We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fixed”
Review of Dunollie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunollie Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadford
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Checked in and immediately reported 3 different faults. 3 days later, all faults still remained even though the repair man had been. If we hadn't fudged one fault the place would have been flooded. Dinner not great, breakfast was okay. They then tried to to charge me for 2 bottles of wine and 3 pints of lager. I had 1 bottle of wine and don't drink lager, wouldn't put a bar tab on anyway. We weren't in the hotel when I was supposed to have drunk the lager.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

I am very disappointed to read your comments and if I am honest totally flabbergasted regarding your comments about maintenance as we are blessed with an exceptional one?????
With Regards to room Bills mistakes do happen I am pleased the team were able to rectify it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here on a family vacation. I don't think any of us would stay here again. Perhaps our rooms were not typical of the facilities. My room exhibited a definite fusty smell that irritated my mouth and throat. The hotel seems to attract large bus tour groups and perhaps they save the better rooms for those travelers. In fact, the car park is reserved for busses only. We were directed to park in the Coop store car park next door. Food was below average compared to other hotels where we stayed in Scotland. We ate lunch the next day at Freddie's food truck next door.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pfrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, although disappointed and will look into them, I am glad you enjoyed Freddie’s as Olivia is one of our ex-employees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Chose the hotel by default as there was nothing available in Portree or anywhere near Uig, where we were catching the ferry to Harris. It is, as others have recorded, not in the first rank of facilities and decor, which would not be an issue for us, except that it cost more than we paid at The Isles of Glencoe, and was not a match in any respect.
What made it worthwhile was the restaurant across the road, The Harbour, a delightful family-owned small Spanish restaurant offering a good choice of fresh seafood. The hotel caters for the coach tour trade, with a menu to match, and a local artiste providing some doleful vocals by way of entertainment in the lounge.
Staff were OK and the bar was a lively meeting place for locals at the weekend and offered a rarity, for Scotland - a draught IPA from the Skye Brewery. This was a welcome relief from the usual Tennants and Heavies.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PT167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, our rates reflects the local market and is by no means the most expensive for the time of year. The Hotel has a strong coach trade but it only represents 50% of it. I am pleased you enjoyed the Beer and the Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I would have rated this even lower than 2 if not for the very friendly woman who welcomed us at the front desk when we arrived. First impressions count for something. Our room was visibly dirty (both the bed and the toilet) and the whole hotel was quite worn and in need of major updating. I would not recommend the hotel restaurant if you have other options.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank sturnbull7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Very disappointed to read of your experience, I have taken on board you observations and we will act were its possible

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I visited the hotel as part of a motorbike excursion and it is perfect for our needs. An old fashion hotel with clean/comfortable en-suite rooms. There was an issue with our room (through no fault of the hotel) and we had to change upon arrival, however we were contacted in advance and made aware of the situation. We also received a free meal and drink.... The staff could not have done more for us despite it only being a minor problem. The evening meal was a negative point - some items were undercooked and bland! Glad we did not pay for it. The other minor negative was the lack of staff in a busy bar. Having said that the hotel and staff were always helpful. The outside & rear yard is a bit rough and neglected with rubbish overflowing from an industrial bin, however it is ideal for parking overnight. The staff are friendly and helpful and I would certainly use the hotel again, I just do not think I would eat an evening meal there. Maybe it was just a bad day for the chef as breakfast was good. Overall a good hotel which was let down by a few minor issues which could have easily been rectified.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Sapper501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your comments and I have made a note of you observations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I booked the hotel rather last minute, after failing to get accommodation in many other places. Big mistake! The hotel is really run down. There was a foul smell from the carpet in the room. When we checked with the reception, she asked housekeeping to spray a deodorizer on the carpet. Everything is so old and dirty. It was a terrible experience for the family. Avoid whatsoever.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank cheroiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

I am sorry to read your comments and like you suggested you were struggling to get accommodation, so it would seem you would have ended up with a last let, which you would have been made aware of at the time.
I would like to make the good people of trip advisor aware of a little known fact, in the month of July we had 100% occupancy which means 4805 people stayed with us in that period we have had 8 not so positive reviews meaning 99.9% have not commented

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed at the Dunollie for two nights in June, for lack of alternate accommodation in Broadford. It ain't the Ritz, and it is overpriced, but as they say, "any port in a storm".

The car park, as others have noted, is down a steep slope. At most, it will hold seven or eight cars. Our bathroom looked directly on to the car park, and we enjoyed watching drivers trying to manoeuvre their vehicles in and out of the "spaces". Alternate parking is available in the car park of the Cooperative supermarket next door, but it is quite a hike to the entrance of the Dunollie.

That aside, the room itself wasn't bad. We had a ground floor room overlooking the bay, so the gods must have been smiling on us. There was a gorgeous sunset the first night, but that was just luck, nothing to do with the quality of the hotel.

The room was relatively clean, and plain. The bed was a bit lumpy, but comfortable. The room door looked as though it had taken a beating, and the bathroom door didn't shut so well. Good water pressure in the shower, and the small flat screen received several channels. Too bad there was nothing worth watching, except for BBC ALBA. Also, there was a telephone in the room, so we were able to give our mobile a rest. We were even able to receive a telephone call.

As another reviewer noted, there was a really odd smell in the hallway. Couldn't place it, though it was too bad to be from a cleaning product. And it was only in the morning - perhaps someone was cooking in their room.

The breakfasting room, once you find it, is very large, and has a good view out to Broadford Bay if you are lucky enough to be seated near the front. Good selection of breakfast items, including the usual eggs, Scottish bacon, and sausage, and a very passable haggis.

The Dunollie is used by a lot of tour groups, especially from the Continent, so you may find yourself trying to traverse a hallway with many foreign tourists trying to get their luggage in to their rooms all at the same time. One wonders what they think of the Dunollie. As many as three tour buses can get in to the limited space at the front of the hotel. I give the drivers a lot of credit - they have to back in to the spaces.

We heard rumours that the Ordnance Survey people are coming out with a map of the Dunollie Hotel, so that people can find their way about without getting lost. (Just kidding!) We had no trouble finding our room, although we could see how , with the maze of hallways, how this could be a problem for some.

The hotel staff were as cheerful as they could be, though they were obviously overworked. We never ate at the hotel, as there are several good restaurants nearby, and a chippie near the public conveniences. We especially enjoyed CafeSia, next to the post office, for a filling, reasonably priced meal.

As an aside, Sean Cameron Jewellers, in the Coop car park, has some very beautiful hand made silver jewelry. His shop is well worth a visit if you're in Broadford.

So why, after such a neutral review of the Dunollie, which is overpriced, but not by Portree standards, did we give the hotel four stars? Well, they had enough sense to play both Manran CDs in the breakfast room. And that, dear readers, gets them an extra star!

P.S.: If you're driving on to Portree, the side road to Mol looks like a shortcut. It is definitely NOT!!

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking Broadford Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Runrig_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amac1red, General Manager at Dunollie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

It is always like a breath of fresh air when you get a honest appraisal on Trip advisor so thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
0.2 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
364 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
16.0 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.0 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
410 reviews
9.0 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
16.0 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunollie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunollie Hotel

Address: Main Street, Broadford IV49 9AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadford
Price Range: £65 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunollie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunollie Hotel is nestled on the edge of Broadford Bay is ideally situated in the centre of the village. The hotel is seated at the foot of Beinn na Caillich and Beinn nan Cran leading towards the famous Cuillin Hills allowing you to explore the area and its wildlife on countless walks and hikes. A home away from home, there are 84 en-suite bedrooms offering stunning panoramic sea views and the charming Torridon View Restaurant will satisfy the heartiest of appetites. Our friendly staff are always on hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunollie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunollie Hotel Broadford, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing