We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded expectations”
Review of Hillstone Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colbost
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillstone Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Colbost B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We decided to stay at the Hillstone lodge primarily because it was right beside the Three Chimneys restaurant and it had good reviews but after staying there we have decided to back later in the year to use as a base for exploring the island.
the building was very modern but also very cosy and the room itself was great with dramatic views which could be seen through full length sliding doors.
My girlfriend works in a 5 star hotel so she always has a good look at cleanliness anywhere we stay and this was in her words "the cleanest place we've ever stayed"
Before we went to the restaurant we sat it the lounge and ordered a glass of wine which was served with free crisps and olives which was a nice touch.
We would definitely advise staying here and we will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calum555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just back from our amazing weekend at Hillstone Lodge. Everything about our stay was wonderful; the rooms have fantastic views over the Loch, are furnished to a very high standard, the walk in shower is perfect and well needed after long walks and the fresh fruit and personalised welcome notes made it feel special. We were lucky enough to see rainbows from our room and seals down at the jetty opposite. The dining and sitting rooms are great places, well furnished to relax and enjoy the views.

Breakfast was wonderful and home made scones were put out during the afternoon. The hospitality is truly first class, very relaxing but nothing is too much trouble, we would highly recommend staying there. Its a very handy location too if visiting the 3 Chimneys restaurant.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a weekend getaway, and even with her high German standards, we both thought this place was great. I joined trip advisor just to write this. A great view to wake up to with a sliding door that overlooks the loch. And you wake up to a great breakfast with a little card that says good morning and gives you information on the day ahead (sunrise sunset times, weather etc). Nice touch. Most importantly, you get a very warm welcome from a lovely family. Will be back!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank IncensedPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This place is fabulous, very luxurious, underfloor heating, and you are encouraged to take your shoes off at the front door, just like being at home, and the hosts will light the fire for you to complete the home comfort feel. The bedrooms are very well equipped, coffee makers, fabulous 2 man showers and lovely local toiletries, not to mention the views! They have 3 rooms, we went as a group, and had a lovely dining experience in our very own "boutique hotel" It is within walking distance of the "three Chimneys" , really 10 minutes, which is why we booked, but not at all the only reason to visit, the food was excellent, as was the choice of wine with dinner, can't wait to go back 10 out of 10 ps we hadn't realized they had a license. and had taken a bottle of champagne to have before our visit to the three chimneys, this was served in lovely flutes, with olives and snacks and no charge, a very nice touch, a must visit if going to Skye

Room Tip: All three rooms are lovely, with the same very high quality bathrooms, if you smoke ask for a downst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauriesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

A wonderful place to stay in a stunning location. The rooms are to die for with high quality everything - at least 4 star hotel quality. The common areas are relaxing and comfortable. The service is wonderful with breakfast menu high class and great quality.

Fantastic and so good I have already been back once and hope to do so again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The website is pretty good but doesn't do justice to this wee gem. We were welcomed with hot scones and steaming hot coffee in the beautiful sitting room. The combination of traditional stone and modern decor was beautiful and the art work was so interesting. Great food at the dining table and lovely wines. Served and left, just like a dinner party at home that you don't cook or clear! The couple were discreetly available and understood just exactly what a guest wants ... and when. I want them to come and live with me.

The bedrooms and bathrooms were really tasteful, comfortable and so well equipped with Nespresso machines and lovely handmade Scottish body and hair products.

Really well designed, brilliant layout and lovely people to boot.

Room Tip: The upstairs room, enjoy the view from the four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Killearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

What a fantastic place. At arrival you're friendly welcomed by the owner with coffee and some cookies. The room was very nice with a luxurious bathroom. Nice details was the dish with some really fresh fruit. The bed must have been the most comfortable of any accommodation I've ever been. At breakfast there is a menu which has some nice info on it and a daily quote and a variety of meals which are cooked to perfection. Highly recommended despite te remote location and absolutely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colbost
17.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,098 reviews
38.3 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
21.0 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
198 reviews
38.0 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
17.1 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillstone Lodge

Address: 12 Colbost | Dunvegan, Colbost IV55 8ZT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Colbost
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Colbost
Price Range: £65 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillstone Lodge is a small guesthouse on the Isle of Skye and you can find us easily on the internet for direct bookings. Providing luxury accommodation, offering full breakfast and also dinner options (when booked in advance). Located at Colbost, great views overlooking Loch Dunvegan, close to Dunvegan Castle and within easy reach of all the other sights on the magnificent Isle of Skye. All three rooms feature TV, DVD, iPod dock and radio, tea and coffee making facilities, free WiFi, hair dryer, large ensuite with walk-in shower, fluffy bath towels, bath robes and toiletries. The rooms on the ground floor have their own terrace. Both lounge and dining room benefit each from its open fire place - to relax after a long day outdoors. The modern building was designed by award winning architects "Rural Design" in Portree reflecting the traditions and the heritage of the Isle of Skye. Using "green" construction technology Hillstone Lodge is energy efficient, minimising the impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillstone Lodge Isle Of Skye/Colbost, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing