We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”

The Claymore Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Broadford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 23 June 2014

First day on Skye after a long day traveling in from the US. All 6 of us had a very good meal. Some a little better then others. Rib Eye, Sole, Venison and Fish & Chis were all very good, as was the Crab and Fish appetizer. We did not come with any dinner plans, so we just picked them out of the blue. Very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 340 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were holidaying in Broadford and on our first day had lunch here. The lunch menu was extensive and included snacks as well as more hearty meals. The staff were very friendly and appeared interested in us, asking where we came from and about our journey. The food was very well cooked and presented. After this experience we decided to have an evening meal here on our last day. The restaurant was busy but the young waitresses remembered us, made us feel very welcome and asked about our holiday. They were working very hard, dealing with a full restaurant efficiently but without customers feeling rushed or hastled. Again the food was very good. The menu had plenty of choice and portions were generous - the chicken, bacon and haggis was delicious and the sticky toffee pudding was to die for! Brilliant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Looked for about an hour for a decent place to eat as I stayed in Badicaul on the other side of Skye bridge.
This place did it for me : very friendly staff and nice view over the bay.
Although a bit on the expensive side I quite enjoyed my 2 course meal.
Sure to visit again when in the neighbourhood!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Filip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Staff very nice and helpful, but decoration really needs attention. It felt like we were dining in a living room. The food is fine and you are served very quickly. We didn't like the fact that you are asked for drinks before you sit down - it feels like the guys are in a rush while the restaurant was not even half full.

Thank lenonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Visited for an evening meal with my young son. We both had fish and chips - his from the children's menu - which to be honest, was pretty limited.

The fish was OK, but the portion from the children's menu was tiny! No peas either on his plate, which is incredibly tight. His plate looked pathetic, poor boy - and was only a few quid cheaper than mine! I ended up having to share my peas with him!

The homemade tartare sauce was bland, and the chips were a disappointing, a "fresh from frozen" affair. Are home cooked really too much to expect in a restaurant??

I really don't understand the rave reviews for this restaurant. Perhaps the limited choice in Broadford / Skye in general is a factor? We'd have happily gone back another night if it were any good; but sadly we did not feel this was the case. Not money well spent.

The Red Cuillin beer was gorgeous however. That was the only real positive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sweeney05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Claymore, Owner at The Claymore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Reviewer. I am sorry that we never took more care where your child was concerned. It is no issue or problem for children to have whatever they want from our menu, peas, beans,salad, or a smaller portion of any of our dishes. We don't put them on the plate as standard as the majority of children wont eat them but they are usually offered. Under 12s also get free ice cream. We will address this issue at this weeks staff meeting and hopefully the new staff will gain the confidence to ensure that our customers are better informed and satisfied. The more experienced staff would have covered all choices but we are training up new staff each year as the season gets under way and some things are overlooked. Its too late for us to put right your meal now but my only wish was that you had asked your waiter at the time for whatever your son wanted. In future please ask, as I, and most eating establishments WANT our customers to be happy. Best regards. Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Claymore Restaurant also viewed

Broadford, Isle of Skye
Broadford, Isle of Skye
 
Broadford, Isle of Skye
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides
 
Broadford, Isle of Skye
 

Been to The Claymore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing