We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Met all requirements”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kyleakin
Wishaw
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Met all requirements”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a low cost hotel that caters for coach parties, which we were. 49 people and a driver on a walking holiday. Check in and out were very quick. My wife and I had a room which was small, clean and had a fully function bathroom - all we needed. The restaurant food was what we were looking for - good dinners and breakfasts. Not Fine Dining but good. Beer in bar not so good superb local real ales and the bar had beer from Manchester!

Room Tip: Newer room are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chasmac_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    80
    140
    121
    155
See reviews for
102
204
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed one night, got a lovely welcome from reception. Felt the chairs in the lobby could be a lot more comfortable.
Room was pretty basic, good selection on tv channels and clean. Breakfast was cold but an average selection.
Overall a fine stay could of been cheaper though!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocodooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The staff are all excellent hard working apart from the Barman..Brian.All he seems to do is moan about everything and does not appear to be fit for purpose.I found the locals to be the very opposite to the disgruntled barman and were full of banter and pleasant. The manager was very helpfull at all times.

Room Tip: Avoid public bar when this barman is working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edinburghladdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a goos stay at the kings arms
room was a little bit tired and could do with a tidy up but all ok
electric heater worked well
Evening menu was not that good and quite pricy
The breakfast was really good although the eastern european waitress did seem mean with the coffee
breakfast food was good with a good choice
good parking at the back of the hotel lots of space

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chesmetalwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at many hotels throughout the uk this was one of the worst. Not value for money. Unhelpful staff,breakfast time is not negotiable even if you have paid for it and require it a little earlier,luckily i was only staying for one night. I will not be using again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kyleakin hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

After reading reports I was very wary but have to say our group were really pleased with this hotel.We were a bus full of rambles on Skye to walk.Staff so friendly,food good and plentiful,rooms clean and beds comfy.Beautiful views from front bedrooms.Give this hotel a try.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myra64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Arrived to be greated with if you want an evening meal you will nead to book now as we have a coach trip coming in! (The hotel does appear to cater for these as we were told later there could be three or more in the building at once. Foyer all right nice fire in the corner, into corridor leading to rooms, over whelming smell of cig smoke, backdoor to carpark wedged open so all the smoke from smoking customers blows back into the premises. Upstairs, into corridor large wooden cupboard on wall at head hight fight passed this with luggage, into room lock takes a bit of doing, What a bedroom, new curtains and deccent hair drier, thread bare carpet, chunk of mirror missing, bedhead with shoul have two bedside tables one side cut off to leave access to bathroom, windowsill pooling condensation and insects, eventually brute force and ignorance opens this a few inches, bathrooms winow will not open at all and no ventilation and God do we nead some from the small of disinfectant, bathroom so small not even a loo roll holder they have to be balanced on the cistren. Tea and Coffee making facilities OK. View from widow, grey walls cars and dirty net curtains of staff accomodation. Need a drink after this - oops lounge bar doesn't open till after 6pm head for public bar, Get to public bar through various corridors - by we thought the smell of disinfectant in our room was bad, eyes were nearly running as we jetted past the public toilets, reached the bar to find a table already taken, a snooker tables and some seats at the bar, ordered our drinks, barman suggest to another member of staff that it would be good to open the lounge bar so we went through there. Better but cold as the witches proverbial not even a stuffed head on the wall to break up the room. Went for dinner much better staff great food adequate, breakfast the same

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
6.8 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
30.6 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
34.3 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
33.3 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Hotel

Property: Kings Arms Hotel
Address: King Street, Kyleakin IV41 8PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kyleakin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kings Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the Skye Bridge in the village of Kyleakin; the Kings Arms Hotel offers views across the Kyle of Lochalsh to the mainland. The Kings Arms is one of the oldest remaining hotels on the island dating back to the 1600s, and has retained its traditional Scottish atmosphere of great hospitality and warmth. All rooms are en suite and provide home from home comforts. The Hotel offers the ideal location from which to tour the Isle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Kyleakin
Hotel Kings Arms
Kings Arms Hotel Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing