We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming and amusing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Misty Isle Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunvegan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Misty Isle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunvegan
surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Welcoming and amusing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

If all,you want is a good wholesome plate of food with no frills this is it. Full sized pool table,tv,and a warm welcome . We and other travellers were well looked after when we turned up on Sunday evening of the World Cup. Made very welcome . Very good service and a good crack was had by all. Smashing.!

Room Tip: We didn't stay at this hotel we just spent the evening there eating and drinking. It was jolly g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    5
    5
    2
    9
See reviews for
6
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Alan is AWESOME. Really, all the staff and regulars we met at the Misty Isle made us feel so welcome, we would definitely go back. The hotel is still in the process of being renovated, but our beds were clean and comfortable, the rooms were spacious, and the breakfast was great. I should probably note that we didn't plan to stay here (it sort of just happened after a series of unforeseen events), but I'm glad we came across it and have to say the experience is one we'll always remember.

Thank you, Alan, for your amazing hospitality and equally amazing stories :)

One more note: if you're visiting Neist Point, the hotel is very conveniently located.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

we stayed here one night in september 2013, while on an island tour. only went in to eat, have a drink and dry off, but ended up staying. as it was quiet, the new owner offered us a huge room (more like a flat), for next to nothing. what a guy! he"s a legend. after being on the road all day, we were wet, tired and hungry so this gave us a chance to relax and dry out. recommend 100%

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

In the 1950's this was THE premier hotel on the island of Skye, but it suffered a long slow decline to what it is now. But we booked in, chancing our luck, and the new owner showed us what he thought was his best room, that with the fourposter bed with an adjacent family double bedroom, which we did not need. The mattress was new and very comfortable, the view was over the sea, the bathroom was at the height of fashion in 1950 and was well used and much past it's sell by date but we took it anyway. We later discovered that there were other rooms, much more modernised, but we were comfortable anyway. The public areas were almost terrible, well run down, but the owner was pleasant and a good cook and our evening meal was much enjoyed and the breakfast was probably the best cooked that we have ever had in an hotel. We would go again, maybe in a couple of years when all the improvements have been made.

Room Tip: Make it a front room and ask for the modernised ones, unless you like a bit of 50's character...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

But it certainly makes up for it with the warm welcome. Same as the reviewer below we called in here to get a cuppa and to escape the rain. The decor of the place is a blast from the past and i can see why people would be put off from eating here.

However, if you do eat as we did you will be pleasantly surprised. The breakfast that the owner knocked up was seriously first class and was my first introduction to Stornaway black pudding,,,,,mmmmmmm

We were made to feel very welcome during our shelter from the wet weather. Would certainly use again.

Thanks, the bikers from Manchester

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peawet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I was on a camping trip to Skye and other islands, my tent and gear was soaked as the weather had been less than kind to me on my trip. I decided before setting up camp at the Dunvegan campsite to treat myself to a good warm meal at the Misty Isle Hotel........ On entering I thought I'd made a massive mistake as the place was empty, but I had a great meal the staff were friendly and professional...... The bonus was on hearing my Glasgow accent the owner Alec came over to chat and on hearing of my plight (wet tent etc) he offered me a deal on one of the rooms in the hotel giving me the chance to dry out and have a nice warm bed and shower.....I cant thank Alec enough for taking pity on this bedraggled traveller. I will most definitely be back and would recommend anyone looking for a warm welcome and good food to pay a visit to this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bankok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Best bar lady in all the land. Very accommodating and tried very hard to ignore the toothless drunk proping up the bar, who was incredibly disrespectful to the young lassy. The decor is outdated, toilets were disgusting, the smell off the place was awful. Whoever owns this place needs to listen to his younger members of staff in bringing this place into the 21st century. They have wifi, which was free, the only problem was again the drunk in the corner complaining how phones and a social networking site had ruined pub life. If you are ever passing, do go in, ask for the young barmaid as she is extremely welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for room 4 for a family of 4, or the fishermans room for a party of 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank touristofscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunvegan
6.9 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
14.9 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
14.6 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
35.4 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
34.9 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Isle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Isle Hotel

Property: Misty Isle Hotel
Address: Main Street, Dunvegan IV55 8WA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Dunvegan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunvegan
Also Known As:
Misty Isle Hotel Dunvegan, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing