We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet place to stay in”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyleakin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skye Backpackers Hostel
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I stayed in this hostel for two nights as it was part of a trip to the Isle of Skye. We were a group of 17 people so we had the place for ourselves. I stayed in a room with four other girls. The place isn't big but it was clean and I slept well (no noise). We had free wifi and a good breakfast alongside with free tea, coffee and hot chocolate. It is located in a small village so there isn't much to do by night but you can always have dinner and a few drinks at the local pub. Overall, I would recommend it for solo travellers.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qwake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel! Kyleakin is a lovely village and my room at Skye Backpackers offered the most gorgeous view. The staff are very friendly and happy to help everyone out. The place was really clean and just a really good atmosphere! I've recommended this hostel many times to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This is such a fantatsic little hostel! It has a very homey feel and the communal kitchen and lounge are great places to meet up with fellow travellers.
The staff really know their stuff and I have visited some fantastic out-of-the-way places as a result of their reccommendations.
The place is clean and the beds are very comfy. It's easy to get around the island from the village and the staff are super friendly.

Highly reccommend Skye Backpackers to anyone looking for a good clean place to stay with lots of fun!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bec P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The visitors at the hostel were more friendly than the staff and the place wasn't clean at all. As soon as I entered after having an 8 hour journey there was nobody at the reception although I was assured there would be someone to welcome me. I was most dissapointed by this. When I finally got into my dorm I noticed the carpet was very dirty with stains as if it had never been cleaned. To top this off when I went to sleep, to my horror there were a few small pubic hairs on the sheets and a long ginger strand of hair near where I was meant to rest my head. I was so disgusted by everything that I had to sleep fully clothed using my own small blanket. I found the staff most unhelpful and unaproachable and will not ever go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I booked a room with three single beds for me and my parents to stay overnight. The receptionist seemed nice and charged me £60 for the room but when we got there, which was a 4 hour drive she told me that she accidentally booked the room already but gave us a small dorm instead. This was absolutely ridiculous as she didn't even call me to say that a mistake had been made. On top of this when I asked for a discount for the change she said she couldn't, bearing in mind that the price per person for a dorm is £18 and she was charging me and my parents £20 each for the dorm. The staff are very unfriendly and the location is terrible as it's an hour at least to anything worth seeing. I have been to Portree Independent Hostel before and wish I had gone there instead, but I saw the ratings on this website and was sucked in. Basically a rip off hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager026, Manager at Skye Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

We apologise again for this unfortunate mix up, however, the 4 bed dorm (with a view over the water) was provided as a private room and for price comparison, the dorm is more expensive than the triple room and as such, no discount was offered. Unfortunately, because the room was booked only hours before arrival, we were unable to contact you to let you know. Reception apologised for the mistake at the time and were available for any questions, advice and support during your stay which appeared to be appreciated at the time. Sincere apologies again for the mistake and I urge you to voice any concerns you have during your stay to allow people to provide solutions to your problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I came to Skye backpackers from the mallaig ferry- they were easy to get to using public bus and the hostel is a 90 second walk from the bus stop...very easy to find. The ladies at the front desk are wonderful and helped me rearrange my plans once I realized my original plans weren't doable- super helpful and resourceful! The bar next door was amazing fun both nights I went: great food with live music was offered at very reasonable prices with a fun and friendly atmosphere! I stayed in the converted caravan which was great! I would probably even choose this option first next time I go...

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pmmartiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We had a great welcoming. Staff was awesome. But the room (double room) was not that impressive. The bed was not really a bed, but rather a mattress on top of some strange wooden construction. The was an in-room sink, but toilets and baths were shared with the other guests on the floor. These are not flaws as such, but the price was actually higher here compared to our en-suite room in Backpackers Plus in Oban (which offered hotel-like facilities). Judging from this, this hostel is quite expensive, depending on what you require or are looking for.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saenjaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
6.8 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
614 reviews
11.7 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Saucy Marys Lodge
Saucy Marys Lodge
#3 of 3 in Kyleakin
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glenbrittle Youth Hostel
Glenbrittle Youth Hostel
#1 of 1 in Glenbrittle
41 reviews
6.8 mi away
Broadford Youth Hostel
Broadford Youth Hostel
#4 of 6 in Broadford
73 reviews
19.9 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#8 of 23 in Portree
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skye Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skye Backpackers Hostel

Address: Village Green, Kyleakin IV41 8PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Kyleakin
Price Range: £23 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isle of Skye is situated on the west coast of mainland Scotland, and is the largest and best known of the Inner Hebrides. One of Europe's most dramatic and haunting lands, words can do little justice to describe Skye's awesome beauty. You simply have to see it for yourselves. Skye Backpackers sits in the picturesque fishing village of Kyleakin, skirted by mountains and sea. It's a small, cosy and friendly hostel with loads of character and great staff who are committed to ensuring you make the most of your time on the island. Our accommodation is comprised of 2 Double Rooms, 1 Twin Room, 1 Triple Room & 5 Dorm rooms that vary in size between 4-8 beds per room. We also have 2 caravans in our garden which can accommodate up to 20 people. All of our beds come complete with full bed linen and 2 pillows so there is no need to bring your sleeping bag. We have a great fully equipped self catering kitchen, a sunny dining area and the famous Groove Lounge with a real coal fire, loads of books and games and spectacular seaside views. Take some time to explore the island's haunted castle ruins; feel the mysterious presence of the legendary faeries in tranquil glens, waterfalls and mountain pools; visit whiskey distilleries and sample local beers and ales; take a relaxing stroll through the countryside or boldly ascend a mighty mountain. There’s plenty to see and do around the Isle of Skye so come and ask us for ideas – we’re a friendly bunch!We will give you all of our ‘Top Tips’ on our fantastic island and will even give you a FREE MAP. Possibly the BEST way to explore Skye is onboard our magical, mystical day tour with MacBackpackers. You can experience all of the best parts, learn all about the history & mythology and even hike up the dramatic hills for amazing views. Day tours start & finish from our hostel, cost £29 and can be booked at reception.(subject to availability) There are endless Cycling, Walking & Kayaking Routes literally on our doorstep. If you have your own bike or kayak with you it can be stored in our shed and we have bike wash facilities in our garden. If the weather catches you out, you can hire a pair of wellies and buy waterproof ponchos from reception. The hostel reception is open from 7am - 12 noon and then from 5pm - 10pm. If you arrive in the afternoon feel free to leave your bags, help yourselves to a cup of tea and we will check you in between 5pm-10pm. We look forward to welcoming you to Skye and to our cosy wee hostel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skye Backpackers Hostel Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing