We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable views, wonderful hosts, lovely house”
Review of Strongarbh House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strongarbh House
Ranked #4 of 27 Tobermory B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A 4 day stay in Mull based in Tobermory at Strongarbh House was just perfect. High up over Tobermory with uninterrupted views of the sea and harbour and yet less than 5 minutes from the front with it's iconic multi coloured seafront restaurants and businesses. A perfect location and a solid old house with very high ceilings built in mid 19th century.

Superbly appointed with it's own library, large comfortable bedrooms, beautifully decorated. A classy house run by a classy couple who do everything possible to make our stay perfect.

Food was exceptional and cooked perfectly using many original dishes and with a full range of breakfast options. There is also a complimentary tea and cake option between four and six o'clock.

Wonderful and very restful at night as it is very quiet. Private grounds and parking is extensive and secluded. A perfect stay and we will be coming back.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room to make the most of the location. Both front rooms are large and well appoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve2295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights over Easter and thought Strongarbh house was the perfect B&B. Great location in Tobermory just 5 mins from the Main Street. The house is beautifully decorated and comfortable and the food was delicious - yummy breakfast, and afternoon tea in the garden. Great hosts. Would totally recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed at Strongarbh House last weekend for the Mull Music Festival. The hotel was absolutely excellent. Far enough away from the main street to allow us to relax when we wanted to but only five minutes walk down the hill when we wanted to enjoy the music and bustle of the festival. First class service from the staff in the hotel. Our bedroom and bathroom were both huge, very clean and comfortable. Loved the huge bed and bath! Breakfast was absolutely amazing. The fruity porridge is a must!!!There was a great selection at breakfast time. The homemade bread, jams and marmalade was a lovely touch. The house is full of character and the gardens were neat and tidy. The view from the front of the house was brilliant. Couldn't have asked for more. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here at Easter and were so pleased that we had picked this hotel. The hotel is of a very high standard and the view over Tobermory is superb. We were lucky enough to stay in room 1 which has a big bay window and has a four poster. Breakfast was lovely with a good menu choice including a daily special to chose from too. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody wanting to stay in Tobermory.

Room Tip: Chose room 1 or 2 for excellent sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanne_dixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Interesting, characterful house and gardens, we had afternoon tea in the library which was snug and warm but could have chosen to sit in the gallery which was light bright and modern. The bedroom was perfect, great view, lovely bed linen, big bathroom and local products. It was all clean, modern but with great character features and imaginative attention to detail throughout. Friendly and helpful hosts, who gave good recommendations. Very good breakfast, good choices and product once again. A lovely stay, we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swannic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I rarely write reviews for hotels we've stayed in even for the good ones, but Strongarbh House deserves to be mentioned.

We booked a last minute holiday and stayed there over the Easter weekend. This is our first time in Mull and our wonderful holiday was made better by our lovely accomodation. Location was perfect, it sits on a hill just behind the Main Street of Tobermory and overlooking the bay. With the lovely weather we had, it meant sitting in the garden having delightful complimentary afternoon tea with freshly baked cakes, watching the boats go by with beautiful scenic view as a background. It is just perfect for relaxing and enjoying what Tobermory has to offer. It also has its own private path that goes down to the Main Street, very accessible for going for food and drinks in the evening. They provide you with a torch so you can find your way back in the dark.

The house itself is just lovely. I love the character of a Victorian house decorated with antique pieces mixed with modern items. This goes for our room (number 4), and all the common rooms in the house - everything is well thought of. Breakfast is very good as well, and you can taste they were locally sourced and freshly made. For a 4 bedroom B&B, having enough options (and even daily specials) to choose from for breakfast is a nice touch. Again, you get to see the view of the bay in their Breakfast room.

I will definitely go back to Mull again, and will not stay anywhere else but Strongarbh House.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowGal_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I am almost reluctant to tell people about Stongarbh House, because it's such a little gem. I have never before wanted to write a review and not had one bad thing to say!

First things first: getting there. It is quite easy to miss the directions on the website because it's on a little link, (you have to click 'By Car' at the side) so to avoid any confusion, I've pasted the link below. They are really detailed directions and so you can't go wrong once you have these:

http://www.strongarbh.com/downloads/strongarbh-directions.pdf

Adrian and Jane are lovely welcoming hosts who obviously take great pride in what they do; the rooms are beautifully decorated in a tasteful modern style and we LOVED the food here. The breakfasts are delicious and the complimentary afternoon tea and cake was very yummy indeed; so much so that we made sure we took advantage of the cake every day! On our last day we had to leave before breakfast to catch the first ferry and we were left a packed breakfast to take with us, in compostable packaging (they are very environmentally friendly) complete with a farewell note inside! Unprompted, they put in our preferred juices (me: apple, my husband: orange) which showed a personal touch.

It is a Victorian house and as with all old properties, it has character and charm. The views from Room 1 are gorgeous - there are large bay windows overlooking the harbour and another window to the side with shutters that helped us to have very good sleep!

There is a cosy study downstairs filled with a great range of books. The subjects include literature, art and religion so there is plenty to keep you occupied if the weather turns sour! There are also some board games and newspapers so we enjoyed our afternoon tea and cake in there each day. There are also a few bottles of whisky so you can enjoy a "wee dram" and leave a donation so that the stock can be replenished for future guests.

There is also a gallery at the front of the house which you are welcome to use and as I (unfortunately) had to do a bit of work during our stay, I used that room, as it was lovely and light, has a table at the front by the window and it made working a lot more pleasant!

There are only four bedrooms, so it is quiet and relaxing; also the lack of any televisions makes a refreshing change! IPads are provided in the rooms and are pre-loaded with useful information such as guides to the area and weather forecast apps. As I mentioned before they take great pains to be kind to the environment here, and not in a ‘token’ way at all, so that should be applauded.

I have read some reviews that complained about the noise. Obviously with the property being so old, there are some quirks you would expect, such as the soundproofing between rooms – for example, you can hear doors closing, voices etc in the bathroom in Room 1 and at night we could hear snoring from Room 4, BUT it honestly didn't bother us because we were so relaxed and tired from the fresh island air! If you're a bit grumpy and think that thing might bother you, please don't stay here!

I just have to say a final word about the breakfasts; each morning there is cereal and fresh fruit, freshly baked bread, and a great selection of cooked breakfasts which are all locally sourced, from simple but delicious sausage sandwiches, to eggs benedict, or smoked haddock... it really was a pleasure having breakfast each morning.

It is a short walk down a steep hill to Tobermory; everything is on your doorstep really. If you want a relaxing break, I can't recommend this place enough. I'm jealous of you all... I want to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HDupre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.1 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
433 reviews
16.9 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Glengorm Castle
Glengorm Castle
#3 of 27 in Tobermory
332 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dervaig
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#8 of 27 in Tobermory
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strongarbh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strongarbh House

Address: Tobermory PA75 6AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price Range: £100 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a cliff above Tobermory Bay, Strongarbh is a handsome Victorian villa providing comfortable and distinctive accommodation. The house, set in spacious gardens and linked to the harbour via a private woodland path, offers a relaxing retreat in the heart of the town. Strongarbh offers luxurious bedrooms, tempting breakfasts and stylish public rooms in a beautiful period house filled with an eclectic collection of books and contemporary art. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strongarbh House Tobermory, Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing