We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big clean rooms, bit overpriced”
Review of Saucy Marys Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saucy Marys Lodge
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a haggis tour..20 pound a night is way too much for this hostel but I figure you don't have much choice on Skye...rooms were clean and pretty big, sink in room...showers were ok...no breakfast, kitchen is tiny and no real shops on the island..pub is good if you like seafood everything else is average...it's got most things you need but none of the extras...if I wasn't on a haggis if pay 10 pound for the room

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Accommodation was hard to find in the Skye area so this backpacker hotel sufficed. It was clean but quite dated, noisy and poorly equipped. No breakfast supplied and really poor wifi but it is in a remote area. Friendly shopkeeper/hosts but the cost was too high for what we received.

Room Tip: All rooms would be fairly noisy - just take earplugs and its not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank judith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed two nights in a 'deluxe ensuite' room which we discovered was in fact next door to the main lodge and described as a 'b and b', although it was in fact bed minus the breakfast.

We booked to stay here as it is a hostel and we would have kitchen facilities. When we checked in however we had to ask where the kitchen was as the proprietor was keen only to tell us about the food on offer in the onsite pub/restaraunt. The kitchen was located in the main lodge and was tiny - there were literally two chairs for people to sit and eat.

Our room was comfortable, although small. The sheets were clean but very worn and stained and the whole place needed some tlc. It was hardly 'deluxe'.

The walls were paper thin and we could hear everything going on in the next door room. When our neighbours came back drunk at 3 am we were therefore woken.

The foreign cleaning staff were really nice and seemed quite thorough so the room was clean and it was good that we were given fresh towels each day.

On the whole I think the lodge was on the expensive side at nearly £60 per night.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swansea_Girl_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We actually stayed in the b&b next door because we had requested a private room. It was small but had everything you need including a tv, toiletries and tea and coffee. The bedding was beautiful, I might buy some. The only problem was the heat and the fact that the room next doors bathroom was just through the wall from my head and the occupants got up at 6.30am and were talking loudly.
The pub was great, lovely food and on the table 3 minutes after we ordered.
The location is great for visiting skye

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kata_lina_willcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here for one night and found it to be pretty average. Stayed in an eight bed dorm and found there was plenty of space and room felt clean and beds were comfy. Food seemed a bit overpriced. There were plenty of showers but wasn't too pleasant as water kept changing temperature to extremes. Other people were complaining if this too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaclyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here as part of bus tour group. A good place with clean rooms and shower. They have a convenience store in the lodge itself. Small kitchen good enough if you want to make something. Amazing location, close to a withered castle which offers great views. The pub is nice and they serve good beer. Overall a good experience and good wifi connection as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Went here for dinner and drinks while staying in Kyleakin for a night on a 3 day bus tour. Tour guide Andrew told us to go here for our dinner, he said it has the best food in the village.

You order and pay at the bar,and they give you a wooden spoon with a number on it and then when the food is ready come and look for you.Food was good, took alittle bit for it to come, think there was some mix up in the kitchen with a few orders, but no big deal.... we were on holidays and not rushed. The place was packed when we arrived, we stayed for a few hours and when we left the place was still full of people.

Definitely would go back if in the area again,only reason I didn't give it 5 star's was because of the mix up in the kitchen and the amount of time it took to get our food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gelaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
0.9 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
369 reviews
0.5 mi away
MacKinnon Country House Hotel
19.9 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#8 of 26 in Portree
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Witchwood House
Witchwood House
#10 of 11 in Kyleakin
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blairdhu House
Blairdhu House
#4 of 11 in Kyleakin
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#6 of 11 in Kyleakin
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saucy Marys Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saucy Marys Lodge

Address: Kyleakin IV41 8PL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Kyleakin
Price Range: £22 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Saucy Marys Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saucy Marys Lodge Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing