We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable 2 night stay”
Review of Ardvasar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ardvasar Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Ardvasar B&B and Inns
Lancashire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable 2 night stay”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Arrived by ferry having had a wonderful train journey up from Glasgow. When booking the hotel Richard kindly offered to pick us up from the ferry terminal which we accepted. Not a long walk up the hill to the hotel but the lift was most appreciated. We walked to and from the ferry terminal on numerous occasions took around 10 minutes.
This is a old hotel and typical of many small hotels around the UK not always inviting from the exterior, however the greeting (especially from Pixie the dog) was warm and the interior was very well maintained.
Rooms appear to have been recently refurbished to a high standard and with breakfast was excellent value for money on The Isle of Skye.
With no transport to go out of an evening we eat in the bar/restaurant. I think the fact that the locals eat here proves it was good value for money.
Very hospitable host!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    75
    25
    22
    4
See reviews for
34
123
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

What a cracking wee hotel and Richard is the perfect host. Warm welcome even tho Richard was very busy, lovely bedroom, fabulous view, excellent staff, extremely clean, delicious supper, piping hot water, fluffy towels, great atmosphere. One could not ask for more. Miss Pixie the Patterdale added that little bit extra to our short stay.

Room Tip: Do book a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letusflourish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

After a long train ride from Edinburg we arrive with the ferry to Armadele and walk about 15 min to the Inn. We were greeted with the warmest welcome by Richard and his cute dog and we were shown to our rooms. Travelling with 3 kids it was very convenient to have to adjacent rooms. The rooms were spacious and very clean with single beds in the kids room and a double for us. Remember to reserve for dinner as there are not many places near by. The service was good but the food was disappointing. I had salmon with at sauce that I am sure came out of a bottle from the supermarket and there was a lot of it. The kids had stakes and the quallity of the meat could have been better. For dessert we had apple pie and I could not eat the crust. But all this was offset by Richards friendly and helpful manner. He even sent us a pair of boots we had forgotten to our next destination.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laboc0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I spent one night at the hotel in early October. Your first glimpse of the hotel may be slightly off putting; however, fear not. The outside of the building shows some aging but the inside is well maintained and renovated. A good deal of investment has been put by Richard into the bedrooms and the common areas. Everything was clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were not the size of an airplane's but rather quite roomy. The beds were comfortable and the rooms warm if you chose to turn on the heat. The bar is well stocked and the gentleman serving is interesting about the locale, Scottish politics and much else. You may well be greeted by a mid size graying dog that growls. Again, fear nought. It turned out to be a wuss that merely wanted it's tummy rubbed by any and all. The breakfast was very good and there are a number of restaurants specializing in sea food in the nearby harbour. You are about a three minute drive to the ferry that takes you over to Mallaig. All in all, a charming place to stay. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Call Richard and reserve in advance. Let him know what you are looking for. Remember ske is touris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed at the Ardvasar for 4 days and nights in July 2013.... One of the most relaxing holidays we have ever had. Richard and his entire staff were just phenomenal. They pulled out all stops to make sure we were comfortable, and for want of nothing! Our son and daughter-in-law got married on the Isle of skye. Prior to our arrival, during our stay, and even as we were departing, their first concern was to ensure we were all taken care of. I am disappointed that anyone would leave a negative review, citing that wifi was not available in the rooms. This is a bed and breakfast, designed for relaxation. Richard most certainly delivered on that, if you want wifi, stay home. The Ardvasar, is everything you can expect of a quaint, bed and breakfast, clean, comfortable, great food, superb management.... In a word Wonderful. Thank you Richard!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was a great overnight stop in between the ferry from Mallaig and a bus to Portree. Richard was very friendly and welcoming and the restaurant in the hotel has wonderful pub food. Thanks for a great stay, Richard!

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Michelle408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at the Ardvasar Hotel on a Saturday night before our ferry the next morning. We really loved the stay! Richard was very welcoming and partnered by Pixie who loves her tummy tickled! Nice room overlooking the sea with cows in the foreground.
Lovely relaxing pre dinner drinks in the bar and the Red Cuillin beer was really well kept and the best out of the 10 days in Scotland. Lovely meal, we had the chicken and haggis and also the venison.
Breakfast was also really nice, the porridge and the smoked haddock with egg.
Ok it was Saturday night and the locals were lively but we still really enjoyed the stay; we felt well looked after and would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardvasar
7.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
38.7 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
43.8 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
4.8 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
26.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardvasar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardvasar Hotel

Property: Ardvasar Hotel
Address: Ardvasar IV45 8RS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Ardvasar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ardvasar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardvasar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ardvasar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardvasar Hotel Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing