We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Romantic chic seaside cottage - stunning location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Anchorage

The Anchorage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Anchorage
Sitting room with woodburning stove Kitchen with views as have all the rooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The Anchorage
Sitting room with woodburning stove
Kitchen with views as have all the rooms
Fishing boats always passing
Anchorage hall Skye
The view from the main bedroom (all the rooms have similar views over the water)
Sitting room detail
Otters by the house
Sun room over the water
Enjoy a glass of wine by the house!
Wonderful summer days on Skye
The main bedroom
The harbour
Children with a highland cow
This photo was taken from the house!
Otters by the house
Seal outside the house!
Castle Moil is a nice half hour round walk from the house- just beware the tide!
Deserted Beaches
The house and castle behind
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kyleakin, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
OGD2012
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic chic seaside cottage - stunning location”
Reviewed 19 August 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic time and were blown away by the setting and romance of the cottage. Inside we enjoyed panoramic views and stunning sunsets everyday from the couch! The cottage is decorated with a romantically chic seaside theme and really cosy and clean. We absolutely loved the position, perched on the rocks where we enjoyed drinks every evening watching otters and a seal go by. The kitchen was gorgeous too and incredibly well equipped, with an Aga and Nespresso machine & everything you could want. Make sure you use Richard's recommendations, saved us a lot of time and made it an unforgettable week. Can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from every window
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2012
Hi Owain - Many thanks for providing such a glowing report! I'm glad you loved the house as much as we do! You're welcome back any time of course, and we'll pop an otter on the barbie for you!
Cheers,
Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndnjnkn...
wales
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ideal base location”
Reviewed 21 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is in the ideal position to use as your base when visiting Skye. The sun room give you the greatest position to watch the sun go down over the Skye bridge and the ships go by. We sat with our coffee in the morning and our wine in the evenings, just watching the world go by. The cottage itself has everything you would need for your stay, I think Richard has thought of everything ! Games and books, everythings there for your cooking needs. There's plenty of space for a family and a nice little garden to go sit, when the sun's out. The bedrooms are large and comfortable, the bathroom has all that's required, but I would fit a blind myself ! We fully intend to come to the cottage and Skye again in the years to come. Well done Richard, nice to be taken care of so well. The phone call on our arrival checking everything was ok was a nice touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: The drive up from Wales
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darmarDM
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stunning Views & Wildlife”
Reviewed 5 July 2012 for a stay in April 2012

My Wife and I stayed for a week at the end of April / early May.
The owner made the booking very easy and called us to make sure all was well shortly after we arrived which was a nice touch.
The weather was stunning, which made our whole stay extra special and we enjoyed a drink on the rocks overlooking the water every evening. This was made all the better when the rest of the Country was in need of a boat!! It's usually the reverse.
The location of the house is as good as you can get and the sunsets even better. The house has everything you could want, but it is as the owner describes, a family home and is lived in. Some areas of the kitchen and bathroom are a little tired and yes the shower could do with a change, but how often do you see a seal when taking your morning ablutions!! Not to mention 2 porposes when making Breakfast!
The rest of the property is well furnished and equipt as described.
We have a VW Passat and the parking was a little tight, but do it once and you get the hang of it.
We have stayed in many properties over the years and if the location was not so good, I would have felt this one was a little over priced, but given the whole package its about right.
We would love to visit again and we'd live there at the drop of a hat, given the chance.
Read the owners description as it is accurate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and wildlife
Liked least: If I'm pushed, the shower, but a minor thing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KittyHG2
Harrogate
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 1 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

This was our first trip to Skye, and what a find!
The location is 5 star. The sun lounge looks out over the Skye bridge, and every evening we enjoyed the beautiful sunset, glass in hand!
The cottage is extremely well equipped with everything one could possibly need for a comfortable stay. I LOVED the Aga!
The owner communicated perfectly ( we made a very last- minute booking), and everything went without a hitch.
However, for a house intended for two couples, the fact that there is only one bathroom / loo, and a rather unsatisfactory electric shower, loses the property one star.
Also, although the beds are very comfy, with lovely pillows, sparkling clean linen etc, they are rather short! My boyfriend is 6ft 3, and, as both beds have wooden 'feet' made for troublesome sleeping. We resorted to sleeping separately, so that he could sprawl diagonally!
Don't let this minor point put anyone off, however, because apart from those two points, the property is just lovely., and I highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sun lounge
Liked least: The bath room
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2012
Hi Liz - many thanks for your review and comments - all noted, although its a shame we "lost a star" for only having one bathroom when it is actually advertised as a 2 bed, 1 bath house! do please come again some day by which time we will no doubt have changed the shower! Kind regards, Richard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S P
Dunblane, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“great location, relaxing stay”
Reviewed 20 April 2012 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

This is my second visit to the Anchorage and I can recommend it without hesitation.

Perfectly well equipped, outstanding views across the Kyle and very professional, responsive owner. The clear indications of their own family use give the place a very friendly atmosphere, without being over-personalised, and I think the extras this provides (games, books and kitchen bits & bobs) are a positive bonus.

Lovely little garden, with the added benefit of a sea gate leading onto a small rocky outcrop where you can happily have your sundowner or sit with a steaming cuppa and watch the night sky as the waves lap contentedly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Aga and sun lounge
Liked least: parking space
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARI l
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: La vue
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Anchorage. I have translated your review below and I trust this is accurate!:
After spending a week at The Anchorage, we are delighted with this rental. We highly recommend to visit island of Skye and its surroundings. With a little patience, we have seen repeatedly seals right under our windows. The cottage is cozy and nicely decorated with all amenities nearby. The explanations given by the owner are comprehensive and detailed.
Frankly if we return to this beautiful country, we will return surely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo1965
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
Google Translation

Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Thanks so much for your review Bobo and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the Anchorage. Please feel free to come back in the future.
Kind regards, Richard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$658
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing