We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Arle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arle Lodge
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Arle Lodge is just south of Tobermory (10 minute drive) on the east coast of Mull. It is in a beautiful location with views overlooking the Sound of Mull.

It is not a traditional B&B (cooked breakfast etc) but continental breakfast is provided. Some of the rooms are en-suite although we booked a room with shared bathroom facilities (showers are on the ground floor). There is a large lounge/kitchen for guests to relax and cook food - each room has a food storage box provided plus there are a number of fridge freezers to keep food and drink. This is a big plus for the lodge I feel especially from holidaymakers trying to keep costs down.

The family owners are wonderful and friendly and always willing to offer good ideas of things to do.

For Mull I would strongly advise driving the whole of the west coast. Stunning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    29
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
25
32
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menstrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I highly recommend this self catering Lodge is run entirely by Hannah, her husband and parents, who are friendly, welcoming and did their utmost to ensure we had everything we needed, happily giving information and directions if any guest asked.

The room was clean, adequate size for wheelchair access, with comfortable twin beds and huge bathroom with rails by the toilet and the step-in shower. The car park has stones and the fire doors to the kitchen and bedrooms that both open into the hall, would make it difficult if unaccompanied and wheelchair dependant.

I would highly recommend this place for anyone unaccompanied or not who has some mobility

Lovely attention to detail. In addition to the usual shower/hair wash sachets was a sewing kit and shower cap, hand wash and body lotion on the sink plus in the bedroom a box of tissues and hair-dryer. Travel kettles etc were available if you wanted to make drinks in your room as well as iron and ironing board to be found in the drying room which was large enough to take 2 wheelchairs plus - very welcome as mine got soaked on a boat trip to Staffa and Lunga as I chose to stay on the deck outside!

With beautiful views over the sound of Mull was a large lounge with sofas, tv, dvds, books, games and adjoining a well equipped kitchen including freezer/fridges and boxes numbered for each room for dry foods was available for use 24 hours, barbecues with picnic tables outside. This all provided the ability to cater for yourself so saving money on meals out. It also engendered interaction between guests.

Self service breakfast comprised of fruit juice, a good variety of cereals, bread, French style milk rolls, butter jam/marmalade. Tea/coffee/drinking chocolate is always available.

They have a large selection of tourist info, including laminated cycling routes to borrow and OS maps of the area. They even provide the weather forecast on the information boards - very useful for planning activities as the area has a micro-climate.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I look forward to a return visit. :)

Room Tip: A large variety of room size, choice of en-suite or shared, cottages/apartments. But Lodge is not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stunning!. A fabulous welcome, and a beautiful place to stay. It's clean, basic, no frills, and with a view that makes you weep for joy. The beds are comfy, the rooms spacious, and even the help-youself breakfast is great. My kids (23 & 15) were thrilled to discover there are sheep all over the place, and had a great time exploring down to the shore. Would recommend this to anyone going to Mull. Hannah made us so welcome that I immediately asked about a second nights accomodation, but sadly the lodge didn't have space for the four of us - so she offered to put the kids up in her brand new tent! We will be coming back and we will make sure we book for longer

Room Tip: Just the two of you? The Sea View Loft is what you want. Gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arle_Lodge, Owner at Arle Lodge, responded to this review, 18 January 2016
Thank you so much Susan that's such a lovely review. Very much appreciated :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Everything about Arle Lodge was first class.
Our room was very clean with comfortable beds, hanging rail and shelves for clothes and a fantastic shower. What more could one want?
There were excellent facilities for preparing and cooking an evening meal, a great money saver in itself.
So we give it 10 out of 10 and a Gold Star.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank harveysden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed in the self catering accommodation where we shared kitchen, shower and toilets. The room was tidy, clean spacious and comfy. The communal area was great for meeting others and making lunch and tea. Location was 12mins from Tobermory next to the Sound of Mull. Very peaceful

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you're looking for a quiet place in a beautiful area, you found one. It was one of the best sleeps in my life, it's so quiet because of the hills and the air is so fresh! The b&b is located on the coast from one side and hills on the other. There are sheep and dogs on the territory, they are friendly and not afraid of people, you open a window in the morning and here they are looking at you :)) made my day!
The staff is very helpful, so if you've got any questions about the roads or anyhing else, you can ask. They booked a tour to Staffa island for us (highly recommended) and gave me a british plug adaptor, cause I forgot to take mine.
There is a TV in the room with DVD's and a big TV in the sitting area, but there are so many interesting spots on the island, you don't want to spend time on the couch. World cup is an exception :)
If you're looking for a place to stay for couple of nights or more, that's the perfect one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 785Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed a couple of nights at the end of a week long holiday on another part of Mull on a very windy weekend at the end of October. Other than us the only other residents were a group of workmen. Whilst pleasant they were somewhat noisy in the early hours when they returned from a night in Tobermory.
Other than that the experience was wholly positive. The room (ensuite) was large and clean. The communal kitchen and living room was modern and well equipped. Would we stay again - yes but hopefully it will be a bit quieter.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.0 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
686 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#7 of 27 in Tobermory
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arle Lodge

Property: Arle Lodge
Address: | 5 miles from Tobermory - on the bus route, Tobermory PA72 6JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Lodge is more convenient than an ordinary B&B because you can lie in bed as long as you want to (except for the day of departure) We supply a self-service continental breakfast (cereal, bread, jams, milk, fruit juice, tea, coffee) We have a shared self catering kitchen and dining area so you can cook your own meals (a big saving). You have full use of the lounge and facilities all day. All towels & linen provided. Please note the lodge is not suitable for babies and small children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Arle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arle Lodge Tobermory, Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing