We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, friendly hosts, wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Heather Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kyleakin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Believe all the reviews! Gillian is as friendly and helpful as advertised. Does she ever have an "off" day? It's all the little touches that made our 2-day stay special. Biscuits and hot chocolate in the room, laminated maps of the island for guests to use, laundry facilities and drying rack, hints for touring Skye, candies in the lounge, calling in reservations for us for dinner ... I could go on. This was the most affordable place we stayed on our vacation, and yet one of the best.

We were in the family room and the room itself was comfortable, if not spectacular. Our breakfast was very good and there is a beautiful view of the harbor from the dining room.
The hotel's location on the water is gorgeous. We looked for otters without success, but on our last night were treated to a beautful double rainbow over the water. A perfect end to a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed several nights at White Heather & you can't beat the friendly service & attention of the innkeeper. If we had a need for anything, we just had to ask & she'd try to help. The breakfast there is so good that we kept overeating! Our room was tiny, but very clean & quiet. This is a very comfortable & friendly place to stay as a base for traveling around Skye. Gillian gave us many great directions & suggestions for our sightseeing trips. The little harbor where the hotel is located is so charming & picturesque. We enjoyed walking along the shore around the village for peaceful relaxation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeathMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at the White Heather after reading the fantastic reviews on Trip Advisor. I'm so glad that I checked the reviews first as Gillian gave us a very warm welcome and I think they have thought about almost everything to make your stay more comfortable.

Facilities included an iMac, wireless, games/books/DVDs, DVD players in family rooms, access to a kitchen & two sitting rooms. Breakfast was lovely too.

I would definitely recommend it to anyone wishing to visit Skye!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denny150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We immediately felt at home at this hotel. Gillian is wonderful, she has a lovely gentle nature and obviously loves her job. The location of the hotel is brilliant, right on the waterfront at Kyleakin, within walking distance to restaurants (can recommend Saucy Mary's) There is off street parking for guests. At first glance the hotel is a bit dated, but that just adds to the charm of it. Although the bedroom was smallish, (room 6) there was a view of the water and everything was provided for us. They even have a guest kitchen downstairs with microwave, jug, sink etc and a washer/dryer which guests can use for free. (Gillian even provides washing powder) The ensuite bathroom is small but clean, with plenty of hot water. The free wi-fi works perfectly from the bedroom. Breakfast is in the roomy dining room which overlooks the water. We were served a delicious breakfast and Gillian was the perfect host, even giving us some hints for our travel plans for the day. Thank you Gillian, you made our stay on the Isle of Skye MOST ENJOYABLE. We will certainly return here if we are back this way.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Us2Aussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Stayed for only one night as that's all the place had available. Would have stayed much longer if possible. Was so easy to get to as it is just over the Skye bridge from Kyle of Lochalsh. Gillian greeted us and showed us around. The B&B had superior amenities in cluding free Wifi Internet, a DIY kitchenette with free milk, washer, dryer in kitchenette, tea and cookies in the room, large family sitting room stocked with books, maps and kids' toys. Breakfast was truly home made Scottish fare and delish. A very clean B&B with beautifully appointed rooms. Location is unbeatable as it is right on the harbour and has a great view/easy hiking access to Castle Moil ruins. I wouldn't stay anywhere else on that part of Skye...a real gem!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAtoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

The four of us had a great time on Skye and the White Heather was the key ingredient. We all agreed that this is a special place, friendly, clean, good food and beautiful views. Gillian manages to run things as though you were part of a family, rather than paying guests.

Many thanks to Gillian and also to the local taxi, who not only ran us back and forward to restaurants but suggested the best route around the island to see the most stunning scenery.

ps - Gillian, hope you manage to hang on to that great old bath.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJS43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

me and my wife spent a week on skye for our honeymoon in june 2010 and if you are going to skye or the kyle of lochalsh area i have to say it is the only place to stay im sure there are some nice alternatives but gillian and craig made our stay faultless nothing was to much trouble for them the hotel was spotless warm and welcoming had evrything we needed delicious breakfast every morning to set us up for the day , i very much doubt you could go anywhere an find more welcoming accomodating hard working hosts,the veiw from the hotel is amazing and is well situated wether you want to go into the island further or go onto the mainland................................jamie and helen goodall

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silentjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
19.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,106 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
20.2 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
410 reviews
19.9 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
203 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Heather Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Heather Hotel

Address: White Heather Hotel | The Harbour, Kyleakin IV41 8PL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kyleakin
Price Range: £64 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — White Heather Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at our cosy family run hotel, nestled on the harbourside in Kyleakin, by the Skye Bridge. Both lounges, breakfast room & most bedrooms enjoy harbour, Castle Moil, mountain views or Loch Alsh, mainland views. We have 3 Standard rooms & 2 *NEW* Superior rooms, a Family room & 1 Single room, all ensuite. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your White Heather Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Heather Hotel Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing