We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and quiet and a friendly welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ardvasar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sonas Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 8 Ardvasar B&B and Inns
Mallow, Ireland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet and a friendly welcome”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Sonas is wonderfully situated for the Mallaig ferry and as a base for exploring the beautiful Sleat peninsula - and it's not that far from the more frequented tourist spots. The situation is very quiet - we slept like bablies - so did our elderly Labrador in the car outside! (Fellow dog owners might like to know that there are good forest walks a few minutes away). The accommodation was comfortable and spotless and all our needs were catered for. Breakfast was varied and excellent - we particularly enjoyed the home made jam. Tom and Mary made us most welcome and looked after us like old friends. We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjandf, Owner at Sonas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
It was lovely meeting you. Thank you for giving my homemade jam a name !! It will be 'Dumpsie Deerie' from now on. Kind Regards Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This B&B is excellent, especially if you are occupying the both rooms they have. Mary received us with a warm welcome. The rooms are clean and comfy and the food superb. The location is very good as the ferry is close and Sleat is the most beautiful area of Skye. We had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Labeg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjandf, Owner at Sonas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Hi 1 I'm just getting the hang of 'trip advisor' hence the delay in responding. We really enjoyed your stay and I'm delighted that you did too. Hope to see you again sometime. Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Tom and Mary could not have made us feel more welcome on our recent trip to Skye. Nothing was too much hassle from looking up bus times for us to offering us a lift to the ferry terminal with luggage! Rooms were clean and very comfortable, bathrooms were very big with powerful showers. It felt like home from home as we were free to come and go as we pleased. Having stayed in a number of bnbs this week; Sonas was definitely the best. Breakfast was delicious with choices from smoked salmon to haggis! Definitely worthy a visit if staying in Ardvasar.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjandf, Owner at Sonas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Traditional B&B in Scotland was based on sharing your home & facilities with paying guests. While we have moved on and guests have their own bathrooms and part of the house that 'home from home' feeling is still all important. I'm very pleased that you felt welcome & so comfortable. Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is an excellent b&b on the Isle of Skye.
The doubleroom was a bit small but large enough and had a spacious bathroom.
We had waffles for breakfast and they were gorgeous!
We had a superb advice for dinner.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 410Denhaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjandf, Owner at Sonas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
High praise indeed given the quality of Dutch pancakes, waffles etc. that you would be used to. Thank You ! Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Not a very good welcome when we arrived ,as Tom meet us but had to look after grandchild number 14 ,whilst Mary was out,Tom said this is your room ,which is very small and there is no other area to sit inside .Then he said I,am off to my shed and left us .Friday is the day they look after the grandchildren . The kitchen looked untidy from the hall and one of the twinn beds may a childs but was a very small size, Breakfast was not too great either .So not a good start to our visit to the Isle of Skye.

Hated this B& B.

Room Tip: Choose another B & B
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravStevenston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjandf, Owner at Sonas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your night with us. It upsets me that you did not mention at the time any of the things that you now flag up as problems. Thank you for mentioning our grandchildren they are quite wonderful, sadly only a couple of them live in Skye . I hope the rest of your holiday was more to your taste and that you took my advice and mentioned your wife's special dietary needs in advance. Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I travel a lot but nobody can beat their breakfast! For me it was fresh home made waffers with fresh cream and berries, real tea (not teabags!) with real lemon!
My room was nice and clean (there is no TV, but I don't need it), location is very convinient. I'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sofia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjandf, Owner at Sonas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thanks for the breakfast review. I think that the little things are all important. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Mary & Tom Hyslop offer two modern and very comfortable en suite rooms along with a fantastic continental breakfast. Convenient to the ferry terminal, this offers an excellent first or last B&B when exploring the Sleat Peninsula in Southern Skye.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ThePuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardvasar
7.4 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
38.7 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
12.7 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
36.3 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
7.0 mi away
Off the Hill B&B
Off the Hill B&B
#1 of 4 in Sleat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonas Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sonas Bed & Breakfast
Address: 6 Dail Conaisg, Ardvasar, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Ardvasar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ardvasar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house is situated close to the Armadale-Mallaig ferry terminal. Ideally suited for the first or last night of your visit to Skye or to use as a base while you tour the island. We offer clean comfortable affordable accommodation with an excellent breakfast. We have 2 rooms both en-suite, both on the ground floor beside the breakfast room. One is a double and one a twin. Ideal for families or friends traveling together. The house is in the village and its a short walk to the local hotel/bar and the Clan Donald Castle. The wildlife and scenery in Sleat are second to none and there are many good walks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonas Bed & Breakfast Ardvasar, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing