We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Skye Paradise”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
No 5 back garden seating area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
No 5 back garden seating area
Back garden view with climbing frame for our younger guests Livingroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
38 reviews
No 5 back garden seating area
Back garden view with climbing frame for our younger guests
Livingroom
Livingroom
Kitchen Diner
Twin Bedroom
Double Bedroom 2
Downstairs Bathroom
Double Bedroom 1
Kitchen Diner
Front of No.5 Castle Crescent
Front door hall entrance
View from back of House- Loch Dunvegan
Varkasaig Beach (Volcanic)
Sunrise at Knockbreck, Waternish
Visit to see the seals at Dunvegan Castle
Playpark in Dunvegan ( 1 minute walk)
Walk down to Neist point Lighthouse
Neist Point Lighthouse
Stairway
Glenbrittle Beach
Coral Beach
Horse riding in Portree
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dunvegan, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
iain c
Harpenden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Skye Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A first visit to Skye for the family, and every aspect ticked all the boxes, staying at our home from home in Dunvegan. 5 Castle Crescent is beautifully presented, and added to that is the warm welcome received from Barbara. The house was very well equipped, and had stunning views over the loch. The welcome parcel from Barbara was superb, and what a lovely touch to be left some whisky and 4 glasses to toast our stay. With the obvious exception of the endemic higfhland midges - just like everywhere elese in the highlands in the summer - everything was perfect, and we had a truly superb stay.

Beyond just Tripadvisor and the positive comments herein, I always check the visitors book, and once again every single visitor had been suitably effusive in their comments. We will happily return to Skye, and especially 5 Castle Crescent.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Stunning setting and beautifully appointed house
Liked least: midges (throughout the highlands - not specifically here)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier312...
Toulouse, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feel at home in Dunvegan, on Skye Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house is very well located in the village of Dunvegan, which is a good place to explore Skye Island. Dunvegan castle is only 1 or 2 miles down the road, from which you will be able to observe seals.
The house is extremely well equipped. Customers benefit from the very warm welcome from Barbara, which includes a basket full of local products, home made bread, etc.
In conclusion, certainly the best accomodation in Dunvegan, which is a very good point in case of rain (that may happen...).

Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FridaT5
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Three days heaven in earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were traveling in 6 , 2 adults and 4 teenagers, and we stay in Castle Crescent 3 nights.
We loved this home at the first sight: the home is very well cared , with all the basics, and the view is to die for. Barbara, the owner, takes proudly care of her guests, welcoming on your arrival and a basket filled with local products as chocolate, bread, eggs, wine and more was an unexpected gift for us. Also the location close to Dunvegan Castle makes this accommodation very convenient. Dunvegan offers also a lovely bakery, and a good restaurant, The old school. We had a terrific vacation, very sorry to leave.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sybille K
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location and wonderful home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a couple days with 2 other couples and 2 kids. Plenty of room and everything we could want for exploring Skye. Barbara and her daughter made us feel welcome and had a great surprisew basket and fresh bread waiting. Highly recommended.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaNata...
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful, spacious place. Well decorated and clean. Fully equipped kitchen. Welcome pack containing free range eggs and freshly baked bread!!!!
Robbie and Barbara are the perfect hosts.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Knoxville, Tennessee
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: loved the location and enjoyed the fully equipped, comfy house
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kathy K
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Place I Will Always Want to Return To”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at No. 5 Castle Crescent with my two adult children for 3 nights. As soon as we entered the home we were regretting that we hadn't made a longer reservation We were greeted by Barbara and her daughter when we arrived and they showed us around the house. We were thrilled with the lovely basket of fresh food they left for us, including a wonderful loaf of home baked bread and Scottish treats. The house was very comfortable, clean, and well maintained and the beds were divine! The views from the house are way better than the pictures. We will be contacting Barbara again in the future, because my children and I agreed that whenever we can, we will meet again in the Isle of Skye and stay at No. 5 Castle Crescent.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Comfortable Space
Liked least: Kitchen could use some serving bowls and storage containers
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing