We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B with an incredible setting”
Review of Swordale House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swordale House
Ranked #12 of 26 Broadford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We spent two nights here, a great base for exploring the Isle of Skye. And the surroundings are stunning! Only a couple of minutes from town, and you feel as if you're in the middle of nowhere (in the best sense possible)

- Babara and Alan were very friendly and helpful with recommendations for restaurants.
- More of a "classic" B&B style, without being overly "cutesy".
- Best setting and views of any B&B we stayed at in Scotland
- Barbara had the most unique breakfast choices (smoked haddock)
- The room was smaller than others we had, but had the best shower of them all!
- Short drives to the Skye Bridge (15 minutes), Broadford town (3 minutes, restaurants/post office/etc), Portree (35 minutes, main town on Skye)
- I almost took Lenny the cat home with me!

The views from the garden terrace (or breakfast room) at sunrise or sunset are absolutely stunning!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urbanjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

Swordale house is really a nice place. Barbara and Alan are very welcoming people. The rooms are a little bit small but charming. And the view from the windows is fantastic! Only moor, sheeps, mountains.. Very peaceful! Bathroom are not so great. Small. The electric shower makes a lot of noise. The breakfast was very good and very fresh. We have appreciated the fresh fruits, the black pudding and even the haddock at breakfast.. For French people it's quite a thing! We recommend it ! Don't hesitate!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azurianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We travelled as 2 couples and stayed for 1 night in this lovely B&B. The moment we arrived we were taken by the amazing views and the location itself. It was so idylic and secluded, just the lovely house, sheep and views of Red Cuillin. Alan's welcome was so warm that we felt at home immediately. We arrived quite late, but still had a chance to explore Broadford a bit. Also enjoyed cup of tea in the cosy lounge with the amazing view. It was a beautiful sunny day and as the sun was still up at 10 pm, me and my boyfriend went for a walk up the hills behind the B&B - where he proposed!!! So not only we loved the B&B, but now this place has a very special meaning to us! So definitely will be coming back one day :) Alan and Barbara are amazing people, so friendly and hospitable. When we were leaving we already knew we should have planned to spend more time in this cosy house with beautiful suroundings. Next time!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

It's easy to think that you should stay along the coastline on Skye, but let me tell you about Sworedale. My wife and I spent a week on Skye and in the end found the peninsula containing the Sworedale House and the village of Elgol to be the most entertaining. Sworedale House sits directly between mountains on the road to Elgol. Barbara and Alan are relaxed and very nice folks. The clean room had a larger than double bed and plenty of space. Our two night stay was very comfortable and the food was fine. The rooms are up one flight of stairs. Parking was not a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LookoutJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We only stayed here in this lovely BB for one night (unfortunately). Anyway, the experience was simply wonderful!
The owners are amazing people, helpful and hearty etc. The location of the BB was pleasant surprise for us as it is located in the middle of mountain covered with sheep:-) Beautiful!!

Rooms nice and clean, breakfast lovely!

Me and my husband and friends can only recommend this place for stay.

Hana & Milan from the Czech Republic

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We only stayed for one night in this B&B on our Scotland round trip but we were really impressed by the kindness and hospitaliy of Barbara and Alan. We would have liked to stay longer. If you need suggestions about sights or hiking tours, both Barbara and Alan share their knowledge of the surroundings with you. Our room was lovely, very clean and good shower. Breakfast was lovely and even offered products from the garden. Great. Hope to be back some day on Isle of Skye and in Barbara's and Alan's house.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We only stayed at Swordale House for one night to so we didn't have to drive too far, plus we wanted to drive out to see Elgol. Swordale House is a very cosy house in a wonderful Scottish landscape of sheep and mountains, with some very old church ruins just down the road. The bedrooms were clean with comfortable beds. When we got back from our dinner (a small Seafood Restaurant, don't remember the name, not especially good) it was getting a little chilly, and Barbara had a fire going for us in the parlor! We didn't meet Alan until the next morning, but Barbara couldn't have been nicer. This is not a fancy B&B, but a great value, and we thought quite charming. If you need a B&B in that area, don't hesitate. They do have a website if you Google it, showing the house and the bedrooms.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wrenwood_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadford hotels
0.0 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
634 reviews
0.0 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Broadford Youth Hostel
Broadford Youth Hostel
#4 of 6 in Broadford
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Broadford House Skye - B&B
Broadford House Skye - B&B
#26 of 26 in Broadford
47 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Swordale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swordale House

Address: Broadford IV49 9AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Broadford
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Swordale House Broadford, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing