open fires whilst watching the boats go back and forth. Our Hotel restauraunt offers the best of local produce and seafood in our stylish menu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Tobermory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tobermory Hotel Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing