We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good seafood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Claymore Restaurant

The Claymore Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Broadford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We chose this restaurant because it was convenient to the b&b where we were staying. My fish and my husband's mussels were fresh and enjoyable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank puffintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    170
    55
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great seafood and a beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

After a long days travel to Skye we had a late dinner at the Claymore. We were greeted by a very friendly waitress and our table had a beautiful view over the bay.
They have a wide choice of locally sourced seafood and other produce. The food is good, freshly prepared and served with a crispy salad . I had chosen one of the starters as a main (this option was on the menu) which basically meant a bigger bowl of the same. And although it was very nice, some bread or potatoes and veg would have made it even better. My partner had the venison stew which was really good.
We finished with the Scottish cheese selection, an absolute treat for cheese lovers!
Definitively worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Psychogoogje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

First day on Skye after a long day traveling in from the US. All 6 of us had a very good meal. Some a little better then others. Rib Eye, Sole, Venison and Fish & Chis were all very good, as was the Crab and Fish appetizer. We did not come with any dinner plans, so we just picked them out of the blue. Very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch and dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were holidaying in Broadford and on our first day had lunch here. The lunch menu was extensive and included snacks as well as more hearty meals. The staff were very friendly and appeared interested in us, asking where we came from and about our journey. The food was very well cooked and presented. After this experience we decided to have an evening meal here on our last day. The restaurant was busy but the young waitresses remembered us, made us feel very welcome and asked about our holiday. They were working very hard, dealing with a full restaurant efficiently but without customers feeling rushed or hastled. Again the food was very good. The menu had plenty of choice and portions were generous - the chicken, bacon and haggis was delicious and the sticky toffee pudding was to die for! Brilliant!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only decent meal for miles around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Looked for about an hour for a decent place to eat as I stayed in Badicaul on the other side of Skye bridge.
This place did it for me : very friendly staff and nice view over the bay.
Although a bit on the expensive side I quite enjoyed my 2 course meal.
Sure to visit again when in the neighbourhood!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Filip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Claymore Restaurant also viewed

Broadford, Isle of Skye
Broadford, Isle of Skye
 

Been to The Claymore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing