We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DON'T!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kyleakin
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“DON'T!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

A terrible hotel!! Very tatty, threadbare carpets, fittings cheap, dated & need of urgent upgrade. Bed very uncomfortable with pillows which felt as if they had been stuffed with cardboard. Walls were very thin & we could hear everyone walking about on the squeaky floors. My sons room had a massive damp patch under the window & his shower tray leaked. The bar felt like an airport waiting lounge & I was extremely shocked to see water dripping through the ceiling into two plastic tubs in the middle of the floor (& this was the week BEFORE the hurricane!)
Average breakfast with little choice & poorly cooked food. Definitely not what I expect from a £90 room.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelahewlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    80
    141
    121
    156
See reviews for
102
204
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stornoway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. The reception staff I was met with each time were extremely unhelpful - if you do not want to work with public don't work on a hotel reception. Our hotel shower was not working so we reported this on the day but nothing was done about it. This hotel is far to expensive we stayed in a bed and breakfast the next night and there was no comparison.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kyleakin hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sweden
Level Contributor
364 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I had to stay at this hotel as I traveled to the Isle of Skye during peek season and I left my reservations for the very last minute.

The positive point about this hotel was its convenient location, as it is very close from the bridge to the mainland. I do not have any complaints about the staff. However, the main negative side of this hotel is the standard of its facilities.

The entire hotel needs an urgent renovation. For example, the sound isolation in the rooms is terrible, the furniture and carpets look old/dirty and the beds need to be replaced as well. Given all these issues this hotel offers very poor value, given the rates they charge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Avoid like the plague! Far far too overpriced for what you get. I've stayed in nicer hostels or 1 star hotels in Thailand!!! It's meant to be a bespoke hotel, they seriously need to learn what bespoke means!! Our bedding was dirty, the bathroom wasn't the best and had mould. Our friends shower didn't work and bathroom was mouldy and paint etc flaking everywhere. The reception staff and management weren't very helpful or friendly. I would rather sleep in my car than stay there again. Stay anywhere else than here.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed at the Kings Arms Hotel on the lovely Isle of Skye for 3 nights on an easy-breaks, dinner, bed and breakfast deal. Check in was quick, room was good size with a nice bathroom, all very clean. Dinner and breakfast were delicious. The staff were all very friendly. Weather was sunshine and showers but didn't dampen our holiday and the views were spectacular, would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are definitely larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Up Top
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was really disappointed with my stay here. When I checked-in, the woman behind the counter seemed put-out by my arrival (at 5pm) and she was anything but hospitable. I had a shower as soon as I got into my room only to find that the shower-head-holster was broken and I had to make do as best I could. I reported the fault at reception as I headed out for the evening but it still hadn’t been fixed by the time I returned and I had to make do with the same arrangement in the morning. I complained about the shower in the morning but my concerns were only met with rudeness (this time from a different receptionist) and no apology was offered. I’m no stranger to staying in budget hotels (although most of them are considerably less than £91 pn) and I can live with a dodgy shower & the wifi not working but what bothers me most about this place is the attitude of the staff. I very rarely put negative reviews on Trip Advisor and I am not easily offended but as my OP suggests “if you can't be hospitable, don't work in hospitality!”

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuicideSheepdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullibody
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We arrived around six pm and got checked in quickly and efficiently. Our room was at the rear looking down into the car park. The room was clean and tidy, the bed very comfortable and the shower worked very well with lots of steaming hot water. TV in room, kettle and tea and coffee supplies and four nice clean towels in the bathroom. This hotel has had a few negative comments recently so we were a little apprehensive before our arrival, no worries, it could do with a lick of paint and a touch up perhaps, but we found it well suited for purpose, plus the cheery staff in the dining room and the excellent breakfast really were first class.Enjoyed our stay and would have no worries about using again.

Room Tip: The views from the front rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thesandyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
6.8 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
30.6 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
34.3 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
33.3 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Hotel

Property: Kings Arms Hotel
Address: King Street, Kyleakin IV41 8PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kyleakin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kings Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the Skye Bridge in the village of Kyleakin; the Kings Arms Hotel offers views across the Kyle of Lochalsh to the mainland. The Kings Arms is one of the oldest remaining hotels on the island dating back to the 1600s, and has retained its traditional Scottish atmosphere of great hospitality and warmth. All rooms are en suite and provide home from home comforts. The Hotel offers the ideal location from which to tour the Isle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Kyleakin
Hotel Kings Arms
Kings Arms Hotel Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing