We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Modern cottage in beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hillside Cottage

Hillside Cottage with moorland views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hillside Cottage with moorland views
Entrance to Hillside.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Hillside Cottage with moorland views
Entrance to Hillside.
Cosy living room, relax and chill after a days exploring
light, spacious living room
View from the living room
Well equipped kitchen.
American fridge freezer/washing machine/tumble dryer/dishwasher
Light and airy double room.
Moorland views
Twin bed room
Drench shower and normal shower head...bliss
Bridge at river Roskhill
River Roskhill,
Heather moorland by river Roskhill
Moon behind the Cuillin Mountains, taken from Roskhill
Cuillin Mountains
Cuillins
Cloud below the Cuillin Mountains
Deer feeding on the lowlands on the road to the Isles
picnic bench
Private road up to Hillside Cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dunvegan, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Claire S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Modern cottage in beautiful location”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

After driving through the wind and rain on a glorious day in Skye, was met with a very well presented 2 bed cottage. Everything you needed for a great stay in Skye was catered for. The folder with ideas of places to go was very much appreciated as it provided us with some sights that we may have not been aware of. The Old School restaurant in Dunvegan, which came recommended by Gail provided a great meal. All in all a great, hassle free stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and tranquility
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lucyfb72
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“warm and comfortable”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

lovely cottage , nice surprise to get a welcome basket, owners really helpful and offered that we can take rental early in day as arrival day dreadful weather.
Hot water and good shower and bath.
Really useful having washer as biking during week.
Would recommend cottage to others.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen.
Liked least: Dunvegan was disappointing, we'd hoped the localilty would be better.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburfh
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jane M
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Short Break, Outstanding Accomodation.”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I have recently returned from a wonderful short break spent with my father at Hillside Cottage, Dunvegan. The Cottage itself was outstanding very comfortable and spacious and spotlessly clean. The Bed was the most comfortable bed I have slept in with quality fresh bed linen. The kitchen has every appliance you could need and again everything brand new and very clean. Central Heating, ample hot water and a Log Burning Stove in the Lounge make the Cottage feel really homely and cosy. There is a garden area to the front of the house with a seating area and ample parking. Hillside Cottage is ideally situated to tour the whole island and Spencer and Gail could not have done more to make us feel welcome and ensure we enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for self catering accommodation on the isle of Skye you must give this place a try.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bed, Kitchen, Shower,New Cottage
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaun p
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic a really lovely home in an amazing place”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I visited the Isle of Skye with my wife and six year old daughter and stayed for 4 nights in Hillside Cottage. I booked Hillside based purely on the advertisement, the pictures of the cottage and one previous review. As this is not a review os Skye but of the Cottage itself I would just like to say that staying at Hillside was simply fantastic... its just like new, everything is spotlessly clean and there's everything you need to make your stay a memorable one. The kitchen is great with super white goods and cooker and includes a large dishwasher and plenty of utensils you would ever need. Bedrooms are lovely and extremely confortable; bathroom is lovely with superb shower and lounge is just that.. great for lounging in. TV has plenty of channels for all and there's even an XBOX if you're into that. To be able to stay in such wonderful surroundings spending the day discovering the island only to come home to Hillside was the icing on the cake for us. From the first day I felt like I had been living there for months not hours; Gail and Spencer were great and we took up there suggestions for walks and boat trips etc from day one. The location of the cottage was also perfect for us and we found getting around the island really easy from here. I have never bothered to review anywhere I have every stayed before.. until now
Gail and Spencer have a real gem of a place here and we will be back again for sure.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$107
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing