We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biker friendly”
Review of Broadford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Broadford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Broadford
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Biker friendly”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a four star hotel with some inspiring views. The staff I spoke with were very pleasant and eager to please. I didn't eat in the hotel (except for breakfast) but there is a bar attached to the hotel and your steak will be cooked EXACTLY as you ask. An all round excellent stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    110
    68
    44
    21
See reviews for
59
180
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The setting is delightful, the rooms are large and the meals were tasty. But, not turning on the hot water until 6 AM and the time needed to actually get hot water for a shower was a real throw-back. A problem if you have to be up and get on the road and catch a ferry. The house keeper had left no soap in the room - had to call for that. The proper hotel bar was not open until 5 or six in the evening forcing one to go next door if you wanted a drink prior to that. Probably something a bit strange to point out was that the rooms have a place where on it to put boots. But, the carpets are nearly white. Not really practical.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarylandBeemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Broadford Hotel
Broadford is an ideal centre for visiting Skye: a) a few minutes’ drive from the Bridge b) within an hour of ferries south or north, c) within an hour of the main visitor destinations: Portree, Dunvegan, Elgol (boat trips).
This four-star hotel too is well placed, side on to the beautiful bay, next to a river and in the middle of the village.
Despite its 1611 origins, the Broadford is Scottish modern in style, last extended 70s? 80s? with décor in public areas determinedly dark and tweedy; rooms brighter: oatmeal paint and natural wood. Our room (27) had a lovely view, a comfortable bed, an en suite that 95% worked, and plenty of space.
The hotel has gone through, we gather, a somewhat painful ownership change this year but doesn’t seem to have been knocked too much off its stride. Our evening meals were good, the menu varied at any one sitting, but lacking in ‘specials’ for longer stayers. We saw a local fisherman bearing his catch into the kitchen still in his yellow boots, which must say something. The breakfasts were definitely above average.
The staff couldn’t have been more friendly and helpful.
The bar, incidentally, is separately entered and a haven for the locals (who are very friendly if treated right). Sports dominates the three screens. The food to be had there is of hotel standard and a little cheaper.

Room Tip: Our room (27) was one of the few with a sea view It had a big bed, en suite and lots of space plus t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMcDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East kilbride
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is a great example of Scottish hospitality! I arrived with my family and a large Doberman! The bedrooms were first class.The facilities were more than I expected. Our bedroom was more like a suite! The staff and the manager were professional and extremely courteous. I cannot fault anything in the hotel. We ate in the bar and I have to say this was excellent. Gail the chef was lovely. Our Scottish Breakfast was 10 out of 10 plus it was served with a smile and a bit of friendly chat. The view from the dining room looks out over the sea. On leaving we booked for the weekend commencing 13th June with family who are coming from Australia. The staff and manager were first class. Thanks for the Drambuie! I rate this experience as excellent!

Room Tip: We had a room which was more like a suite. Think it was room 32 or 34! Overlooked the front of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were recommended to this hotel for Sunday lunch by someone in Kyle who said it was very popular. Quite frankly we cannot understand why. Firstly the decor was very dated and reminiscent of the 70s which didn't create a good first impression. As for the food, we were only offered a choice of two starters when it transpired that there were actually three, the third of which would have been my husband's choice had he known it was available. Instead he had to have a falafel which he didn't enjoy at all. The carvery consisted of a choice of beef or ham. The beef was overcooked and tough, although my husband had the ham which he said was ok. The vegetables, roast potatoes and yorkshire pudding were bland and pretty tasteless and the gravy was quite thin and watery. The pudding selection was ok and probably the best part of the meal. On a positive note the lady chef was lovely and bubbly and friendly. And finally, had we enjoyed the food it would have been ruined by an unruly toddler running round the restaurant noisily and when we commented on this on leaving were told by a member of staff "we cannot possibly ask parents to keep their children under reasonable control"! I would have thought that it was quite possible to do this as not only were staff carrying in starters but more importantly customers were carrying hot food from the carvery to their tables and in our opinion this toddler was creating a health and safety hazard. All in all this was one of the worst Sunday carveries it has been our misfortune to experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldiva54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Broadford hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Perthshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel was recommended for its Sunday lunch, so we decided to try it.
It's a set price, whether one takes three courses or not; I haven't come across that approach before.
As an entrée, I asked for a portion of melon (it came with prawns, which I don't eat), which was minuscule; the beef was overdone and a little tough; the chocolate mousse was good.
The hotel itself is rather old-fashioned and the atmosphere in non-existent, but the staff are very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyBoopPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was our first visit as we had heard they do a nice Sunday lunch, wasn't disappointed. Head
Chef Gail was a pleasure to meet, the staff were very friendly and the restuarant comfortable.
Didn't feel as if we had to eat and leave . Certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilian Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadford
0.2 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
548 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
29.8 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,028 reviews
31.9 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
363 reviews
15.8 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadford Hotel

Property: Broadford Hotel
Address: Torrin Road, Broadford IV49 9AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Broadford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadford Hotel is situated in the centre of the Isle of Skye overlooking Broadford Bay. The Hotel (established in 1611) has been completely refurbished and offers excellent food and quality accommodation. There is Free Wifi Internet access throughout the Hotel and ample free parking.Broadford Hotel is the 'Original Home of Drambuie', where the liquor was first made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Broadford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadford Hotel Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing