We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hosts in a lovely spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenwood Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle Ornsay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greenwood Barn
Ranked #1 of 2 Isle Ornsay B&B and Inns
Ingersoll, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly hosts in a lovely spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at Napier Cottage for two nights in June 2013 as part of a 3 week tour of England, Scotland and Wales. On our arrival, Christine welcomed us with tea and scones in their lovely sun room overlooking the sea and the mountains beyond. . . . . and stayed to visit with us in a most friendly way. Our room on the second floor was large and airy with beautiful bedding and towels and the same glorious view of the sound. There was a large, new, spotless en-suite bathroom with shower. Breakfast was delicious, plentiful, and served in the family dining room.
Ian likes to cook his full Scottish breakfast! We would hightly recommend this new, "purpose built" b&b. It is quiet, away from the tourist bustle, yet close enough to all of the interesting sites and walking trails. Napier Cottage is easy to find, being just off the road to the Mallaig ferry and right on the sea. Ian and Christine are amazing hosts . . . . .We felt like invited guests . . . . and our visit was far too short!

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and very quiet with amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had 3 wonderful days in Skye staying at Napier Cottage. Christine and Ian were so lovely and very attentive. It was as if they had thought about everything that they had ever disliked or liked about their own holiday experiences and then used these experiences when planning their own house - there was such attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PumpsieGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at Napier Cottage for 3 nights, it was warm, welcoming and just perfect. Ian and Christine were so helpful and we were able to borrow all their (very useful) maps and guidebooks which proved to be pretty useful! Our bedroom (the whole house in fact) was very luxurious, homely and had one of the comfiest beds we've ever slept in. Breakfast was always delicious. If you're visiting Skye I would highly recommend Napier Cottage.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We loved our 2 night stay here (celebrating our first wedding anniversary) with Christine and Ian who really are a lovely couple. They take the time to talk to their guests which we enjoyed and are very kind. Wish our house was like this! Great relaxing stay. Our room was very spacious, all new and very tastefully done with thoughtful touches (such as magazines, lovely toiletries and flask of fresh milk provided for tea), comfy bed and beautifully done bathroom. Recommending to our family and friends and wouldn't hesitate in returning. Thank you! :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishGirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had a brilliant time.
Hosts Christine and Ian, were welcoming.
Plenty of parking.
Views across the loch from all directions.
Room was spacious spotless and luxurious.
Breakfasts were bespoke wide ranging and sourced as locally as possible, and of excellent quality.
Superlatives apply in all respects.
We spent 2 nights here, could easily have enjoyed a longer stay.
Would recommend unreservedly.

Room Tip: Book ahead, as naturally they fill up quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We spent three lovely days on the Isle of Skye, staying at the amazing Napier Cottage.
We were made very welcome by Christine and Ian, after three days it was not just a B&B but more of visiting lovely friends. The location was to die for, lovely and relaxing.
We were at a friends wedding, which can be stressful at the best of times and lovely Christine even gave us a lift to the church in the morning. Wonderful!
Will definitely be back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Book early, this cottage will be very busy, pick a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neweeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We spent 3 nights with my mother at this place and can't praise it enough! Christine and Ian are the best hosts, welcoming and helpul.They love Skye and really are happy to show the best places to go...Breakfast is lovely, the brand new garden will grow, birds are plenty....you can go there and be part of their new life...and you won't be disapppointed

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bombay2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle Ornsay
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
3.4 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
22.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sleat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwood Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwood Barn

Property: Greenwood Barn
Address: | Duisdalemore, Isle Ornsay IV43 8QX, Scotland (Formerly Napier Cottage)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Isle Ornsay
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Isle Ornsay
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly Napier Cottage, my new B&B, Greenwood Barn, offers luxurious accommodation in spectacular surroundings on the beautiful Isle of Skye. If you want peace and luxury within spectacular surroundings, then I would love to welcome you into my home. The house's modern interior and comfortable, well equipped accommodation reflects a quality I hope you will enjoy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing