We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“comfy and spacious place to stay on mull”
other travellers have booked this property
Back Brae Lodge location behind the famous Royal Buildings in Tobermory.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Back Brae Lodge location behind the famous Royal Buildings in Tobermory.
Location below Western Isles Hotel. Kitchen and dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Back Brae Lodge location behind the famous Royal Buildings in Tobermory.
Location below Western Isles Hotel.
Kitchen and dining area.
Living area.
Living area with partition closed.
Dining and living area.
Double sofabed closed.
Double sofabed open.
Upper entrance.
Some local Tobermory products.
Main bedroom.
Main bedroom with sink.
Main bedroom with full length mirror.
Bedroom
Time for a nap.
Upper stairway.
Lower stairway.
Bathroom with shower and bath.
Lobby and drying room.
Decking by rock face.
Entrances to Back Brae Lodge
Main Street, Tobermory
Elvis the otter.
White tailed sea eagle.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Tobermory, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
david r
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“comfy and spacious place to stay on mull”
Reviewed 31 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We've had a fantastic weekend stay here in Tobermory. A welcoming bright house to arrive at right in the heart of the town. Everything you could possibly need is here as well as advice and ideas of things to do whatever the weather.
There is a great big space upstairs which can be split into two rooms if you need some extra sleeping space. Good wifi and internet TV for anyone who needs to stay connected while away on a west coast island. Overall the place was comfy, very well equipped and clean.
we will be back for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and space
Liked least: it's a little bit too far away to go more often
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful property - just missing a view or two”
Reviewed 8 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

This is a "tardis" house - there's a lot more to it inside than you would think from the outside. For Balamory fans the house is situated right behind the "Balamory Shop" and is nestled up against a rock face. The only downside about the house as far as I could tell is the lack of light and therefore views available from any of the windows but aside from that (and the lack of any facilities for ice making or storing frozen food) there is very little wrong with the property. There are two fairly steep but small staircases to the property (one to the lower lever and another to the upper level) so it is definitely not wheelchair friendly.

The first (downstairs) entrance leads to a large utility/drying room with a pulley clothes hanger system and a tumble dryer. Also on this floor is the decently equipped bathroom with a large bath and overbath shower. The taps in the sink seem to operate the wrong way to all the others in the house but we soon got used to this. The plug is odd too - you have to push it down to plug the sink and push it down again to unplug it - this took a bit of time to work out! The decent sized double bedroom is on the same floor - this has its own sink which we thought was a bit eccentric but the whole house has it's unique foibles and they all add to its charm. Because the bedroom window looks out to another very close house and it has very efficient curtains, at night the room is pitch black - you may want to have a torch handy if your bed partner is sensitive to having lights turned on should a trip to the loo become necessary during the night!

The upstairs entrance leads to a surprisingly airy open plan living space with a combined kitchen/living room area which seems to defy the laws of physics by being far too big for the outside of the house. It is a really stunning room and I couldn't stop saying "wow" once I saw it in full daylight. The kitchen area (separated from the rest by an "island") contains a dishwasher, washing machine and fridge. The oven is a little complicated to operate even with the excellently written instructions - we couldn't get the lower fan assisted oven to work but we still managed to cook ourselves a couple of decent meals using the upper oven, grill and "star trek-like" touch sensitive hob. As mentioned there are no ice making or freezer facilities but this is stressed in the owner's website so there is no problem there as long as you read the web site properly. It would seem logical however to move the washing machine down to the utility room and replace it with a freezer to make self-catering a bit easier, but this is only a minor point and doesn't detract from the property at all.

The living room comes with a flat screen TV, freesat channels and a desktop PC all of which are free to use. There is also free WiFi should you want to use your own device. We didn't test wireless reception in the bedroom so cannot comment.

Tobermory is a beautiful place with eccentric shops and restaurants that cater for most tastes - if you like seafood you'll be especially spoilt for choice. There is a large well-equipped Co-Op that is ideal for self catering.

My partner and I are wildlife watchers and Mull is one of the best places to go to see some of the rarest British wildlife. During our stay we went on two guided wildlife watching trips (Discover Mull (led by Arthur Brown) and the Isle of Mull Wildlife and Bird watching safaris (led by Richard Atkinson)). On both trips we saw Mull's famous White Tailed Eagles, a couple (at least) of Golden Eagles and one of the rarest birds of prey in Britain - the Hen Harrier (not to mention otters and seals). We also spent a day on our own walk and during that walk we had an amazingly close view of a juvenile Golden Eagle who flew no more than a couple of meters above our head, all the time calling for his parents, one of whom turned up just a few minutes later. it was a stunning site and made the trip for us. All this and a glass calm crossing on the ferry back to Oban which revealed at least six harbour porpoises - it is really a beautiful and wild place. We are already making plans to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open plan living area and kitchen
Liked least: Lack of views and light around the house/
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan_WNea...
Neath
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent all round.”
Reviewed 30 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

The service and arrangements were perfect. The property was very clean and contained all modern amenities. The location is ideal, right in the centre of everything you could want. Plenty of pubs/hotels/cafes/restaurants, so although the Lodge is well kitted out for self catering, there are plenty of alternatives.
Tobermoray single malt, like nectar. I cannot think of a single thing to criticise except possibly the weather, but even then the Lodge is so well kitted out, internet, DVD's, games, freesat etc. that there is always something to do. A great deal of thought has gone into this facility, well done Kenny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiddlehar...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well equipped and very comfortable”
Reviewed 24 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

A very comfortable and well equipped cottage. Hidden behind harbourfront buildings and very private. Roomy but well lit and surprisingly quiet. Parking is on the nearby seafront or at Ledaig Pier. Very well placed for enjoying everything that Tobermory has to offer including Cafe Fish which is a few steps away (book ahead as it is very popular) and the Mishdish restaurant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and light
Liked least: Had to wait for a booking window
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan C
Cleeve Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
“More than we expected on our first visit to Mull”
Reviewed 11 June 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Home from home, very comfortable extremely well equipped and only minutes away from first class restaurants, pubs and shops.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and open plan living area
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l3eum
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great stay”
Reviewed 31 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

The property was clean ,spacious with all mod cons .Good location for shops and resturants on the main drag .If the weather isnt great there is internet and tv which where not used on our stay due to the lovely walks ,pubs and great weather .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The island itself is beautiful
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayfolk
Morecambe, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic accommodation in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 28 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We found the accommodation at Back Brae Lodge absolutely perfect, with the added bonus that we could take our dog, as pets are welcome.. The open plan lounge and kitchen area is light and airy and it was spotlessly clean. Eveyrthing is provided, including wifi, books, DVDs and games and even spare batteries for the TV remote! And the location is perfect, just yards from the beautiful Tobermory waterfront where there are restaurants, bars and shops selling everything from inexpensive gifts to beautiful silver jewellery and local pottery as well as a well-stocked Co-op store. This was our first visit to the Isle of Mull, and we couldn't have wished for better accommodation for our stay. We will return, and we will choose Back Brae Lodge again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious open plan lounge/kitchen
Liked least: no freezer
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing