We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mixed Experience in the Hebridean”
Review of Hebridean Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hebridean Hotel
Ranked #11 of 26 Broadford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Hebridean Hotel is a decent place to put up for a short stay and the rooms were quite comfortable and had a good view over the bay. For a small place like Broadford, the restaurant within the hotel offers a decent selection of food choices for dinner and were of excellent quality.

The service, however leaves much to be desired. I had to repeatedly press the doorbell for a few minutes before the owner opened. I was also initially brushed away despite stating that I made room reservations - reason being the hotel was full - it was only after several clarifications before I was let in - earliest room check-in was a late 4pm! Definitely didn't really receive a good reception.

During breakfast, I was under the assumption that we would be receiving a full breakfast when the owner asked how we would like our eggs done - but the full breakfast never came, only eggs and toasts despite other tables receiving theirs.

I would consider somewhere else if I were to visit Skye again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EthanYuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay at this hotel on Skye. Breakfast was completely adequate with a very good choice of food. Evening meals were excellent, also with a very wide choice of dishes and extremely good value. We were made very welcome on arrival and at all times during our stay. Well recommended. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Rooms at front have a view of Broadford Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at The Hebridean for a couple of nights on our way to Lewis. This hotel is a little out of the town of Broadford, but worth the short drive. The rooms have been tastefully decorated - are clean and bright. Everything was modern. The staff were really friendly and conversational. The food was amazing - especially the breakfast with their own home-smoked salmon in particular. I really recommend this hotel as a base for Skye exploration.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We last stayed in the "Heb" 20 years ago when it was very dated, but clean and comfortable. Recently we attended a family event and accommodation for our family of 6 (2 adults 4 children) was hesitantly sought here. Our initial enquiry was dealt with very professionally, and the welcome was equally efficient when we arrived. We were located in perfectly appointed rooms with wonderful views over the Minch. The rooms have all been renovated to a very high standard and the bathroom in our room (family) was awesome!

Breakfast was perfect. Cereals, juice and fresh coffee. Cooked breakfast made to order and was delicious.

We won't hesitate to enquire about rooms next time we stay over now we have seen and sampled such good, fairly priced, accommodation.

Room Tip: Rooms are spaced out over quite a few floors. If you have very small children or mobility problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank machairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here last Summer due to the very reasonable prices. The rooms were clean and more than adequate for our needs. The staff were helpful.

The real highlight to off the Heb has to be its food. We were told by our taxi driver the Heb had some of the most reasonably priced food on Skye. He was right but not only that it must also be some of the nicest.

The salmon in particular, which is smoked on premises, was to die for as was the locally produced ice cream certain members of our group could not get over.

Being located only a few hundred metres from the Co-op and petrol station makes it an ideal start point for a long days walking and being on the main road gives good access to most of the South of Skye including the Cuillin (Glenbrittle campsite, a common start point is still about an hour away but everywhere else is not far at all) and is ideally situated for a day trip to Raasay or back to the mainland if the weather turns bad.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The room was very average in quality, but not expensive by Skye standards. Not a quiet hotel as the rooms were clad with plasterboard; when a door was slammed it became noisy.
The food in the restaurant was quite acceptable and of a good standard.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidw21133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Three of us stayed for a couple nights here. The owners, Geoff and Vanessa, are a lovely couple, and the location is outstanding. Our room had large picture windows looking out over Broadford Bay, which was beautiful. Several restaurants within walking distance, and we did have one dinner at the hotel, which was very nicely prepared. The rooms still could be updated a bit, particularly the bathroom--toilet had difficulty flushing on one try, and one small oddly placed mirror for the whole room. It's equipped more as a budget hotel, but everything is pristine clean. Nice pub and dining area with a good selection of beer and single malts.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themajortraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadford hotels
0.6 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
634 reviews
0.8 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
364 reviews
0.9 mi away
Broadford Youth Hostel
Broadford Youth Hostel
#4 of 6 in Broadford
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Broadford House Skye - B&B
Broadford House Skye - B&B
#26 of 26 in Broadford
47 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hebridean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hebridean Hotel

Address: 14 Harrapool, Broadford IV49 4AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Broadford
Price Range: £79 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly hotel with restaurant and longe bar. Serving tasty fresh home cooked food, The lounge bar as a selection of local real ales and over 60 single malts. Friendly welcome assured. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hebridean Hotel Broadford, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing