We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gary and joanne 7days holiday at morar no1 bed &breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ardvasar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Morar Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Ardvasar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“gary and joanne 7days holiday at morar no1 bed &breakfast”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

we were welcome by the best landlady maggie & landlord chris who was very helpful and our stay was a magical 7days here . And we took there two dogs down to the rocky beach at the end of the garden i had a good scottish breakfast every day and my friend had a vegetian breakfast. We enjoyed our holiday that much that we have booked for next year holiday for another 7days . there is alot to do in skye like visit the castles and other town .there is a lovely swimming pool inside the house which you can use if the weather is not sunny & there are some dvds you can watch in your if want to go out for a meal then there is the clan donald restaurant less than a mile from the b&b

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    23
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
38
87
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

We have just spent four (not nearly enough) days at the fantastic Morar B&B on the Isle of Skye, where our hosts Maggie & Chris welcomed us into their beautiful home and each morning cooked us a fabulous breakfast leisurely eaten while conversing with them and the other guests on what the day was to bring, which in this beautiful location was sure to bring enormous pleasure.
Great location just 3 minutes drive from the ferry to Mallaig which gave even more options to explore further afield but equally great for exploring all corners of this gorgeous Isle.
Maggie & Chris will be the first number on our list when we inevitably return.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Location was good for ferry. Good breakfast. Good views. But was disappointed as we expected a 5 rated b & b. Some parts needed a good clean. Bed not comfortable. Beach dangerous to get too. Felt more unwelcome than welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TOBEONHOLIDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterpan999, Owner at Morar Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
We are sorry that you did not feel welcome here. You must appreciate that this time of the year is very busy and that we have other guests requiring our attention, often at the same time. It is not always possible to do that, as there are also lots of other business -related jobs to do. We do our best, but there are only two of us!
You did seem to enjoy breakfast on the terrace in the sun, with our other guests, and the conversations that we had with you.
Mattresses are subjective and most people find those in the twin room very comfortable. We are sorry that you did not.
The route down to the sea is a path through the field and down a gentle slope. There is a stile part way down to keep the cattle out of our field. From the stile, the path passes through an area of wildflowers that is regularly marshy, then on to a shingle beach before reaching the rocky shore line. People who are unused to the countryside might see this as dangerous, but most of our guests like the wildness of it, in this very remote part of the country.
We are at a loss to think of an area that might need a good clean, as all our guest areas are cleaned regularly during the season. Our own space does suffer during that time, admittedly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ile de France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

You wanted to visit Skye ? OK, it's the place to put your luggage and sleep well.
You wanted to have a breathless wiew ? OK, the garden finishes onto the rocks and sea (but travel the island for more...)
You wanted to talk to real people ? OK, this is the place to share ideas

But then, just try Maggie's homemade organic muesli, talk to Chris about Triumph cars, and you'll know what hospitality and generosity really means...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hvoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at the Morar for 2 nights and couldn't have chosen a nicer place to stay. A great few days sight seeing from a perfect location. The room was spacious and clean as where the facilities. We were looked after so well while we were there. Such a friendly couple, felt a real affinity to the place. Most definitely return in the future. Thank you. The harder part was leaving to return to the rat race!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Really nice welcome, greeted by our first names by our host. Nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast on the sunny veranda was fantastic and we enjoyed messing around in the swimming pool.
Sorry we weren't staying longer and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumpingjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Ilinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We chose this place because it was very convenient to the ferry to Mallaig. It is a bit out of the way and on a real single track road--you hope no one comes the other way as I did not see any passing places on the 100 or so yards. Our room was comfortable but a bit small--OK since we were only staying one night. Breakfast was perfectly OK. The grounds could use a bit of clean up and that detracted a lot from the experience. Everything considered if we were taking the same itinerary we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardvasar
7.4 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
38.7 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
26.9 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
36.3 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
8.0 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morar Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morar Bed and Breakfast

Property: Morar Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2 Calgary, Ardvasar IV45 8RU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Ardvasar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ardvasar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Morar Bed And Breakfast Ardvasar, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing