We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning Property”
other travellers have booked this property
Frontal view of Ardmore
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Frontal view of Ardmore
Scottish Tourist Board rating Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Frontal view of Ardmore
Scottish Tourist Board rating
Lounge
Lounge close up 1
Lounge close up 2
Dining room
Kitchen
Four poster bedroom
Sleigh bed bedroom
Twin bedroom
bathroom
Patio
View from front garden
Rear view of Ardmore
Looking east from Ardmore
Beach at Point of Sleat
Ashaigh beach
Small harbour at Broadford
Castle Moil
Skye Bridge and glass bottomed boat
Local view 'Blaven'
The Black Cuillin from Elgol
The Old Man of Storr
White tailed eagle
Highland cow with her calf
Buzzard
Otters
Seal
Stag
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Broadford, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
whoknows9...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning Property”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This property is everything it's reviews say it is. The property is a very good size with sleeping for 6 persons, and spacious enough for all to have their own space. It is appointed to a very high standard, Digital TV in all the main rooms, and wifi throughout.
This was the second time we have visited Skye. The first time we stayed in Portree, thinking it would be central and have all the amenities, which it does, but actually Broadford is the place to stay. The well appointed Coop is only 10 mins away and is very well stocked with anything you could possibly want. There are plenty of places within Broadford to eat out, but if eating in is your bag, then there is the ubiquitous Fish and Chip shop, but what about a take away pizza cooked in a wood fired oven.
The owners live a few minutes away where they also run a B & B, and are happy to suggest places to eat out or places to visit etc, but, other than showing you round and handing you the keys you will not see them for the whole of your stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. They are much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your time at "Ardmore" and would love to see you again in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Anne and Ian Macmillan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annclare0...
Portree, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed in this amazing cottage for 1 week in May. We have been visiting Scotland for many years now and think that this accomodation is by far the best. It is so spacious and as soon as you pull up on the drive it has that wow factor. The experience does not start there however. You have to collect the key from Ian, the owner, at their nearby B&B and the welcome you receive is just lovely.
The cottage itself is furnished to a high standard, with very good quality furniture, decor, duvet, sheets etc. It's so beautifully designed. There is a patio area and furniture at the rear of the house which is private and has a lovely mountain view. We sat here quite a lot as the weather was really good. In fact I sat sketching the view in the warm afternoon sun.
The situation of the cottage is ideal. It's about a 10 minute walk down to the Co op in Broadford, which we thought was one of the best stocked Co ops we had seen. There is a bar/restaurant, The Claymore, just a couple of minutes walk away, but we were not impressed with the service. We went once for a drink but were left waiting at the bar and once for a meal and again we were sat down and ignored. We had to ask to be served a drink. We also went for a drink in the bar at The Broadford hotel and felt this a much more friendlier place.
If you like walking there is a lovely walk, the Marble Path where previously we have seen a Golden Eagle though sadly not on this occasion. We also walked down to Waterloo and sat looking over the beach. We drove down to Sligachan (about 30 minuutes) and went off walking there for some beautiful views. Portree is about 40 minutes drive away and ladies i recommend a visit to Skye Batiks shop. Don't forget your fish and chip lunch by the harbour.
In all we had a fabulous time and wished we had booked 2 weeks. We are considering moving to Skye and this holiday was also about could we live around here. I would like to thank Ian and Anne for being so friendly and for giving us lots of insight into living on Skye. They are such a lovely cheery couple. Anyone booking this cottage or indeed their B&B will be sure of a warm welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Beautiful accomodation
Liked least: Slowing with fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
Glad that you enjoyed your visit to Skye. It was a pleasure to have you and we look forward very much to seeing you again in the future. Thanks for your generous comments about us and our cottage. They are very much appreciated. Thanks also for taking the time to write a review.
Kind Regards
Anne and Ian Macmillan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidneybea...
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We've been coming to this house for about 6 years. It has everything you would need and Anne and Ian McMillan are just the bestest. It's central for all,excursions and in walkable distance of lots of restaurants. We've booked for next year already. Just heaven!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything aboutmthe house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Glad to hear you've had another enjoyable holiday at Ardmore. The weather was certainly very kind to you this year. Thanks for your kind remarks -they are very much appreciated. Looking forward to meeting you again next May
Kind Regards
Ian Macmillan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnKWils...
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
“If you're staying in Skye you need to stay here!”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Ardmore is a great cottage - comfortable, top quality accommodation, beautifully maintained and very well equipped to cater for your stay. The location is ideal as a base for exploring Skye, with local facilities including places to eat and a good Co-op within easy walking distance. Ian, the owner, will offer you a very genuine and warm welcome and will readily offer advice on where to go and what to do.
We have absolutely no reservations about recommending Ardmore as your place to stay in Skye.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the accommodation.
Liked least: There was simply nothing to complain about!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
Your kind comments are very much appreciated. Thanks for this and also for taking the time to submit a review. Glad you enjoyed your holiday in Skye
Kind Regards
Ian Macmillan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickytivy
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Exceptionally well maintained house with fabulous views - highly recommended !”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed in this beautifully furnished and well-equipped bungalow for a week with 4 friends, and had a wonderful time enhanced by the sunny weather and the helpfulness of the owner, Ian, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Ian lives in Broadford not far away from the cottage, and is always happy to give advice when needed. This was an ideal place for us to rent as it has three double bedrooms each with its own bathroom and with a television I every room (literally). No expense has been spared to provide everything you could possibly need, and the house is in a quiet location with a nice small garden and plenty of parking spaces, as well as an outside area with table and chairs and a barbecue. With the views of the mountains on one side and the bay on the other (and the convenience of a large Co-op and other shops and restaurants within walking distance) it is difficult to imagine how the position could have been improved. There are just a few other houses along the single-track road before it crosses a cattle grating and becomes a narrow road crossing moorland inhabited solely by sheep. Broadford is also excellently located for driving to other parts of the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the position
Liked least: The Internet was a bit intermittent, but expect this is Skye for you !
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
Thank you very much for your kind comments-they are much appreciated. Glad you and your friends had an enjoyable stay at Ardmore and it would be lovely to see you all back in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Ian Macmillan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamsin M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic spacious cottage with all amenities. We have three young children so appreciated all the space, both indoor and out. High chair and cot provided-a full size cot not the usual travel cot that is often provided when staying in holiday accommodation.Lovely quiet location with good views. Only a few mins walk into Broadford, children enjoyed exploring beach and the new playpark behind the village hall. Broadford is a good location for visiting rest of island and the mainland, and easy to get to as only a few miles over the Skye Bridge. Despite lots of rain we managed to visit quite a few places, would recommend Plockton, (on mainland), Clan Donald near Armadale, Elgol, Dunvegan castle, dinosaur footprints (and small museum) at Staffin. Also for children if weather bad, soft play at Aros centre, Portree.
We have family in Broadford so have stayed before, but first time in this cottage, and from now on hope to stay here when we visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
Delighted that you have had an enjoyable stay in Ardmore. Thanks very much for your kind comments and for taking the time to submit a review-both are. much appreciated. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Ian Macmillan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary D
Dunblane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another wonderful week!”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thanks again to Ian and Anne for a lovely week at Ardmore Cottage. Excellent communication from Ian prior to our arrival and the cottage just as we remembered. Lovely welcome pack, very clean and well equipped from the kitchen and utility right through to plenty of towels and bedding, ipod docks and TV's galore! Great to know that Ian is not far away too should you need anything. All you need for a fabulous week .... and the weather which was very good to us too!! We hope to return again soon. Thanks.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Glad you had another enjoyable stay at. Ardmore. Thanks for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write a review-both are much appreciated. Hoping to see you back in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing