We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage to stay on Isle of Skye”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge/diner complete with upright piano, sea views, cosy woodburner, Wifi, DVD and TV
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge/diner complete with upright piano, sea views, cosy woodburner, Wifi, DVD and TV
Waterside Cottage with the sea behind A cosy woodburner makes winter stays as cosy as summer ones
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Lounge/diner complete with upright piano, sea views, cosy woodburner, Wifi, DVD and TV
Waterside Cottage with the sea behind
A cosy woodburner makes winter stays as cosy as summer ones
Lounge diner
Dining table
The conservatory looking out over the garden and sea
Guests love our vintage kitchen - it may be traditional but it is very well stocked
Kingsize bedroom
Downstairs ensuite bedroom
Upstairs double bedroom
Upstairs twin bedroom - can be a supering
Downstairs shower
Downstairs ensuite
The beach, a couple of minutes walk from the house with wonderful birdlife
View from the edge of the garden at sunset
The shore in front of the cottage at low tide, fabulous for bird watching
Sunset over the bay
Waterside in summer
Our lovely cottage garden coming into flower
Waterside Cottage with the sea beyond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Broadford, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stewartto...
barrowford
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage to stay on Isle of Skye”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed at Waterside for a week, amazing views and a great location with a lovely treat box and a prepared fire to cheer us up after a long drive it was a perfect start to a week away. Waterside has all that you need and you either turn off or use the Wifi to keep in touch when required, we loved it and would recommend to anyone who wants a cosy base to see the Isle of Skye.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J H
Wisbech, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great holiday”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Had a wonderful week staying at Waterside Cottage. Fiona made sure everything you could need was in place. Sitting in the garden watching wildlife was wonderful.
Easy drive to mainland Scotland or round Island. We spend most of our time looking at the wonderful scenery on Skye or sitting in the garden which went directly to the beach.
Great to have three bathrooms (one on-suite). Meant each couple had separate bathroom.

We felt very welcome - a real home from home.
If you want to have a relaxing enjoyable, fuss free holiday, - look nowhere else.
Many thanks to Fiona for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Easy to find, well appointed with relaxing garden
Liked least: Leaving - everything else very good
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just sit in the garden and enjoy the wonderful views and wildlife, although the cottage is next to the main road, this does not cause any noise problems in the cottage or in the garden. The cottage itself is comfortable with everything you could want and then some, the log burner in the lounge made it very cozy on a night. There are plenty of places to eat near at hand, information can be found on were to eat, things to do etc in the extensive information pack that Fiona has put together for guests. She was also very quick and happy to respond to any queries that we had. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at Waterside Cottage and would be happy to recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in the garden and enjoy the wonderful views
Liked least: Only stayed for one week
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebe123
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home! Excellent thoughtful service.”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this cottage, and it was excellent. Two seniors down to a young child and we all enjoyed our stay. Fiona had thought of everything, some essentials in the kitchen cupboard, books to read, dog and human welcome goodies, good advice about things to do, even a cuddly toy on the bed for the youngest member of the group. She even left a dog pen outside so the dogs could come and go as needed. Incredibly thoughtful. Excellently situated, not far from amenities and right on the beach for all us all to paddle, fly kites, play in the sand and the sea, and generally keep everyone amused.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
969margar...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent cottage”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely cottage with lots of luxurious extra touches that made it even more special. The bedrooms were of the standard of a top hotel. The owners Fiona and David were very friendly and helpful. Our dog settled in immediately and loved the garden leading straight onto the beach. overall a charming cottage in a lovely location

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzyp567
Welshpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well appointed, relaxing cottage.”
Reviewed 17 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a wonderful week at waterside cottage. Couldn't stop looking at the sea views. Our two young children had a great time exploring the beach and playing in the cottage. Creelers restaurant ssrved wonderfully fresh seafood. Would love to come back, stay at waterside and explore more of Skye.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living room
Liked least: Proximity to mainroad
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertbel...
Bellbrook, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Our favorite place in scotland”
Reviewed 13 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This was our favorite place in Scotland. Our host ,Fiona, patiently supplied us with information before we left the states. We took the ferry and after a 30 minute drive arrived at Waterside. Broadford has a petrol station , food market , craft shop and several good restaurants. It is ideally located for southern and central Skye and only a little over an hour from the north. When we arrived there was a gift box with cookies , candy , eggs, drinks and bread/crackers. There was also a guest book with instructions on everything in the house and suggestions for things to do. This included numerous brochures on local attractions.The house is quite attractive with 4 bedrooms , a living-dining room, three bathrooms (good shower), a full kitchen, sun room and laundry room with a washer and dryer. We were 5 mature adults and and it was very spacious. There was a fireplace set to start and enough wood to use for all three nights to take the chill out of the air. There is cable tv and wyfi. It was very comfortable and cozy. We ate at 5 restaurants recommended by Fiona. We started at the Claymore in town and it was excellent.We later ate at Arriba's in Portee (our favorite-great soup and desserts). the Red Roof Cafe near Neist Point, Ellishadder cafe(both were good soup/sandwiches/dessert) and finally the Plockton Hotel in Plockton. (great seafood) All five were very good. We followed Fiona's suggestions on what to do. Neist point was well worth the short but steep walk. The boat trip to the Cullins from Elgol was beautiful with seals , deer and birds in abundance. I strongly recommend this trip - bella-jane boat company. The Skye Folk museum was interesting as was Dunvegan and Donne Eilean castles( especially the latter). Skye is beautiful but we had the bad luck to get two days of continuous rain. While we missed the Quiraing and Old Man of Storr, Kilt falls was spectacular. (falling water into the sea) The backyard of Waterside cottage was very scenic . I have added two pictures a day apart. both attractive. All in all, this was one of our favorite places we have ever traveled and stayed. Fiona you have a treasure. Do not miss this place. "Perfect" as the British say.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything about the cottage from location to laundry
Liked least: limited cell phone access but that was not a problem
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$267
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing