We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property
Frontal view of Ardmore
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Frontal view of Ardmore
Scottish Tourist Board rating Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Frontal view of Ardmore
Scottish Tourist Board rating
Lounge
Lounge close up 1
Lounge close up 2
Dining room
Kitchen
Four poster bedroom
Sleigh bed bedroom
Twin bedroom
bathroom
Patio
View from front garden
Rear view of Ardmore
Looking east from Ardmore
Beach at Point of Sleat
Ashaigh beach
Small harbour at Broadford
Castle Moil
Skye Bridge and glass bottomed boat
Local view 'Blaven'
The Black Cuillin from Elgol
The Old Man of Storr
White tailed eagle
Highland cow with her calf
Buzzard
Otters
Seal
Stag
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Broadford, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Bergy25
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just wonderful”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We rented this amazing house with another couple. The cottage is very big, as everything you could possibly want and is spotless. The location is very good as well for visiting this wonderful island. Ian the owner is super nice and ready to help in a heartbeat. we wanted to work the BBQ in november ( yes we are from canada) and he came right away with a new propane tank. He also provided very good advice on what to do and what was still open because it was the off-season. We had an awesome week and we will rent this cottage again for sure!!!!!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2013
Thanks very much for your very kind comments. They are much appreciated. Glad you had an enjoyable first trip to Skye and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Will pop down to Braehead to see you play when next I'm in Glasgow. All best wishes for a successful ice hockey season.
Kind Regards
Ian Macmillan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WJH1942
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My wife and I stayed at Ardmore two weeks ago during our first visit to Scotland. We were travelling in France and the UK with two friends.
We had previewed the accommodation on the Ardmore Website and on Google maps. In every respect Ardmore lived up to our expectations.
Our introduction to the cottage by Ian, the owner was friendly and thorough. He also made some recommendations regarding local restaurants and the 'pub'!
Having two large bedrooms both with en suite bathrooms was great for us so both couples had all the privacy they could possibly need. We didn't use the third bedroom. The cottage had great living and dining areas and a large eat in kitchen.
The owners have spared nothing in providing all of the amenities a short term renter might need.
The 'operations manual' for the cottage gave us all of the information we needed.
We had cable television in the kitchen and bedrooms as well as in the lounge room and excellent and fast free wifi.
The weather when we were lived up the the description as one of the 'misty isles' and we had heavy rain, misty rain, strong winds and brilliant clear sunshine thrown in. The the cottage was also a refuge from the weather.
Prior to travelling to Skye we had been concerned at the prospective adequacy of any local supermarket and shopped in Fort William on the way in. However, we found the 'CO-OP' on Skye had a good range of food and wines at reasonable prices and we shopped there throughout our stay.
Mostly we cooked at home but had a great meal at the Claymore Restaurant, walking distance away from Ardmore.
The stay at Ardmore was one of the highlights of our trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great view across the loch in an extraordinary range of weather conditions in a warm and cozy environment.
Liked least: I have no criticisms whatsoever of the property!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2013
Delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Ardmore. We try hard to ensure that our accommodation meets our guests' expectations and it's very satisfying when we hear them say so. Thanks also for taking the time to review our property. It is much appreciated.
Anne and Ian Macmillan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesumu
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed in Ardmore twice last year and are staying again later this year. The standard of this property is one to which others should aspire. It is an ideal location , well served with local amenities, and is of exceptional quality. We had a slight problem with the cooker last year and this problem was resolved quickly by Ian, the owner ,who was most helpful and considerate. The owners are a lovely couple who deserve success as they provide a wonderful holiday experience in a stunning location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall comfort and space of the accommodation
Liked least: Could not stay longer due to work commitments
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2013
Thanks ever so much for your kind comments. They are very much appreciated.
Looking forward to meeting you in November.
Kind Regards
Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidneybea...
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the best holiday cottage ever”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

i've stayed in Ardmore for the past 4 years,so I suTose that says it all really. it is the most comfortable and well equipped house I have ever rented. the location is central and there are lots of good restaurants nearby. the Macmillans are always on hand for advice or if you have a problem (which we've never had).
i have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this house and will be back again next year. thanks Anne & Ian

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving
Liked least: Leaving to go home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2013
Thanks ever so much for your kind comments. They are very much appreciated. Looking forward to meeting up with you again next year.
Anne and Ian Macmillan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B
Lower Largo, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This new house had everything you could ask for including Sky TV and Wi-fi. All of the facilities were excellent with good showers, comfy beds, dish washer etc. Broadford is a good location on Skye with a 24 hour garage, good size supermarket and plenty of restaurants to choose from including Creelers which are all withing easy walking distance. The owner also provided lots of useful info about what to do and especially hos tip to get down to Elgol on a summers evening. Quite a journey down there, but well worth it with some of the most stunning scenery you could ever dream of. Some superb views of the Cullins from the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything worked as advertised and not a single issue
Liked least: Nothing !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2013
Glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Ardmore. Thanks also for your kind comments and for taking the time to submit a review. Both are much appreciated.
Kind Regards
Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackem197...
1 review
“First class, well equipped cottage in ideal location.”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A fantastic, modern and very well equipped holiday cottage. We have always wanted to return to Skye and this proved to be the perfect place to stay.
The cottage was spotless when we arrived. There are very spacious rooms with stunning views and the area is very peaceful. Very good local facilities including a number of excellent restaurants. We would recommend a stay here and hope to return ourselves one day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2013
Thanks very much for your kind comments. They are much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your trip to Skye and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Anne and Ian Macmillan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVannC
Fort Worth, TX
2 reviews
“Even better than it looks online”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My husband and I spent a week in Ardmore cottage with another couple and their 22 year old daughter. The house was lovely, much newer (built 2005) and more spacious than I'd expected. All the bedrooms were large and the bathrooms modern and clean. The living areas (living room, dining room, and eat in kitchen) were also large and very nicely and comfortably appointed. The flower beds in the front and back of the house (not obvious in the online pictures) were lovely as were the distant mountain and sea views, at least when we could see them in the mist. (It's no fault of the housing, but one does have to be prepared for less than perfect weather on Skye.) The house's owner was very pleasant to work with, and clearly willing to do anything needed to help us enjoy our stay--even apologetic about the weather, as if he could have done anything about it! But it's not hard to find things to do on Skye in any weather, and even if one wanted to stay curled up in the cozy living room, there were plenty of board games available in the house. I don't know when or if we'll get back to Skye, but this is definitely where I'd stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Comfort and location
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2013
Very happy to hear you had an enjoyable time at Ardmore. Thanks for your kind comments and for taking the time to write a review. It is very much appreciated. Hope to see you back in the not too distant future.
Anne and Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing