We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast in Scotland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rainbow View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyleakin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rainbow View B&B
Ranked #1 of 11 Kyleakin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best breakfast in Scotland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is everything you would expect from a B&B. I arrived after a long days drive from Aberdeen. I hadn't booked anything. Kyleakin is a small town and a dead end which means it's quiet. It's a great place to explore the Isle of Skye from, especially as the drive back to Edinburgh is much shorter from there. The pub is literally next door and there are great views from the rooms. Chris (the owner) was immediately welcoming and full of dry British humour. He had just changed the heater in my room so it hadn't been on but soon warmed up and was more than cosy. Everything was clean and neat. The decor is a bit outdated but the bed was comfy and the room was huge by other B&B standards I had stayed in. Wifi was a welcome inclusion as well. I have to say what makes this a standout stay is the owner. Chris literally could not do enough to make me feel welcome which is much appreciated when your travelling alone. He was happy to welcome me into his lounge and chat. Scamp (the dog) is always up for a pat as well. On top of this his local knowledge is enviable when you want to know what to see in this stunning part of Scotland. And the guy can cook! If it fits I highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzzyBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
70
87
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This B AND B is so comfortable and attractive , close to transportation and cosy pubs.
The breakfast was outstanding with fresh eggs every day. Chris does a great job! I was able to go hiking over the Heather clad mountains , walk by the lochs and come home later to a warm welcome and eventually a good nights sleep . This B and B really makes you feel that your in the Highlands but with all the home comforts.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIW0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

we had a wonderful time in Skye... we slept in this beautiful BnB, just in front of that marvelous sunset under the bridge. everything was nice, the rooms were clean and well equipped.
the breakfast was GREAT.
nice place, Gabriella, from Rome Italia

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover , Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

What nice people and dog to stay with. Scamp retired himself from sheep gathering and greets all with equal affection. Chris and Jana are very welcoming-- just try and get her to make you a fruit or chocolate muffin! They are superb. With a dry sense of humour Chris at first seems difficult to appreciate but more hospitable people were not found in our three weeks in Bonnie Scotland --- on tour. Even presented us with a card and box of chocs for our wedding anniversary--- 1966 was a good year.
Thank you Chris, Jana and of course Scamp.

Room Tip: face the sea for a morning view you will love.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

When we booked we were so excited at the sound of this place but the reality was very different. First, there was no breakfast on offer at all so we had to go to the (awful) hotel across the road for it. The owner had mentioned on the phone when we booked that there were hens (that our daughter apparently could collect eggs from) and otters and other nice things around the property to see. None of that was apparent or mentioned. No WiFi (or at least nobody told us there was any). Worst thing though was that during our entire stay of 3 nights nobody actually made up the beds or cleaned our room. That's a first in all my travelling experience. All in all quite a sad end to our holiday in Scotland.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Vertiginous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We ended up staying here by accident but it was a brilliant accident. Chris could not have been more helpful or accomodating . Thank you for a great stay. Loved the ducklings.
Comments from daughters "very nice indeed. Best B and B I have ever stayed in in my years" " very homely and cosy. Really happy here"

Room Tip: We had the top right bedroom with a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Friendly landlord running this nice, clean and homish B&B at a great location in Kyleakin, with a view of the bay and mainland. Really good breakfast at nearby Kings Arms Hotel included in price. Parking just outside. Good WI-FI. Perfect when you just arrive at Isle of Skye to relax and plan your next moves.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
9.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
19.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
30.6 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.4 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
8.4 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
25.1 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#2 of 6 in Skeabost
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow View B&B

Property: Rainbow View B&B
Address: Kyleside, Kyleakin IV41 8PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kyleakin
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rainbow View B&B Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing