We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great break, fantastic place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
No 5 back garden seating area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
No 5 back garden seating area
Back garden view with climbing frame for our younger guests Livingroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
No 5 back garden seating area
Back garden view with climbing frame for our younger guests
Livingroom
Livingroom
Kitchen Diner
Twin Bedroom
Double Bedroom 2
Downstairs Bathroom
Double Bedroom 1
Kitchen Diner
Front of No.5 Castle Crescent
Front door hall entrance
View from back of House- Loch Dunvegan
Varkasaig Beach (Volcanic)
Sunrise at Knockbreck, Waternish
Visit to see the seals at Dunvegan Castle
Playpark in Dunvegan ( 1 minute walk)
Walk down to Neist point Lighthouse
Neist Point Lighthouse
Stairway
Glenbrittle Beach
Coral Beach
Horse riding in Portree
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dunvegan, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Monika D
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great break, fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at No. 5 Castle Crescent for 4 nights in April.
The owner welcomed as kindly with delicious basket of local goodies.
The home was well furnished and looked after. Kitchen is very well equipped so if someone chooses to cook at home it's not a problem.
There are 2 bathrooms which makes life easier.
Also, lots of toys and books for children are available at home.

We would fully recommend this rental place for others. Who knows we might some back there again when planning another trip to this part of Scotland.

Dunvegan is a small village when tourists can easily do small shopping, eat well and enjoy peaceful Isle of Skye's scenery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marguerit...
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house was found very clean and well equipped. Everything you need as cooking accessories, books and hair dryer will be found in the house.
The rooms looks like the pictures.
The owner lives next to the house and is friendly.
Dunvegan is a nice place to stay for a whole week on Skye Island. There are a few shops (bakery, minimarket, restaurant...) and the Dunvegan Castle in a walking distance.
We recommend 5 crescent castle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A warm welcome to a comfortable home”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here with my son in law Dan, our daughter and there two chidren (Aged 4 years and aged 8 weeks). We were made very welcome. The views from the property are amazing and it was difficult to drag ourselves away but when we did we found that we could walk to Dunvegan Castle where a trip on a boat to see the seals was amazing. We also did a short circular walk through the woods and up on the tops to a memorial stone; had a wonderful meal at The Old School House; bought bread and pies at the oldest bakery on Skye and visited a very interesting exhibition about Giant Macaskill . There is a playground nearby as well as the equipment provided at the property. Other days were spent climbing up to The Old man of Storr, visiting Fairy Pools, the Coral Beach, Fairly Glenn; fish and chips in Portree followed by a visit to a centre containing a museum about St Kildar which was so good that we just missed a whisky tour and an Oyster shack. I also bought some beautiful hand dyed wool which will keep me busy until my next visit.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The welcome and the view
Liked least: I really would have liked some weighing scales and a sieve to go with all the other baking equipment but I am certain these would have been provided if I asked
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith O
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A brilliant place to stay”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a fantastic place to stay. We received a very warm welcome from the owner who was very helpful indeed.
We found the property extremely clean (spotless) and the amenities within the house were of a very high standard. Very comfortable beds in which we all got excellent nights sleep. The view from the back is stunning.
Also the property was very conveniently located to access a good range of sights on Skye. I would highly recommend this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the kitchen, and the standard of the kitchen
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anniedoc3...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First time in Skye”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 nights at number 5 and wished we could have stayed longer. The booking process was quick and easy and we were met there by lovely Barbara who showed us around and give us some tips of what to see and do. The 3 bedrooms are spacious but the master has the most beautiful view of Loch Dunvegan and MacLeod's tables. The house was cosy, well equipped and spotless. Our boys even enjoyed the Ps2 for the short time we were there. The welcome hamper was great with wine, huge fresh eggs, delicious home-made bread, milk and tablet.

The house is near shops in the village and 3/4 mile from Dunvegan Castle. We enjoyed the 2 churches walk which starts just across the road. We visited Portree, the Fairy Pools and Glenbrittle beach. We stopped at the Oyster Shed and had a delicious seafood platter. We would recommend this house for all and we are missing the view of lovely Dunvegan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Leaving and going home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith A
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Dunvegan stay”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spent 4 nights with our two and a half year old son in this lovely, homely cottage. Great location in the north of the island for exploring. Booking process with the owners was easy and we were made to feel very welcome.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTHawks
Worplesdon
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Perfect base to explore Skye”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Barbara met us at the house and showed us how everything worked and left us with a thoughtful welcome hamper. House was big enough as only the two of us and had the bedroom at the rear of the property with super views over the loch in the morning. House is well equipped with all one needs. Bed comfy and bedding of good quality. We were lucky to have a week of sunny dry weather and enjoyed sitting in the garden with a glass of wine - in October! The living room is very comfy and we felt very relaxed and stayed in quite a few evenings. Lovely quiet spot just outside the main street in Dunvegan. The village shop has all one needs for basic cooking, plus some decent wines. Great base from which to explore NW Skye. Three Chimneys only a short taxi ride away. Portree 20 mins or so with large co-op. Fab drive over the hills on single track road rather than the main shorter route. Would recommend No. 5 for couples or a family. Thank you Barbara for a lovely relaxing stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views
Liked least: Larger bathroom downstairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing