We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical in every way!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenwood Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle Ornsay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greenwood Barn
Ranked #1 of 2 Isle Ornsay B&B and Inns
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Magical in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Thank you Christine and Ian for a wonderful stay! We've stayed in B&Bs all over the world, and we have to say that this is the best one we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. Our hosts thought of everything - and I mean everything - to make sure that we had an enjoyable stay. Our en suite room was immaculate and so well appointed - with a beautiful view of the sound and mountains (to include the double rainbow that appeared one afternoon)! Christine loaned us maps to find our way around and recommended wonderful drives and restaurants in the local area. Breakfast was fabulous, with no detail spared (homemade jams!!!). Our only wish was that we could have stayed longer - it was so comfortable that it felt like home. If we ever find our way to Scotland again, we will definitely stay at Napier Cottage again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jarrow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We spent two wonderful nights at Napier in May 2014, why was it so good? Was it the warm and friendly welcome, the relaxed chat over a cup of tea in the conservatory, the high standard of finish to a spacious and well equipped cottage, the all you could ask for bedroom and en suite, the views, the swallows in the garden, the seals at the bottom of the garden, the easy access from the ferry, the helpful advice, the hearty breakfast or just the wonderful hospitality shown from Ian and Christine ...... It was all of that and more, we will certainly go back but for a much longer stay - thanks Ian and Christine

Room Tip: There are only two and both are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anderover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed with Christine & Iain on 25 & 26 April 2014. Communications were very clear, the property is in a great location with stunning views to the mainland over the sound of Sleat. The room is very spacious and very well appointed. We ate each night at Am Proban - the pub attached to The Eilean Iarmain Hotel, This is about 2 miles away - so a five minute drive. The food was delicious - fresh langoustines and mussels, but if you are not a seafood fan they also have pasta/burgers/lamb shank on the menu. You could also eat at The Duisdale which can be walked to easily. The food here is also very good as we have stayed there in the past but it is slightly more formal and more expensive (worth it for a special occasion).
The breakfast at the B&B was great and made even better by Christine and Iain's hosting skills. We felt very welcomed to their home and would not hesitate to stay again. It is the best B&B we have stayed in ( and we have stayed in a few!). I look forward to staying there the next time.

Room Tip: All the rooms have beautiful sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at Napier Cottage for 2 nights at beginning of April 2014. We were the first guests for 2014! a warm welcomed awaited us and we were both immediately made very welcomed to their lovely home. We both could'nt find a negative issue with our stay at Napier Cottage from the comfortable en-suite Bedrooms to the delicious breakfast lovely sun lounge etc. All about this Bed and Breakfast was accommodation second to none!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingersoll, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at Napier Cottage for two nights in June 2013 as part of a 3 week tour of England, Scotland and Wales. On our arrival, Christine welcomed us with tea and scones in their lovely sun room overlooking the sea and the mountains beyond. . . . . and stayed to visit with us in a most friendly way. Our room on the second floor was large and airy with beautiful bedding and towels and the same glorious view of the sound. There was a large, new, spotless en-suite bathroom with shower. Breakfast was delicious, plentiful, and served in the family dining room.
Ian likes to cook his full Scottish breakfast! We would hightly recommend this new, "purpose built" b&b. It is quiet, away from the tourist bustle, yet close enough to all of the interesting sites and walking trails. Napier Cottage is easy to find, being just off the road to the Mallaig ferry and right on the sea. Ian and Christine are amazing hosts . . . . .We felt like invited guests . . . . and our visit was far too short!

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and very quiet with amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had 3 wonderful days in Skye staying at Napier Cottage. Christine and Ian were so lovely and very attentive. It was as if they had thought about everything that they had ever disliked or liked about their own holiday experiences and then used these experiences when planning their own house - there was such attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PumpsieGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at Napier Cottage for 3 nights, it was warm, welcoming and just perfect. Ian and Christine were so helpful and we were able to borrow all their (very useful) maps and guidebooks which proved to be pretty useful! Our bedroom (the whole house in fact) was very luxurious, homely and had one of the comfiest beds we've ever slept in. Breakfast was always delicious. If you're visiting Skye I would highly recommend Napier Cottage.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle Ornsay
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
3.4 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
22.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sleat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwood Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwood Barn

Property: Greenwood Barn
Address: | Duisdalemore, Isle Ornsay IV43 8QX, Scotland (Formerly Napier Cottage)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Isle Ornsay
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Isle Ornsay
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly Napier Cottage, my new B&B, Greenwood Barn, offers luxurious accommodation in spectacular surroundings on the beautiful Isle of Skye. If you want peace and luxury within spectacular surroundings, then I would love to welcome you into my home. The house's modern interior and comfortable, well equipped accommodation reflects a quality I hope you will enjoy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing