We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Great cottage, lovely welcome, perfect location...”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
34 reviews
Sunrise from garden
Play area
Calve Island & The Sound of Mull
Oakfield House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tobermory, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
IrenaPrzy...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage, lovely welcome, perfect location for wildlife spotting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Oakfield Cottage was perfect for our second visit to Mull. We cannot fault the communication prior to and during our stay. We were given a warm welcome, bottle of wine and clear instructions for everything in the property. The location was a short walk from the main street which had cafes, restaurants, pubs and the famous fish and chip van. February is pre-season so some typical tourist attractions were not open, but we were there for wild life spotting and photography - the information file at the cottage helped us lots. We spotted otters, seals, golden and sea eagles, stags, goats and more. There was plenty of room and storage for outdoor boots and coats, parking area was large, kitchen well equipped and there is a large comfortable lounge which looked out to the garden with bird feeders and pretty flowers. We have recommended the cottage to friends and would love to visit again!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The views and welcome
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2014
Hello Irena
Thank you very much for writing a review for Oakfield Cottage - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you too for recommending us to your friends . It would be great to see you back some time.
Very best wishes to you both
Jean & Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Manchester
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jan 2014
Hello- thank you very much for your review for your New Year stay with us at Oakfield Cottage. It was great to see you again, we are really pleased that you had a really relaxing stay.
Hope to see you soon. Very best wishes,
Jean & Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Budapest
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
4 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Nov 2013
Hi Eva,
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities and your stay at Oakfield Cottage.
We will aim to fix out the WiFi gremlin which is partly due to the thick walls in the property.
Very good wishes from Tobermory to Budapest.All the very best for 2014.
Jean and Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Mayfield
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
4 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Nov 2013
Hello Malcolm
Thank you for your great review, we are delighted that you enjoyed staying at Oakfield Cottage and we hope that we may be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Very best wishes
Jean and Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Edinburgh
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Oct 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Oakfield Cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back for a longer stay some time in the not too distant future.
Very best wishes to you all
Jean and Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A FlipKey verified reviewer
East Sussex
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Sep 2013
Hello Noel and Lynda and thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for Oakfield Cottage and the Isle of Mull.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Very best wishes,
Alasdair and Jean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Blackpool
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
Hello and thank you very much for your very positive review. It was a pleasure to have you all back to stay at Oakfield Cottage and we will look seeing you all again soon.
very best wishes to you all.
Jean and Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing