We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner”

Greshornish House Hotel
Restaurant details
NC
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stumbled onto the Greshornish House (restaurant) thanks to Marie at the Spoons B&B. There were not many restaurants open during our recent trip (late March) and we were grateful that Neil & Rosemary were willing to let us dine with the only other couple staying that night. We explored the grounds a bit before dinner, and as with most of Skye, the views were stunning, but slightly different than other parts of the island. We were welcomed in for a glass of wine & ordered, then proceeded to the formal dining room for dinner. The server that night was very friendly, and we enjoyed a good steak and Minch Ling entrees. We then had a nice post-dinner conversation with Neil over a couple cappuccinos. We had a memorable evening, the food was very good, the wine was exceptional, and we would recommend for a nice dinner whilst on Skye.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank laurenpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    4
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst night in Scotland during our holiday”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Pretentious and snooty couple. Amateurs who are trying to run their business and failing miserably to show any kind of welcome in the Highlands. Worst experience we have had in Scotland.

My partner and myself were travelling from Wales to Scotland on our holidays. We love Scotland and try to go there every year. That time we were coming back from Harris and Lewis and stopped in Greshornish House on the way back from the ferry crossing.
Our ferry was delayed so we arrived to the place later then we expected only to be told that we had to be seated for dinner within ten minutes. We just dropped our bags in the room , which was nice but a bit shabby and needed updating, and went straight downstairs. There was mayhem in the bar as all the guests were there trying to get a drink. It appeared that the owners asked everyone to come downstairs at the same time for their convenience of serving dinner.
The menu itself was good with a lot of local produce. The portions though were very small. We got through three courses in no time and still were hungry. When the cheese board arrived we asked for " couple of more biscuits " and we got exactly what we asked for- two tiny biscuits on a tea plate between us!!! Tight!!!!
By the time we finished our dinner all the seats in the drawing room were taken so walked into the snooker room next door. It was messy and full of personal items. We felt very uncomfortable .
Breakfast was fine, no problems.
We were really looking forward to staying on the Isle of Skye and it was going to be the highlight of the holiday . However it was the most disappointing night in Scotland.
In summary our most expensive place to stay and the worst of the trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 777irena777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St-Lambert
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Way to expensive for the quality of the hotel and the restaurant. Plenty of rules to follow... No hot water before 7:30 in the morning (even thought we paid 180 pounds per night!) The room was ugly, smelly (we were just above the kitchen) with no internet access... Overall, an hotel you want to avoid at all cost!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Namoureuse007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent quality in a very cosy environment”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

All products are local, fresh and the quality is excellent. We had a rabbit liver pâté that was very soft and foamy, the linguine with scallops, langoustine and Skye's mussels were also at the top. But our favourite was definitely the plate of local cheese: from soft to strong, cow or ship, creamy or dry ... you name it. Add to all of the above a very diverse wine menu and you have a wonderful romantic dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MMDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fine dining... on the Isle of Skye”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We had tried to call at the Greshomish House Hotel 2 years ago at the end of October... but it was closed for the winter, so tried it on the off chance in May. At first the lady of the house was a little off-hand - "do you want to eat or just a drink - if it's to eat, we've just squeezed four in, so you will be lucky" - but after settling down in the comfy chairs,. she warmed & said there was room for the two of us... but there was no lamb left! Not a problem, we said we'd eat... which was a great decision...

There were only two of the three starters on, but both were fab - kedegree that my wife had... & liver parfait with oatcakes that I had, and were delicious. We both then had the "fish" main course (the lamb was off!) - as, it turned out was the salmon - but the chef russled up some fantastic dover sole, with the scallops and extras that were with the salmon... & it was delicious! Just two desserts - warm chocolate cake with chocolate sauce and ice cream (which I had - fab); and fresh fruit salad and raspberry sorbet that my wife had (so fresh - fantastic). We washed it down with a bottle of Chilean Merlot, which with bar drinks, came to £100... which seemed about right.

The husband host was lovely - very chatty & even gave us a complimentary glass of champagne, as it was our honeymoon. His wife, as above, but pleasant enough & I think just worried that our experience would not be perfect, with so many non-residents turning up on spec! The dining room was lovely, but formal & the other diners were done by 9pm, which affected the atmosphere somewhat.

All of that said, I would recommend this restaurant - the food was lovely, the service courteous & I am sure if we had pre-booked it would have been a perfect 5. The location is beautiful. For Skye to have so many special restaurants says a lot about the place, so definitely add this to your list...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greshornish House Hotel also viewed

 
Skeabost, Isle of Skye
Waternish, Isle of Skye
 

Been to Greshornish House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing