We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay there!! - Completely unreliable”

Limestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Limestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 26 Broadford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 October 2006

In all my time using TripAdvisor I have never felt the need to write a negative review but I honestly think I should warn people against staying at this place unless they want to run the risk of finding themselves stranded late at night in fully-booked Skye without a place to spend the night in... After having booked a room at this B&B over one month ahead and having confirmed the booking 48hrs ahead as requested, I arrived to find that they had given away our room to someone else. When I asked the owner to allow me to speak with the gentleman with whom I had dealt over the phone (her husband, I assume), she refused and become rude and even agressive, throwing us out of the house. This left me in no doubt that there had been no missunderstanding when I had made the booking and that she knew perfectly well that she was doing something wrong (she had probably decided to give our room away to someone who had offered to pay her more on the day). I might have been very unlucky, but I would not take my chances again with this lady. My honest advice is to stay away from this place.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank JLenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2006

I had been looking forward to stay at the Limestone Cottage, after seeing their website, but was disappointed to find the place overbooked (despite having only 3 rooms to keep track of).
The host had found nearby accomodation for us at the "Sheiling B&B". Good service to help with alternatives, but... how can you overbook your 3 rooms when you require guests to reconfirm their stay at least 48 hours prior to arrival (and I DID call to reconfirm).

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
10  Thank Bo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2006

My husband and I stayed at this delightful B & B "crofters cottage" for 3 nights in mid-May this year when we visited the Isle of Skye.

The hosts, Tony and Kathie-Maria, are very friendly and helpful. If you need an iron and board, you have but to ask. Kathie-Maria is an excellent cook and our breakfasts each day (sausage, eggs, bacon, mushroom, fried tomatoes, toast, jam, coffee, orange juice, etc.) couldn't have been better and kept us going until supper.

Limestone Cottage is very nicely decorated, including the breakfast-sitting room, the hall and our bedroom and there are so many interesting things to look at. We especially enjoyed sitting at the table with lace tablecloth for breakfast amidst such attractive surroundings, with the sun shining in and with a beautiful view of the ocean. Our bedroom also had a lovely view of the ocean and in the near future, if I can figure out how to do it, I will post some of the pictures we took so you can see how nice our bedroom was. The bed linen and towels were immaculate and the room was spotless! There was a TV, leather chair and stool, cabinet and a coffee/tea tray with cookies every day. The bathroom was large and of course, exceptionally clean. There is also a hair dryer available for use if you need one.

There is a good selection (6-7) restaurants within walking distance of the Limestone Cottage and after supper the village of Broadford is just the right size to walk around before settling in for the evening. The location was perfect for travelling to many sights and attractions, including Dunvegan Castle, the village of Portree, the Trotternish Peninsula (Kilt Rock and the Old Man of Storr) and the Museum of Island Life. We also visited the Fairy Glen near Uig which has some very unusual land formations.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Limestone Cottage and would stay there again if we ever went back to Skye. The price was certainly reasonable considering the high standards of this B & B.

4  Thank AltaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Birgit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank iAhmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Antonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadford hotels
284.9 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
634 reviews
285.1 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
364 reviews
285.3 mi away
Broadford Youth Hostel
Broadford Youth Hostel
#4 of 6 in Broadford
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
284.9 mi away
Broadford House Skye - B&B
Broadford House Skye - B&B
#26 of 26 in Broadford
47 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Limestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limestone Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4 Lime Park, Broadford, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Broadford
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Broadford
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Limestone Cottage b&b
Limestone Cottage Hotel Broadford
Limestone Cottage Bed And Breakfast Broadford, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing