We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more - maybe even a little below 'Average'”
Review of Dunollie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunollie Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadford
Reviewed 2 September 2014

It is a kind of an old building and renovation is overdue for the rooms. Very very old heating system in the rooms, no movable shower heads. The stuff was extremely slow (for check-in we had to wait 20 min and they closed the kitchen in the restaurant during this...this was very annoying). However in the end we did not mind that we chose another restaurant - the breakfast was really much below average.

The beds were comfortable enough to sleep well.

We had a beautiful view but certainly we were lucky with this. Surely not all rooms have the view.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khangya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

Front of hotel looks quite good. But patio areas (storing old windows) and rear of property looking onto a spectacular sea view , in need of litter picking, painting, weeding etc. room was very small although clean shower pressure was pathetic and not worth using. Bar area was nice Large dining room and they do cheap 3 course buffet meals which are worth the money but nothing special. We stayed a few days and there wee a lot of coach parties in and out. Very difficult to park due to location and size of car park.. Over priced for what we got.

Room Tip: Wifi only available in public areas although free
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

..there's not much more to say that hasn't already been said...it was like stepping back in time circa 1982...a time when lino, musty carpets & bric a brac were must have's..a time when cold ham, egg and chips was considered a fine feast (at nearly £10 it should be)..a time when entertainment consisted of a sqeeze box, a keyboard and wishful thinking..the prices are high, the food mediocre and the atmosphere somewhat lacking...this hotel is full of potential but in need of a major refurb..a bespoke website should be the icing, not the cake...

Room Tip: ..find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john13245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel while touring through Scotland. Nice hotel on the Isle of Skye. The room was reasonably sized. Everything was clean and we had a nice view. They had entertainment in the bar on Sunday night. We found there was a grocery store right next door that was convenient for purchasing water and chips. Noticed that this hotel was used by a few tour companies. We ate twice at the hotel restaurant and the food was good. Free Wi-Fi in the lobby only. I don't believe this hotel had a lift. It meet my expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Good value for money and we had an excellent room with amazing view. Dinner was £10 for three course and food was good. The hotel does cater for coach parties so you have to check notice board to miss their dining times !!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank FionaDorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed one night in July 2013, that was enough.

I only stayed here as it was pouring down with rain and Portree was miles away.

It looks very good from the outside and I had a room with a spectacular sea view. However looks deceive and I did not get a good feeling in the hotel. It did not help when the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night.

The hotel caters for coach parties and you need to get the timing right to have any service. Breakfast was OK the coach party had an early breakfast.

At £126.85 for B B & EM this was EXPENSIVE for what was on offer and I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GasFromSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Being generous with two stars.This hotel is very tired looking.

This hotel needs a complete facelift and considerable investment to bring it up to reasonable level.

The dining room has wonderful views but let down by very average service and food-school dinners come to mind when describing the buffet offerings.

Best avoided -I couldn't recommend staying here

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
7.7 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
0.2 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
362 reviews
16.0 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.0 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
406 reviews
9.0 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
16.0 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunollie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunollie Hotel

Address: Main Street, Broadford IV49 9AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadford
Price Range: £80 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunollie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunollie Hotel is nestled on the edge of Broadford Bay is ideally situated in the centre of the village. The hotel is seated at the foot of Beinn na Caillich and Beinn nan Cran leading towards the famous Cuillin Hills allowing you to explore the area and its wildlife on countless walks and hikes. A home away from home, there are 84 en-suite bedrooms offering stunning panoramic sea views and the charming Torridon View Restaurant will satisfy the heartiest of appetites. Our friendly staff are always on hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunollie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunollie Hotel Broadford, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing