We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Heather Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kyleakin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Had a great time at the White Heather Hotel, well maintained B&B, clean room with great breakfast. Perfect and charming host. Sleep quality however could have been better. Pillows were a bit to tall and hard for my taste, had some so-so nights because of it.

If you go to the isle of Skye and plan to do some hiking and explore the region, I would recommend staying in or near Portree instead of Kyleakin, for it is a much more central place!

Cheers!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonlessard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at the White Heather hotel. We have mixed views about our stay.
Gillian is really helpful and friendly and is the perfect host. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice, lovely yoghurts, fruit, cereals, cooked breakfast - we cannot fault it.
However, we were disappointed with our room. It is so small with old-fashioned wallpaper and carpets. The furniture is a bit dilapidated and the bathroom was all pine and it all felt a bit "tired". We had just about enough room to walk round the double bed, which was a smallish double as well.
We had a nice view over the harbour, which was a plus point. However, if you are staying in the Isle of Skye for a few days and want to explore, Kyleakin is too far out. Portree is a central point (30 miles away) and we wished that we had stayed in Portree as we kept driving up the same bit of road.
However, all in all, we had an enjoyable stay. The Taste of India in Kyleakin is very good - big portions so don't over order like we did. The Isle of Skye is beautiful but you do need to allow for long journeys as everything seems to take twice as long to get to.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a nice hotel, very basic, but clean and comfortable. The hostess, Gillian, is outgoing and very helpful, with some fun stories of local history. Although the town of Kyleakin isn't much to look at, the pubs are good and the location is fine for day trips around Skye. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were traveling through and decided on this place based on reviews. The rooms are cozy but certainly very comfortable and had all the amenities. It was such a peaceful place to stay. We enjoyed the view of the harbor. Gillian is an amazing host. She made us feel so at home and was willing to help us out with anything. it really felt like you were staying with a favorite relative. You could tell she was passionate about the area although not growing up there and had a weather of information. Breakfast was fabulous. Her dinner recommendation was spot-on and my husband thought that dinner was one of the best seafood dishes he had ever had. If you want to feel like a home away from home, this is the place to stay. We traveled the country via rail and the station was right on the other side of the bridge and a short taxi ride.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ril1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Gillian is a wonderful hostess---we really enjoyed her hospitality. The town of Kyleakin is charming. We enjoyed walking in the area. Our room was was small but the hotel has two very nice living rooms. There is also a kitchenette, a study with an Apple computer and a washer/dryer. They have thought of everything. The breakfast room had a view and breakfast was great. We had a very good dinner at Saucy Mary's. It was a very pleasant 2-night stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Good location by the harbour- no restaurant but several choices in walking distance. 5 mins to kyle of lochalsh, 30 to portree, buses from Glasgow/Inverness/Uig/Portree stop nearby. Room reasonable size, comfy bed, TV with free view. Great breakfast and Gilliam is a mine of information on touring options

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank martyn1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Brilliant hotel. This is the second time I've stayed here and both times have been outstanding. Gillian booked restaurants for us and was very helpful. Great breakfast, thanks Craig. Kitchenette was very useful. Rooms are tidy and up to date. Close to the mainland or perfect for sightseeing in Skye.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank yzfdunc .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
19.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,099 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
20.2 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
410 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
635 reviews
19.9 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Heather Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Heather Hotel

Address: White Heather Hotel | The Harbour, Kyleakin IV41 8PL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kyleakin
Price Range: £64 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — White Heather Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at our cosy family run hotel, nestled on the harbourside in Kyleakin, by the Skye Bridge. Both lounges, breakfast room & most bedrooms enjoy harbour, Castle Moil, mountain views or Loch Alsh, mainland views. We have 3 Standard rooms & 2 *NEW* Superior rooms, a Family room & 1 Single room, all ensuite. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your White Heather Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Heather Hotel Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing