We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ardvasar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ardvasar Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Ardvasar B&B and Inns
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at the Ardvasar Hotel on a Saturday night before our ferry the next morning. We really loved the stay! Richard was very welcoming and partnered by Pixie who loves her tummy tickled! Nice room overlooking the sea with cows in the foreground.
Lovely relaxing pre dinner drinks in the bar and the Red Cuillin beer was really well kept and the best out of the 10 days in Scotland. Lovely meal, we had the chicken and haggis and also the venison.
Breakfast was also really nice, the porridge and the smoked haddock with egg.
Ok it was Saturday night and the locals were lively but we still really enjoyed the stay; we felt well looked after and would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    74
    24
    22
    3
See reviews for
33
122
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

While driving out to the end of the Sleat peninsula, we stopped by the pub at the Ardvasar Hotel for lunch. We didn't stay in the rooms, so can't comment about that, but the place was conveniently situated right on the main road (off-road parking on one side). The road didn't seem too busy in that stretch, so maybe it would be fairly quiet at night. They certainly have a nice view over green meadows to the loch in the distance. They have a couple of outdoor tables which face this view, but they are placed just next to the road, which could be less appealing if there was much traffic.
The pub was pleasant enough, somewhat dark, with good seating and a well-stocked bar (of course). The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed chatting with the college kid behind the bar.
We found the food to be just what we wanted in a good, casual pub lunch. I thought the fish and chips tasted very fresh, crispy, and well-cooked. We were served promptly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pseudonym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham, united kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

I LOVED this hotel, such a contrast to the 4 others I have checked into this summer. Richard welcomed us warmly to the hotel and helped carry our bags to the room. Contrary to the negative review above, I was blown away by the bathroom in our room. Not only was it ultra modern, but it was spectacularly clean. Perhaps they are working their way through the hotel in terms of modernisation. It would be nice to see bedroom furniture being updated, but I'm sure that will come in time. In terms of size, our room was perfectly adequate and Richard had gone to the effort of adding a third single to the room for our party. Food was traditional and delicious and breakfast was really nice. To say it was average is really unfair! It was pricey, but there are few hotels here and it was the height of summer and they were full, so you can't really argue with that. I met with my family in the bar which was super friendly. A really lovely hotel with an excellent host. Thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for a room which looks out over the Sound of Sleat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here only one night last week. We read the very good reviews on tripadvisor and thought we were lucky to get the last room. After a long drive from Loch Lomond we were looking forward to relaxing in what looked like a gastro style pub with rooms. When we arrived we thought we had the wrong place. Richard welcomed us to the hotel and showed us our room. We were very disappointed to find a rather run down room, mouldy shower and pillow cases with make up and orange marks on. It was not what is expected for £150 a night. After speaking to Richard about the pillows he quickly changed them. The website advertises wifi howver you can only use this next to the hotel office and not in the bedrooms. The breakfast was very average. Richard is a very helpful man however this doesnt make up for the hotel and price. Unfortunately this hotel is over priced and in major need of some TLC. We have stayed in other places which were half the price and twice as nice. What a shame.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Emboha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardj60, Owner at Ardvasar Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Emboha

Thank you for your review. We have received some good reviews recently so naturally we are disappointed with yours. The room you were staying in is one of our larger family rooms. Most guests find it a lovely spacious room with stunning views across the Sound of Sleat. The room is most certainly not 'run down'. You stayed with us in the first week of August, a peak period of demand. Our room and breakfast rate reflects this and given that you were staying in a large room we feel it represents good value. Of course you can get a good bargain b&b any time of year but then they are not incurring the significant operating costs of a hotel, with a restaurant, two bars, not to mention 20 per cent vat. My housekeeping staff work extremely hard and it is therefore very harsh for you to grade cleanliness as low as you have. It is such a shame that we sold our last room to you and your partner. We would much rather have let it to other guests who would be much more appreciative of the hard work and effort that my staff and I put in all year round.

Richard Jeffrey
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Immingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We booked 2 nights at the hotel when the other hotels we tried were booked up, but what a find! Richard is a fantastic host ... very attentive and caring. Our room was fine, overlooking the water and the mountains on the mainland, and the food (breakfast and evening meal) was first class. There's also a nicely decorated sitting room where we relaxed after the evening meal, sampling Richard's range of malts! Well worth a stay if you're up that way!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water - the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at the Ardvasar for one night on a recent, busy trip to Skye. It was exactly what we were looking for - clean, comfortable and relaxed. We were warmly welcomed by Richard who was quietly attentive at all times, We had a very pleasant room with a great view over the water and all the amenities we required. Dinner was better than we anticipated - the quality of the steak was superb - the service in the restaurant was pretty haphazard and needed much prompting from Richard to make it adequate - nonetheless we had a very pleasant stay and would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianneAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Popped in for a quick drink at lunchtime, didn't have time to eat but wished we had as the welcome and service we received were gratefully accepted.

The bar area was spotlessly clean, excellent selection of ales both bottled and on tap available.

Some people might consider this Hotel to be tucked out of the way but it was well worth the visit.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardvasar
7.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
38.7 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
43.8 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
4.8 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
26.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardvasar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardvasar Hotel

Property: Ardvasar Hotel
Address: Ardvasar IV45 8RS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Ardvasar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ardvasar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardvasar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ardvasar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardvasar Hotel Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing