We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ardvasar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Morar Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Ardvasar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Thanks to Chris and Maggie for making our holiday in Skye. Our first ever stay in a B & B but what a fantastic house. Great breakfasts,stunning views and a lovely indoor swimming pool too. Lovely people and the welcome we received was brilliant. Comfy comfy beds, plenty big fluffy towels and a towelling robe too. Tea and filter coffee /biscuits in the room. The fresh fish at breakfast was lovely and the free range hens eggs were so tasty. Home made bread and rolls too. Breakfast served on the terrace weather permitting and we had some lovely weather. We loved the walk down to the sea, especially being accompanied by the 2 crazy dogs. You won't get a better B & B anywhere. Book early to avoid disappointment. Thanks again for your great hospitality. We'll be back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tylionel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    23
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
38
85
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

While working in Skye someone arranged for a night's accommodation at Morar so I didn't know very much about it before I arrived.

Contrary to what google maps says, 2, Calgary is actually down the hill to the left as opposed to up it.

I arrived late and a note in the door guided me to my room which was a comfortable, well equipped en-suite single. I had a sound sleep and enjoyed my breakfast in the company of Maggie while overlooking the sound of Sleat over to the hills of Knoydart. What a fantastic location!

My stay was a short one but it was pleasant and it was only when I arrived at work the nest day that I discovered I'd missed out on using their pool!

I hope to be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

A 20 minute from the ferry landing but well worth it.
I was warmly welcomed and found my room well furnished with everything I could need for a one-night stay.
An early full Scottish breakfast before I caught the first ferry back to Mallaig ensured I wouldn't need to eat again until my train arrived at Glasgow.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Morar,the two dogs are so well behaved and comical and no problem at all as they do not enter the house(strange as another reviewer complained)
The double bed was very comfortable and spacious airey room with all you could need or want.
Breakfasts were sooo nice!!! Chris and Maggie were great company and offered to put my wine in fridge(good thinking)and i went for lovely swim and sat on terrace to enjoy the view across to Malaig,fantastic! Sunny hot weather and so many places to go for walks.
Ferry across to Malaig and lunch at the West Highland hotel very nice indeed.
LOOKING forward to our next visit.
Ps Thanks for the help and taxi to our train

Room Tip: Our room had a good view of the side garden and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

When my booking was made three months' prior to our planned arrival date and there was an email trail confirming everything, I expected our reservation with Morar to be rock-solid. Not so; after a four-hour, 200-mile drive, we were turned away because the owners had made an 'administrative error' and our room was already occupied. To be fair, the owners apologised, and we all make mistakes - me included. However, the owners didn't make any error in accepting £60 as a deposit for our two night stay, which was paid to them last February. Did they think this was a post-Christmas monetary gift from a well-intentioned stranger?

Through our own efforts and with the assistance of a local hotel which, although full, went out of its way to help two homeless tourists, we found alternative B&B accommodation, ironically just two doors away from Morar. The owners at our new destination were warm and welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. What they offered was high-quality value for money, and their establishment comes with my recommendation.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Reviewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterpan999, Owner at Morar Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Although we are very sorry for the error, and Chris expressed that at the time, we both feel that a public eplanation is necessary. Usually, when booking with Morar Bed & Breakfast, our guests give us details of a current credit or debit card. The booking can then be immediately confirmed. In 10 years of trading, no card details have ever been compromised. They are kept safe until after the date of the booking and then destroyed - not shredded but burned. We are very careful about our security. We have twice allowed potential guests to book without leaving card details and both times they have not arrived and so we are not prepared to take bookings without any security again.
You were not happy about divulging information such as this, so volunteered to pay a deposit by BACS. This had never happened before and so we did not have any system in place to deal with it. The result was that the booking was not recorded, as we do not check our bank account every day, especially during periods where there is usually no activity. At the time, we were busy decorating and preparing the house for the coming season. Your deposit was returned to you in cash when the error was discovered.
We are glad you were happy with your stay at our neighbours' establishment. If we had been aware she was taking guests, we might have pointed you in that direction, but as she had not arrived on Skye until April, we have not seen her. Chris spent over an hour on the 'phone attempting to find alternative accommodation for you and it was only when he rang you to tell you he had been unsuccessful so far that he recieved that information.
We have always been apprehensive about taking deposits for bookings as errors can so easily be made and this accasion confirms that. We will not be taking bookings by BACS again.
Maggie & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed a warm welcome from Maggie and Chris, who made us feel very much at home during our 5-night stay. They were very helpful with tips about our stay and giving us lifts to various places, and we enjoyed our regular morning chats with them while they provided us with wonderful breakfasts!
Two big factors for us when booking were the convenience for the ferry and the swimming pool, but other plus points of our stay included the very comfortable room and sitting in the garden with its fabulous views.
Overall a very friendly and relaxing B+B, which we are happy to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineBHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We booked a 7-day stay here based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. I would have liked to write a more positive review of my own but, unfortunately, we did not find that Morar B&B quite reached its full potential.

I have never before stayed at a B&B where the room was not thoroughly serviced each day - the beds were not always made, the bins not emptied and the en suite not cleaned. The mattresses in the twin room were extremely hard but, when we mentioned this, the proprietors immediately added sheepskin mattress covers which helped.

We did not make use of the swimming pool so cannot comment on this. The B&B is situated right by the sea and has good views across to the Scottish mainland. We watched otters from their headland before breakfast - lovely! However, the gardens could have done with a tidy up and a good spring clean. The breakfasts were excellent (though we were put off by the big bowl of muesli which was left uncovered all day and kept next to the door where dogs and cats roamed, so we would not eat it - a sheet of cling film was all that was required).

At £45 each per night (with no discount for longer stays), I consider that this B&B is somewhat over-priced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterpan999, Owner at Morar Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, however, we do feel that some of your criticisms are unjustified. The mattreses in the twin room are not very old and several of our guests have actually remarked how comfortable they are, but we are well aware that mattresses are a very personal thing and were only too happy to provide mattress toppers. You did actually tell us that this made the beds very comfortable and you had slept very well. It therefore seems a little harsh to tell us to our faces that the problem was solved and then critcise us in such a public way.
I can assure you that the en-suite was cleaned regularly during your stay, but not every day. We try not to use any more chemicals than we have to and believe that daily cleaning is not necessary, unless the room is being cleaned in preparation for new guests. We do apologise that your bin was not emptied one day. If you read our web-site, it does tell you that we are a working croft and sometimes there are not enough hours in the day. We give guests priority, but sometimes small things, such as bin emptying, are forgotten.
The muesli is left out in the dining room, but most mornings, it is completely replaced, as it is very popular with our guests. The dogs and cats are not allowed in the dining room or any of the public areas and the door is usually kept closed. Cats and dogs have no interest in a mixture of dried fruit, seeds and grains and the muesli is on the table, the animals on the floor! We do not cover it with cling film as this would, again, mean using resources unnessarily.
The garden is looking a little unkempt at the moment, as our time is taken up with guests and the rest of the croft. When the weather is warm and damp, the weeds grow at an alarming rate. The vegetable garden and the animals are our priority, after the B&B tasks are done.
You made no mention of the home-made bread and home-made marmalade that you enjoyed each morning, or the eggs from our own hens, or the fresh fish from Mallaig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardvasar
7.4 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
38.7 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
26.9 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
36.3 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
8.0 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morar Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morar Bed and Breakfast

Property: Morar Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2 Calgary, Ardvasar IV45 8RU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Ardvasar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ardvasar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Morar Bed And Breakfast Ardvasar, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing