We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average +”
Review of Broadford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Broadford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Broadford
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Booked this hotel at the last minute for 2 nights & my observations were a mix of good and bad. All that was available was a superior room, and it was nice, clean and well kept. The public areas of the hotel overall though had a tired feeling - everything is dark colored, somewhat warn, not well lit, no lift for getting luggage up to the second floor rooms, etc. Although, for our purposes, the room itself was fine since we spent almost all of our time out exploring Skye. We slept in on the first morning until about 8am and the shower was fine, but on the second morning, we had to catch the early ferry to Mallaig and had to shower around 6am. Water was deathly cold... even after running it for 15 minutes prior. Needless to say, it was a very quick shower that morning!

The people at the front desk were very welcoming and willing to do anything to help. We ate dinner both night at the attached restaurant/bar behind the hotel - was very good for a casual dinner and beer/drinks. The free breakfast was also very good - banana honey pancakes and coffee were memorable.

We picked Broadford since we were only going to be on Skye for 1 full day and it provided the perfect home base for spending a day driving up north of Broadford, but then being able to catch the early ferry the next morning without having to drive very far (10 minutes). There is a petrol (gas) station and co-op (supermarket) right down the street from the hotel, which was convenient.

I would still recommend the hotel - just set your expectations accordingly. I didn't see many other lodging options in the area (short of b&bs) and Portree is too far north IMO to make it an easy drive to the ferry in the morning.

Room Tip: Any one that actually has hot water in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Killjoy2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed one night in September. A large clean bedroom and lovely ensuite bathroom. The view out the window was dissappointing as it dominated by a large flat roof (over the bar I think). Ate in the restuarant in the evening. Pleasant with good service. Breakfast was OK. Would really like to have given the hotel 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogerh2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We arrived at the Broadford Hotel having booked ahead for one night - and ended up staying for 4 nights! Kevin, the manager, was very welcoming, as were all the staff...a special mention here to Tom for his fun, friendly and professional manner. The breakfasts were wonderful with an excellent, varied choice, cooked to perfection. The only disappointment was that we hadn't realised that the full restaurant menu wouldn't be available in the evenings and although the food in the bar was good, it didn't offer the range we had hoped for. We hope to return some day (when the restaurant is open!)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JandCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Broadford is a hotel ideally located to explore the South of the Isle of Skye. THe hotel is cosy with a warm atmosphere. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful, everybody has a smile. The room we had was very nice, large, and quiet. There's a restaurant, and a bar serving food as well with a relaxed mood. I'd stay here again, recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank l9972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We decided to stay at the hotel without plans to stay anywhere specific on Skye during a weekend getaway for my wife and I. We pulled into the hotel at about 4pm and were warmly greeted at Reception. As it was a chance to fill a room they offered a superior room at £30 off the going rate if we would take it... happily we agreed.

The room was spacious at the top of the stairs, with a small reception room, large bedroom, and bath and shower room. All with sea views.

The issues with the room were minor. The curtain was hung with plastic hooks that had broken under the curtain weight and a roman blind was broken. Both items reported and we were informed they were aware of it and had replacement parts in the post.

On positive sides the bed was exceptionally comfortable and all amenities one would want where there. The reception room had a small table and a couch/sofa bed but no second TV and bit of an underused area otherwise be we enjoyed the extra space.

Breakfast in the morning had a large cooked menu including french toast and banana honey pancakes. We were very pleased with this neither of us being a fan of the full English or Scottish breakfasts.

We ordered the pancakes with banana and honey which were amazing.

Highly recommended and right in the middle of the town so easy walks to everything.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Broadford is situated on the coast road overlooking Broadford Bay. It has ample free parking. The reception is warm and genuine. All the staff were friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and really contributed to our stay especially our waiter who was great fun and a fount of knowledge.
The room was small but clean , well appointed and we soon got used to the rather hard mattress.
The housekeeping staff left the room immaculate everyday. Breakast is very good, you won't want a lunch after it! The menu in the evening is excellent, really wide and varied choices with lots of locally sourced produce. I loved the haggis fritters with beetroot puree and smoked lamb carpacchio. Wow! The owner/manager couldn't have been kinder despite the awful weather. We will definitely return next year and hope for better weather.

Room Tip: Depends what you want. The romms with a view are small but refurbished. The rooms the rear have no v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BettyStoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Booked in at the last minute, so got a room at the back with no view. The room was large, as was the bathroom, but lacked attention to detail, ie. curtains falling off rail, glass shelf in bathroom hanging off wall, and the toilet was loose.
The carpets on the ground floor were very stained, but the stairs and corridors looked as though they had just been cleaned. The walls were scuffed and the paintwork peeling in many places.
The meal in the restaurant was uninspiring, a sea-trout steak being served raw in the middle. When this was sent back the chef claimed that this was how it should be cooked! We disagreed, and the fish was returned to the table properly cooked!
This hotel does not warrant 4 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molecatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
0.2 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
635 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
15.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
16.1 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
63 reviews
31.9 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadford Hotel

Address: Torrin Road, Broadford IV49 9AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Broadford
Price Range: £93 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadford Hotel is situated in the centre of the Isle of Skye overlooking Broadford Bay. The Hotel (established in 1611) has been completely refurbished and offers excellent food and quality accommodation. There is Free Wifi Internet access throughout the Hotel and ample free parking.Broadford Hotel is the 'Original Home of Drambuie', where the liquor was first made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Broadford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadford Hotel Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing