We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunollie Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$425
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$410
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$519
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$428
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Broadford Hotel(Broadford)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmacara Hotel(Balmacara)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plockton Inn(Plockton)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plockton Hotel(Plockton)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveller rating
78
170
201
146
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
170
201
146
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet stylelounge barfairy poolsroom was clean and comfortablestayed for nightsbroadford baypetrol stationstunning viewsporridgetwinbridge
Filter
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 705 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights as part of a coach tour of Syke and the outer Hebrides. Our first room was small and not particularly clean. It overlooked a shabby courtyard. We moved because there was a problem with the TV. The second room had a sea view although this was little compensation for the poor state of the room. It looked as though there had been a leak or condensation problem. It felt damp and there appeared to be stains on the walls from a leak or condensation. The carpet had a horrible white stain on it. . There was wallpaper hanging off the walls. The bathroom did not appear to have been cleaned properly. I have brought this to the attention of our tour operator and suggested they drop this hotel from their schedule.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Sorry to read your comments and I have taken them on board , Although our Sea View rooms are with in feet of the sea and this does contribute to the condensation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a room with a sea view for a family of 3. Good sleep and quiet for us.
The room is average for a hotel charging the rates and I would expect to be international 4-star type but it is not. Perhaps hotels in Skye can be expensive. Tea/coffee was available in the room.

The hotel can be busy with tour buses unloading many guests. Parking is available and free.
Breakfast is standard Scottish breakfast and plenty of tables and seats.
There is a petrol station next to the hotel if this info is useful to you.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you, we do keep our rates in line with the rest of the Island and will flex them when possible

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Besides lacking parking the hotel was quite nice with very helpful staff. It was clean and quite. Breakfast was great with a great view of the ocean. They had a local folk singer in the pup that evening which has a added a really nice touch.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank 100brucebrown .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Its always good to read a balanced review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

When we arrived, we left our cases at reception to be taken to our rooms, as we were going out. When we returned, the cases had been left outside the rooms in the corridor, for anyone to take! We then found one of our rooms had been slept in and the bed not changed. We were then offered another, only to find the door would not lock, or even stay closed. The third room (which was the last available) was in a poor state of repair with wallpaper peeling off, dirty marks on the walls and paint peeling off the old windows. There was a huge spider underneath one of the duvets. The storage heater did not appear to work. There was no soap in the bathroom. The kettle provided was tiny. The whole place smelt musty and needed completely re-painting, as the corridors looked shabby. This hotel needs to be completely refurbished, or better still, pulled down. You would not want to stay here! A shame, as Skye is so beautiful but this hotel lets Scotland down. Breakfast was adequate but a bit of a production line, as clearly large coach parties are catered for here. Parking was inadequate for the size of hotel and we were forced to park in the coach park, as the small parking area down by the side of the hotel was full. They were going to charge us £60 for the night but when we complained about the rooms, the manager was kind enough to reduce this by half.

Room Tip: Don't bother. Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skyebridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Obviously very disapointed to read your comments as I was at the time hence the refund,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Having had a wonderful time at superb B&B in Ft William ( The Lochview) we were really looking forward to our trip to the Isle of Skye. However, the visit was marred by this truly awful hotel. When we check in around 1620 there were still sheets and towels on the floors in the bedroom corridor. Our first room was fifthly, the cover on the mirror in the bathroom was stuck on with Scotch tape-a clear hazard in a bathroom, the curtains had hooks missing. We changed to a better room after dealing with an unsympathetic front desk, but even that was not particularly clean, and no housekeeping was done at all on the second day.

Overall the maintenance of the property was abysmal with even basic things like repainting missing. On check out the person on duty clearly had difficulty in sorting out our final bill.

The food, apart from the breakfast which was good, was very basic and the vegetables were tasteless which no doubt intrigued the French guests. Having said that the majority of the restaurant staff who were not British were most helpful.

The Hotel GM, a Mr Alex McLean had a welcome message in the room which stated "....it is our continuing aim that you receive the best possible standards of service and hospitality during your stay....". My response to this is that The GM is either not located at the hotel or unaware what basic hotel management is about or is totally incompetent. Given the number of overseas guests that were staying there my wife and our friends were embarrassed by what was on offer by a British establishment in spectacular part of our country.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Sorry to read of your experience and I have taken note of your comments, we currently have over 1000 guests a week staying with us we have 87 Bedrooms of which I except 15 need some extra attention which thet are getting.

I take all customer comments seriously and act were possible, I also tend to be on site or on duty most of the time so please ask to see me if your not happy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews