We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid at all costs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunollie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunollie Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadford
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights as part of a coach tour of Syke and the outer Hebrides. Our first room was small and not particularly clean. It overlooked a shabby courtyard. We moved because there was a problem with the TV. The second room had a sea view although this was little compensation for the poor state of the room. It looked as though there had been a leak or condensation problem. It felt damp and there appeared to be stains on the walls from a leak or condensation. The carpet had a horrible white stain on it. . There was wallpaper hanging off the walls. The bathroom did not appear to have been cleaned properly. I have brought this to the attention of our tour operator and suggested they drop this hotel from their schedule.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Sorry to read your comments and I have taken them on board , Although our Sea View rooms are with in feet of the sea and this does contribute to the condensation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    110
    134
    101
    81
See reviews for
106
220
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a room with a sea view for a family of 3. Good sleep and quiet for us.
The room is average for a hotel charging the rates and I would expect to be international 4-star type but it is not. Perhaps hotels in Skye can be expensive. Tea/coffee was available in the room.

The hotel can be busy with tour buses unloading many guests. Parking is available and free.
Breakfast is standard Scottish breakfast and plenty of tables and seats.
There is a petrol station next to the hotel if this info is useful to you.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you, we do keep our rates in line with the rest of the Island and will flex them when possible
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Besides lacking parking the hotel was quite nice with very helpful staff. It was clean and quite. Breakfast was great with a great view of the ocean. They had a local folk singer in the pup that evening which has a added a really nice touch.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 100brucebrown .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Its always good to read a balanced review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

When we arrived, we left our cases at reception to be taken to our rooms, as we were going out. When we returned, the cases had been left outside the rooms in the corridor, for anyone to take! We then found one of our rooms had been slept in and the bed not changed. We were then offered another, only to find the door would not lock, or even stay closed. The third room (which was the last available) was in a poor state of repair with wallpaper peeling off, dirty marks on the walls and paint peeling off the old windows. There was a huge spider underneath one of the duvets. The storage heater did not appear to work. There was no soap in the bathroom. The kettle provided was tiny. The whole place smelt musty and needed completely re-painting, as the corridors looked shabby. This hotel needs to be completely refurbished, or better still, pulled down. You would not want to stay here! A shame, as Skye is so beautiful but this hotel lets Scotland down. Breakfast was adequate but a bit of a production line, as clearly large coach parties are catered for here. Parking was inadequate for the size of hotel and we were forced to park in the coach park, as the small parking area down by the side of the hotel was full. They were going to charge us £60 for the night but when we complained about the rooms, the manager was kind enough to reduce this by half.

Room Tip: Don't bother. Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyebridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Obviously very disapointed to read your comments as I was at the time hence the refund,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Broadford hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Having had a wonderful time at superb B&B in Ft William ( The Lochview) we were really looking forward to our trip to the Isle of Skye. However, the visit was marred by this truly awful hotel. When we check in around 1620 there were still sheets and towels on the floors in the bedroom corridor. Our first room was fifthly, the cover on the mirror in the bathroom was stuck on with Scotch tape-a clear hazard in a bathroom, the curtains had hooks missing. We changed to a better room after dealing with an unsympathetic front desk, but even that was not particularly clean, and no housekeeping was done at all on the second day.

Overall the maintenance of the property was abysmal with even basic things like repainting missing. On check out the person on duty clearly had difficulty in sorting out our final bill.

The food, apart from the breakfast which was good, was very basic and the vegetables were tasteless which no doubt intrigued the French guests. Having said that the majority of the restaurant staff who were not British were most helpful.

The Hotel GM, a Mr Alex McLean had a welcome message in the room which stated "....it is our continuing aim that you receive the best possible standards of service and hospitality during your stay....". My response to this is that The GM is either not located at the hotel or unaware what basic hotel management is about or is totally incompetent. Given the number of overseas guests that were staying there my wife and our friends were embarrassed by what was on offer by a British establishment in spectacular part of our country.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Sorry to read of your experience and I have taken note of your comments, we currently have over 1000 guests a week staying with us we have 87 Bedrooms of which I except 15 need some extra attention which thet are getting.

I take all customer comments seriously and act were possible, I also tend to be on site or on duty most of the time so please ask to see me if your not happy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

A group of 13 adults have stayed here for a varying number of nights over the weekend. Our aim was to take photographs of Skye but the weather was not kind to us. Like many other reviewers we found the rooms clean and adequate. The noisy floorboards were commented on by a few of us. It would be nice to have wifi in the rooms but the lounge was large enough to be away from anyone else, if you wanted peace and quiet when using it.

We were obviously quite a large group but we were always able to clustser the sofas and chairs together without hogging to dominating the area.

Breakfast was what we wanted - self service and eat as much as you want, Dinner - various options - bar meal or dining room £12 for 2 courses £15 for 3, standard fare but at that price what are you looking for!

Room Tip: overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
189 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Firstly this solely my opinion of my stay and is 100% genuine.
Ive just stayed in this hotel for several days and found it to be a nice hotel in a very good location right at the sea front with lovely views.
All of the staff were pleasant and helpful and the room I had was very clean and comfortable.The only negatives were: low water pressure on the shower, creaky floor boards above sorry if that sounds a bit harsh ....and another negative was that my room was sometimes very smokey as the rooms are obviously for smokers too ....most places have non smoker rooms which isn't nice for non smokers like me.I also would have liked to have wifi in the room which I don't think should be a big issue and most hotels have this now.
All in all a decent hotel not the ritz but clean and comfortable and even had an accordion player on one night and it seems popular with foreign coach trips too oh la la.
Enjoy.

Room Tip: Take your ear plugs sometimes the seagulls can be a menace at 5am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrT98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your comments although I am a bit worried about the smoking as we are a no smoking Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
0.3 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
16.0 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
32.0 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
8.6 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunollie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunollie Hotel

Property: Dunollie Hotel
Address: Main Street, Broadford IV49 9AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunollie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunollie Hotel is nestled on the edge of Broadford Bay is ideally situated in the centre of the village. The hotel is seated at the foot of Beinn na Caillich and Beinn nan Cran leading towards the famous Cuillin Hills allowing you to explore the area and its wildlife on countless walks and hikes. A home away from home, there are 84 en-suite bedrooms offering stunning panoramic sea views and the charming Torridon View Restaurant will satisfy the heartiest of appetites. Our friendly staff are always on hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Dunollie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunollie Hotel Broadford, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing