We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swordale House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swordale House
Ranked #10 of 28 Broadford B&B and Inns
Canada, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Room stay.”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at this place for 3 nights, and i can highly recommend it. Barbara and Alan were lovely, it was cold for these nights, and when we came in there was a lovely fire every night in the lounge, and coffee or tea if we needed it. made to feel very welcome, breakfast was so filling, anything we wanted. I left something in my room, and it was no trouble for Barbara to mail it to me, thank you so much for that. Peaceful surroundings, are room was lovely and cozy and the bathroom so warm, I could have stayed in it all day. Thanks again to Barbara and Alan. Bernadette and Alan.

Room Tip: make sure you go to this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy39254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a girls' short break (two mums with our pre-teen daughters). Barbara and Alan are delightful hosts who made our stay most comfortable. The house is spotlessly clean and full of charm. Breakfasts are delicious, with a good choice of locally-sourced fayre: smoked haddock, eggs and venison sausages to name but three. The food is beautifully presented and served with attention to detail. The views of the Red Cuillin mountains are stunning in the early morning and change colour with the light. Bathrooms are indeed small but functional and the electric power shower ensures plenty of hot water at all times. We would be happy to return and to recommend this b&b to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We spent two nights here, a great base for exploring the Isle of Skye. And the surroundings are stunning! Only a couple of minutes from town, and you feel as if you're in the middle of nowhere (in the best sense possible)

- Babara and Alan were very friendly and helpful with recommendations for restaurants.
- More of a "classic" B&B style, without being overly "cutesy".
- Best setting and views of any B&B we stayed at in Scotland
- Barbara had the most unique breakfast choices (smoked haddock)
- The room was smaller than others we had, but had the best shower of them all!
- Short drives to the Skye Bridge (15 minutes), Broadford town (3 minutes, restaurants/post office/etc), Portree (35 minutes, main town on Skye)
- I almost took Lenny the cat home with me!

The views from the garden terrace (or breakfast room) at sunrise or sunset are absolutely stunning!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urbanjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

Swordale house is really a nice place. Barbara and Alan are very welcoming people. The rooms are a little bit small but charming. And the view from the windows is fantastic! Only moor, sheeps, mountains.. Very peaceful! Bathroom are not so great. Small. The electric shower makes a lot of noise. The breakfast was very good and very fresh. We have appreciated the fresh fruits, the black pudding and even the haddock at breakfast.. For French people it's quite a thing! We recommend it ! Don't hesitate!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azurianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We travelled as 2 couples and stayed for 1 night in this lovely B&B. The moment we arrived we were taken by the amazing views and the location itself. It was so idylic and secluded, just the lovely house, sheep and views of Red Cuillin. Alan's welcome was so warm that we felt at home immediately. We arrived quite late, but still had a chance to explore Broadford a bit. Also enjoyed cup of tea in the cosy lounge with the amazing view. It was a beautiful sunny day and as the sun was still up at 10 pm, me and my boyfriend went for a walk up the hills behind the B&B - where he proposed!!! So not only we loved the B&B, but now this place has a very special meaning to us! So definitely will be coming back one day :) Alan and Barbara are amazing people, so friendly and hospitable. When we were leaving we already knew we should have planned to spend more time in this cosy house with beautiful suroundings. Next time!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

It's easy to think that you should stay along the coastline on Skye, but let me tell you about Sworedale. My wife and I spent a week on Skye and in the end found the peninsula containing the Sworedale House and the village of Elgol to be the most entertaining. Sworedale House sits directly between mountains on the road to Elgol. Barbara and Alan are relaxed and very nice folks. The clean room had a larger than double bed and plenty of space. Our two night stay was very comfortable and the food was fine. The rooms are up one flight of stairs. Parking was not a problem.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LookoutJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We only stayed here in this lovely BB for one night (unfortunately). Anyway, the experience was simply wonderful!
The owners are amazing people, helpful and hearty etc. The location of the BB was pleasant surprise for us as it is located in the middle of mountain covered with sheep:-) Beautiful!!

Rooms nice and clean, breakfast lovely!

Me and my husband and friends can only recommend this place for stay.

Hana & Milan from the Czech Republic

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadford hotels
0.0 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
510 reviews
0.0 mi away
Broadford Youth Hostel
Broadford Youth Hostel
#4 of 5 in Broadford
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Broadford House Skye
Broadford House Skye
#27 of 28 in Broadford
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hillview Budget Rooms
Hillview Budget Rooms
#14 of 28 in Broadford
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scalpay View
Scalpay View
#8 of 28 in Broadford
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swordale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swordale House

Property: Swordale House
Address: Broadford IV49 9AS , Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Broadford
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Swordale House Broadford, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing