We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sagar Restaurant

Sagar Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 24 Restaurants in Tobermory
Price range: US$11 - US$16
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: best restaurant in mull
East Lothian
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Not much to look at, so don't be disappointed from the outside, as once inside very clean, friendly and lovely food. Husband said best indian he has had, and we eat a lot if indian food. Not the cheapest but then this cuisine tends to be more expensive. We has onion bhajis, rice, Bombay potatoes, dopiaza and chilli garlic chicken plus garlic naan and drinks, all very good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    24
    17
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bog standard Indian food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had a reasonable meal here - but not brilliant. We are both vegetarians, and from Yorkshire where there is a high standard of Indian food with good fresh vegetables. The vegetable curries here appeared to include standard frozen veg (cubed carrots, sweetcorn peas and beans) which was a little disappointing. But friendly service, a good view and nice poppadums. And not expensive.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jotomalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pricey for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We found the portions to be small, 4 pieces of pakora as a starter. The main courses came with a lot of sauce and only a little meat. Tasty enough but at £70 for 2 was nor really value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthernTraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not the best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just back from Tobermory and had the misfortune of eating in this place. Most places on the island seem to stop serving food at around 8 and this was all we could find, from our group of 4 no one was impressed. My meal tasted that it had been reheated, the pakora sauce looked like "electric custard" poured staright from a plastic jug on the window sill. Not great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JDKDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good take away albeit a pricey one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

During our recent visit to Tobermory we ate out on a few occasions and as we had rented a house for the week we also got a few take-away meals from some of the restaurants, one of which was the Sagar. Having read the negative reviews I felt compelled to post a quick review in support as we had a very enjoyable take-away meal.

My husband and I ordered 2 curries (both tandoori chicken based), 2 rice and a garlic naan and undoubtedly at £25 this was not a cheap take away. However, our food was very tasty and the menu was more interesting than the usual standard Indian menu that you often see in Scottish Indian restaurants.

From a quick skim of the negative reviews they do appear to relate to eating in the restaurant which I can't comment on. All I can say is that we really enjoyed our take away and would go back again if we have another self catering holiday in Tobermory.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laineylop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sagar Restaurant also viewed

Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 

Been to Sagar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing