We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food”
Review of Broadford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Broadford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Broadford
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We booked this hotel for two nights in order to explore the whole Island-we had booked a superior room and found that other then having the sitting area at an angle to the bedroom the standard and condition of the furniture and fittings was very good. An odd point is that there is no internal access to the hotel bar you have to exit the main entrance turn left and walk a few yards to the adjoining bar. We used the hotel restaurant both nights and were lucky to get a window table each time. There is a good selection of food and we found it to be excellent quality. At Breakfast there is a large selection of cereals/juices etc and again the food was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chromedome183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Broadford Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. Gail the chef and her team are delighted that you enjoyed the food at the Broadford. Do hope you will be back with us one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    110
    68
    44
    21
See reviews for
59
180
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The Broadford Hotel was our first 'stop-over' on our recent island hopping holiday. The staff are very friendly and most welcoming. We spent three nights here and enjoyed what was our first return visit to Skye for thirty-six years - my how the island and the hotel have altered over the years! Our room was lovely and we did appreciate having an 'on-suite' sitting room with tv. The bathroom is spacious and well fitted. I think on reflection that the bar food was the more enjoyable to some of the meals we had in the restaurant, but all in all we did enjoy a most pleasant few days in the hotel. We must return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyA1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Broadford Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you very much for reviewing the Broadford, it always helps us when people mention how much the hotel has been improved. It sounds as if you had a lovely break on the Island hopefully we can help you enjoy your next one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We visited this hotel for an evening meal with a group of young adults, the service we got was excellent and the waiter/barman Tom went out of his way to make us feel welcome even offering food that was not on the menu for one of the party. The food was excellent, the service quick and friendly and the price very reasonable.
Thank you very much

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Broadford Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Hello, and thank you for your mention on Trip Advisor about the Broadford Hotel. I have told Tom about your comments and he is smiling from ear to ear! Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milngavie
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This is not a "mass market" coach tour hotel providing accommodation and food for large groups of travellers, and should provide more personal service, particularly when not apparently very busy. Dinner here has been assessed by others, but breakfast, which I feel is often neglected by hotel management, and sadly is a dispiriting experience in many Scottish hotels, was rather bleak in that no one approached the table even after the first phase of breakfast was finished, and a waitress had to be called over to order the cooked element, coffee etc. She was very courteous, and appeared not to be from say elsewhere in Europe, (although some of the best service and attention we have had in Scotland has been from staff born outwith this country), and attended promptly thereafter. Although the menu was comprehensive enough,the amount of toast was minimal, the smoked salmon with the scrambled egg did not look very inviting, and one had to specifically request a refill of the small coffee cups, although the coffee itself was very good. Breakfast is the last experience one has in a hotel, and certainly was not very favourable here. Although I'm sure this hotel does tick all the corporate boxes, the impression is not one of a warm Scottish welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WayfarerMilngavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Broadford Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We have used your review in a positive manner to discuss breakfast service with our current staff and do hope that you will return here again. Please, if you do, let us know and tell us how your previous experience compared.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchs Forest, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Tried finding accommodation in portree but was booked out. Rang this hotel late in the afternoo n and managed o get a double room. Arrived to find we also had a separate sitting room. Very reasonably priced and the rooms had been renovated. When I asked when they were refurbished was told 5 years ago!! We also ate in the dining room and the food was excellent. Beautiful views from the restaurantover the bay ' a beautiful setting. The manager was very couteous. And pleasant with a smile and the waitress was also friendly and informative.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldfartSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We only had food here and did not stay the night. The food was very good quality and the value was reasonable. Service was lacking at times which meant that the meal was a bit drawn out. Other than that, we had a great time and we shall return.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This review is for the restaurant only.April 2012.My wife and I ate here twice in the week and both times it was excellent, in fact the restaurant was packed on the second occasion!! Poor old Rob G must have been really unlucky!! Confit Duck Terrine excellent! Sirloin Steak, the same! beatiful peppercorn sauce, reasonable priced wine!
We could not find any fault at all and the staff were really good!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
0.2 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
548 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
29.8 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,027 reviews
31.9 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
361 reviews
15.8 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadford Hotel

Property: Broadford Hotel
Address: Torrin Road, Broadford IV49 9AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Broadford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadford Hotel is situated in the centre of the Isle of Skye overlooking Broadford Bay. The Hotel (established in 1611) has been completely refurbished and offers excellent food and quality accommodation. There is Free Wifi Internet access throughout the Hotel and ample free parking.Broadford Hotel is the 'Original Home of Drambuie', where the liquor was first made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Broadford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadford Hotel Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing