We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost ruined our touring vacation in Scotland. Ok staff, but horrid premises.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunollie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunollie Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadford
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Almost ruined our touring vacation in Scotland. Ok staff, but horrid premises.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The hotel needs a renovation. The condition of the rooms literally got my wife crying. Melancholic view to the wall of next building. Full and crowded parking lot. The toilet didn't flush. Broken furniture. Very limited conveniencies in the rooms. Worn condition with 70s or 80s style. Small & uncomfortable beds. The price was still on the same level with the best B&Bs in Fort Williams. Staff was helpful and kind and the breakfast was good. Also the location is ok as it is by a loch, but there are only few rooms with a view. The service is good, but the facilities for us were just so limited and broken that we hoped we'd stayed elsewhere.

Some time has now passed since of this experience. I do hope that changes have been made, because at the time (Jul-2013) this was really the worst experience I've encountered within this price range.

Room Tip: Insist having a room with a view to the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    121
    141
    106
    84
See reviews for
110
238
36
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Paid £95 for a two night stay at Easter 2014. Excellent location by the shore, lovely views over to the mainland and inland to the mountains. Reasonable sized car park next to the hotel but there is also a free village car park less than 100 yards along the main road. The hotel is located next to a good sized Spar supermarket and petrol station.

Friendly welcome from the hotel staff, room nice and clean with a good sized bathroom, decent TV.

Did not partake of breakfast as I was out of the hotel early each day (to take advantage of the glorious weather!!) but had bar meals on both nights which were excellent.

Would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We didn't have a very good check in or check out experience. When we arrived the car park was full which for a hotel which says it has parking isn't great. We then waited for about 15 mins to get checked in as a huge party was in front of us & the hotel had messed up their booking. Once we had checked in the room was great. Gorgeous sea view for a very very cheap price. A good nights sleep, nice restaurants near by (Claymores) & the hotel has a bar too. Breakfast was poor, nothing special, but again a nice view. Check out process was ridiculously slow & we were blocked in the hotels car park by their delivery truck. So all in all we wasted about 30 mins trying to leave the hotel, which in my opinion is not good enough & ruins the convenience factor.
For a cheap stay with lovely scenery it's good, but don't expect any extras.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CharCharCharChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed here in August 2013 and the hotel had been refurbished since my last visit a few years ago. Staff were pleasant and friendly and the rooms were lovely and fresh. Again it's a dog friendly hotel where they are allowed in the bar area and bedroom. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed 1 night with friends as part of a motorcycle tour. We all had single rooms which although very small were perfectly adequate, clean and tidy as were the bathrooms. Staff were very friendly and the buffet breakfast was perfectly acceptable.
I have to agree with comments about parking particularly with motorcycles. Getting up the steep slope and onto the main road can be a bit tricky but with care is not a huge problem.
The location is first class and the views across to the mainland from the rear of the hotel are why tourists love to come to Scotland.
Overall this hotel represents good value for money and I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed in Dunollie one night with friends. I read review from other customer and I disagree with most of them (I had a differente experience).
The staff was friendly and cheerful; limited parking space; rooms was a essencial and warm, but dull in a certain way; comfortable beds and good smelling duvets; clean bathroom and hot water from faucets; tasty buffet breakfast. A good experience overall.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edoardo_Spazzoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Excellent no frills hotel with great value dinner and a buffet breakfast. Dining room faces onto the harbour with nice views. Room was comfortable and all that was required. The only small downside was the limited parking available - although I did mangae to get parked both nights we were there, The staff were very friendle and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
7.7 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
0.2 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
26.6 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
16.0 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
32.0 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunollie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunollie Hotel

Property: Dunollie Hotel
Address: Main Street, Broadford IV49 9AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunollie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunollie Hotel is nestled on the edge of Broadford Bay is ideally situated in the centre of the village. The hotel is seated at the foot of Beinn na Caillich and Beinn nan Cran leading towards the famous Cuillin Hills allowing you to explore the area and its wildlife on countless walks and hikes. A home away from home, there are 84 en-suite bedrooms offering stunning panoramic sea views and the charming Torridon View Restaurant will satisfy the heartiest of appetites. Our friendly staff are always on hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunollie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunollie Hotel Broadford, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing