We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT GOOD EXPERIENCE”
Review of Hebridean Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hebridean Hotel
Ranked #11 of 26 Broadford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NOT GOOD EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed here recently and booked two rooms, a double and a twin, whilst the staff were friendly and the rooms were clean, they were very basic with old television sets and limited viewing. We booked in later on in the evening after having a reasonable evening meal at the hotel. However disappointingly the breakfast, described as full english breakfast, was not only very basic, but very greasy to the point of unedible!!! Would not recommend this hotel for family or infirm guests (due to no lift). Owners also struck us as very unfriendly when we complained about the breakfast!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOG735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlandgerry, Owner at Hebridean Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Hello,
There are a few inaccuracies in this review which I'd like to point out.
As the reviewer states, the family came in for a meal (which, at the time they said that they enjoyed). After their meal they enquired about room availability and were told we only had 2 rooms, a double en-suite which would cost £72 for the night and a family room which we would let for the reduced rate of £85. They politely declined as this was more than they were prepared to pay. They left. Between 30 - 40 mins later we received a phone call from the reviewer, who identified himself and asked if the rooms were still available. On being told that they were he then asked if we would be prepared to drop the price as it was now late at night. My wife explained that we wouldn't, the family room was already discounted. The conversation ended with still no booking being made.
About 15 mins later the family arrived back at the hotel saying that they would take the rooms if they were still available.
They were checked in and our waitress then went up to their family room to make up the single bed as this room had only been made as a double.
At no stage did anyone complain about TVs (which all have 8 channels, including Sky1 and a Movies Channel)
We have never in our lives offered a full English Breakfast, but we do offer a Full Scottish which includes Eggs (poached, fried, boiled or scrambled) Scottish Lorne Sausage, Bacon, Black Pudding, Tattie Scone or Fried Bread & Baked Beans. We have a selection of Fruit Juices and around 9 different breakfast cereals as well as freshly made Porridge. We also offer our own Smoked Salmon (hot or cold smoked) with Scrambled eggs and a Vegetarian Breakfast. Hardly a very basic selection !!
The reviewer asked for mushrooms with one of their breakfasts, which although not on the menu we were happy to provide.
The only things fried on our breakfast are the (FRIED) eggs and the Mushrooms. Sausage, Black Pudding and bacon are cooked on a Contact Grill with no added fat.
I would like to point out that no hotel or B&B in Broadford has a lift but we all manage to cater for families and at least ambulant disabled.
As I suspect your reviewer noticed Broadford is a busy place and I'm sure he also noticed that our prices are lower than most.
As for the owners being unfriendly - well its hard to be friendly when the other person is agressively complaining and not getting their facts right (as to the colour pork should be.)
He doesnt mention that he got his rooms cheaper than quoted (granted it was only £7 off)
When I calmed down the next day I refunded a further £20 to his Credit Card, not because there was anything wrong with his breakfast but because we'd like all our guests to enjoy their stay - even the bad tempered ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    31
    17
    10
    9
See reviews for
31
38
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stopped in for a meal with family. The restaurant is well presented with nice, neutral decor and comfortable seating. There is a good choice of local food on menu. The prices of main meals at £8.95 is reasonable considering its a tourist area. On the day of our visit it was busy and I felt the service could be quicker, but this is mainly due to the fact we had young children with us and after waiting quite a bit of time for our main meal to be served it was difficult to keep the children entertained. The food served was nice but it was to me, an average bar meal. It would have been nice to see some special two or three course meal deals and a kids menu although certain meals from the menu can be requested as half portions.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hebridean Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Hello,
I'm glad you enjoyed your meal, I hope you were warned that you would have had a wait as we were very busy that night and there is only room for one person in our rather small kitchen. As you pointed out our prices are reasonable and with starters from £3.50 and main courses from £8.25 we do offer a two course meal from £11.75. We think that this is very good value for the area we are in. We don't offer special meal deals as we like to give our customers as much choice as possible. Likewise we offer 1/2 portions for children where possible.

We don't claim to be a high class restaurant - if that is what you are looking for there is plenty of choice elsewhere on the island, but we do try to serve good bar food at a reasonable price. We might just be succeeding when you consider how busy we are night after night.

I hope we didn't spoil your holiday, Most places on Skye are very busy in the summer, if you want faster service could we suggest you come up in early spring or late autumn when it is much quieter and also has no midgies (however there might not be very much for the children to do.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVA
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We spent one very good night in this hotel. Its bar is good and cheap, thank you for the delicious mulled wine.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakenheath
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

A lovely hotel in a quiet location. Excellent breakfast and evening meals. Very friendly staff. Made us feel very welcome and worked hard for our comfort.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have stunning views, especially the top floor ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I had a single room here for two nights at £28 per night and was impressed by the cleanliness of the room and the shared toilet/shower-room, which I had no problem with with regard to access and availability. The owner seems to be around 24 hours a day, from cooking the great full Scottish breakfast to supping a pint or two in the evening, and the bar was very well stocked with bottled beers and whiskies. The general food menu looked reasonable too, although I didn't try it.
It is a 10-15 minute walk from the main part of town but there are other places nearby that are worth trying and there is a bus-stop nearby. Great view from my window too.
All in all, a good place to stop and stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finny333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed here for four nights. Hotel is Very Clean & Comfotable,Fantastic Views,Excellent Food.Staff Could Not Do Enough For You. Our Waitress Vikoria Will Be A Miss.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtney1057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed at the Hebridean Hotel last weekend, the hotel has been refurbished and looks great. staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble, service comes always with a smile and the food is fantastic. prices are great value as i have stayed in other hotels in Skye and they cost more and the service is far less than here. views from the hotel are amazing, you can sit and watch the gloriuos sun go down over the bay as you finish your meal. it doesnt get much better than this!

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea i think so any one of them gives great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gordon911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
0.6 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
569 reviews
0.8 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
354 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,054 reviews
16.5 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
360 reviews
27.2 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hebridean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hebridean Hotel

Property: Hebridean Hotel
Address: 14 Harrapool, Broadford IV49 4AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Broadford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly hotel with restaurant and longe bar. Serving tasty fresh home cooked food, The lounge bar as a selection of local real ales and over 60 single malts. Friendly welcome assured. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hebridean Hotel Broadford, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing