We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B, wonderful hospitality”
Review of Greenwood Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle Ornsay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greenwood Barn
Ranked #1 of 2 Isle Ornsay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed with Christine & Iain on 25 & 26 April 2014. Communications were very clear, the property is in a great location with stunning views to the mainland over the sound of Sleat. The room is very spacious and very well appointed. We ate each night at Am Proban - the pub attached to The Eilean Iarmain Hotel, This is about 2 miles away - so a five minute drive. The food was delicious - fresh langoustines and mussels, but if you are not a seafood fan they also have pasta/burgers/lamb shank on the menu. You could also eat at The Duisdale which can be walked to easily. The food here is also very good as we have stayed there in the past but it is slightly more formal and more expensive (worth it for a special occasion).
The breakfast at the B&B was great and made even better by Christine and Iain's hosting skills. We felt very welcomed to their home and would not hesitate to stay again. It is the best B&B we have stayed in ( and we have stayed in a few!). I look forward to staying there the next time.

Room Tip: All the rooms have beautiful sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at Napier Cottage for 2 nights at beginning of April 2014. We were the first guests for 2014! a warm welcomed awaited us and we were both immediately made very welcomed to their lovely home. We both could'nt find a negative issue with our stay at Napier Cottage from the comfortable en-suite Bedrooms to the delicious breakfast lovely sun lounge etc. All about this Bed and Breakfast was accommodation second to none!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at Napier Cottage for two nights in June 2013 as part of a 3 week tour of England, Scotland and Wales. On our arrival, Christine welcomed us with tea and scones in their lovely sun room overlooking the sea and the mountains beyond. . . . . and stayed to visit with us in a most friendly way. Our room on the second floor was large and airy with beautiful bedding and towels and the same glorious view of the sound. There was a large, new, spotless en-suite bathroom with shower. Breakfast was delicious, plentiful, and served in the family dining room.
Ian likes to cook his full Scottish breakfast! We would hightly recommend this new, "purpose built" b&b. It is quiet, away from the tourist bustle, yet close enough to all of the interesting sites and walking trails. Napier Cottage is easy to find, being just off the road to the Mallaig ferry and right on the sea. Ian and Christine are amazing hosts . . . . .We felt like invited guests . . . . and our visit was far too short!

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and very quiet with amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had 3 wonderful days in Skye staying at Napier Cottage. Christine and Ian were so lovely and very attentive. It was as if they had thought about everything that they had ever disliked or liked about their own holiday experiences and then used these experiences when planning their own house - there was such attention to detail.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PumpsieGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at Napier Cottage for 3 nights, it was warm, welcoming and just perfect. Ian and Christine were so helpful and we were able to borrow all their (very useful) maps and guidebooks which proved to be pretty useful! Our bedroom (the whole house in fact) was very luxurious, homely and had one of the comfiest beds we've ever slept in. Breakfast was always delicious. If you're visiting Skye I would highly recommend Napier Cottage.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We loved our 2 night stay here (celebrating our first wedding anniversary) with Christine and Ian who really are a lovely couple. They take the time to talk to their guests which we enjoyed and are very kind. Wish our house was like this! Great relaxing stay. Our room was very spacious, all new and very tastefully done with thoughtful touches (such as magazines, lovely toiletries and flask of fresh milk provided for tea), comfy bed and beautifully done bathroom. Recommending to our family and friends and wouldn't hesitate in returning. Thank you! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishGirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had a brilliant time.
Hosts Christine and Ian, were welcoming.
Plenty of parking.
Views across the loch from all directions.
Room was spacious spotless and luxurious.
Breakfasts were bespoke wide ranging and sourced as locally as possible, and of excellent quality.
Superlatives apply in all respects.
We spent 2 nights here, could easily have enjoyed a longer stay.
Would recommend unreservedly.

Room Tip: Book ahead, as naturally they fill up quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Greenwood Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwood Barn

Address: | Duisdalemore, Isle Ornsay IV43 8QX, Scotland (Formerly Napier Cottage)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Isle Ornsay
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Isle Ornsay
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My new B&B, Greenwood Barn, offers luxurious accommodation in spectacular surroundings on the beautiful Isle of Skye. If you want peace and luxury within spectacular surroundings, then I would love to welcome you into my home. The house's modern interior and comfortable, well equipped accommodation reflects a quality I hope you will enjoy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing