We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Skye getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portnalong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Croft Bunkhouse and Bothies
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I did a tour of Scotland on our honeymoon, and of course we had to visit the famous Isle of Skye. And we're so glad we did because it was probably the highlight of the entire trip. Part of this is because of the warm welcome we received from Theresa and Billy. They were both so friendly and helpful and gave great recommendations for places to visit. While there we toured the Talisker distillery, hiked out to the Fairy Pools, had a lovely walk along Talisker Bay, and enjoyed good food and drink at the pub in Carbost. We stayed in a wigwam which was very warm and surprisingly roomy for two people. Plus, the value can't be beat - it was a great way to save a little money which was very welcome as the dollar to pound exchange rate was at a six year high. We would definitely recommend the Croft Bunkhouse to any other travelers and plan on staying here again the next time we visit Scotland.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the bothie in june with 5 friends, whilst on what has now become a yearly pilgrimage to the island, upon arrival we received a warm welcome from the owners Theresa and Billy, which continued for the duration of our stay! We were all impressed with both the accommodation and it's setting! During our 3 night stay we enjoyed returning each night to what felt like home to enjoy the picturesque sunsets infront of the firepit with a well earned cold beer! I would recommend the croft bunkhouse to anyone and would like to thank Billy and Theresa once more for their hospitality, see you both next year :-)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Wow, this was my first time ever staying in a wigwam! Theresa and Billy made us feel at home they are so welcoming. They told us places to visit, and are such a lovely couple. They are so great to get on with. My friends and I went up there again, and they went out of their way to accommodate us What can I say the wigwam was spotless, and we had a great sleep in it. It was lovely and warm. There are blankets and sleeping bags. There is a microwave, kettle radio, fridge, there is even a bbq right outside the door and Billy gave us some coals to have a bbq. There was also the utensils to bbq! The gardens outside the wigwam are lovely and very well maintained. There are lovely features in the garden, lovely solar lights leading up the path, lights around the bench, watering can painted with lights around it. Inside the bunk house it is decorated amazing its so warm and inviting. The inside is immaculately clean. The toilets and showers are spotless and the shower is hot and powerful. Now the kitchen wow what can I say its like a big restaurant kitchen, it has everything you need and more. I made a fab roast chicken in the oven. Id forgotten to buy salt and there was some there. Theresa and Billy have thought of everything. The kitchen area is spotlessly clean. If you are looking for a place to stay in the isle of skye then this is the place. they cater for large groups and small groups couples and singles. I looked around the bothies and they look fab also and they are spotlessly clean. Oh and what else is great Theresa and Billy are so considerate they have a great selection of drinks and chocolate etc to buy at normal cost in case you have a urge of the munchies in the night ha ha or day. There is also at the back a bbq and seating area and the views are amazing. Oh I forgot you can also get towels aswell from Theresa and Billy, they have thought of everything. I would highly recommend this place to stay. Thanks Billy and Theresa....... Melanie Liverpool

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

From the minute we arrived at the Croft Bunkhouse we were made to feel welcome by Billy & Theresa. We arrived a little late in the evening & they had waited for us which was no problem at all to them. We were given a tour of the bunkhouse & it's facilities ( fully equipped kitchen, lovely clean showers & bathrooms, comfy living room and even outside furniture to enjoy the sunset & weather). We were staying in a wigwam which was also fully equipped with fridge, kettle, BBQ, even blankets & sleeping bags if required. Theresa was able to recommend some local walks, places to eat & best sights to do during our stay. Wigwam was comfy & clean, lots of space inside & beautifully decorated inside & out. Picnic bench, chairs, lovely fairy lights & BBQ all added to making it feel very homely & a lovely place to sit outside & enjoy the great weather - until the midgets forced us to retreat inside.
Would recommend Croft Bunkhouse & Wigwams to anyone. Great value for money, beautiful location and excellent hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FeeT222014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

If you want accommodation on Skye that has good access to some of the best wild places on Skye. With sea fishing, kayaking, coasteering and wilderness on your door step and the Fairy Pools and the black Cuillins withing a short drive as well as the stunning Talisker bay only a short hop.
As for you accommodation, be it a couple or group of 12 or more there is great accommodation on offer. Our group of 6 mountaineers stayed in the bothy with sunning views to the setting sun with 1 of the best equipment kitchens ever. Your hosts Theresa and Billy have to be the most hospitable folk you could ever wish to be running such a place. With beer in hand and the heat from the roaring bonfire Theresa and Billy will make your stay stress free, Since we cant bring it home with us we will sure to return again and again. ClanAdventures

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasClanadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly welcoming hosts, well furnished and clean inside and out. Well stocked kitchen, and very comfy bunks. Loads to do nearby, highly recommend Paul's Oyster shed just up the road from the Talisker distillery (also worth a visit). Plenty places to chill out in the evenings, with warm fires to cook on, and keep the midges away.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Gareth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

My friends and I have just spent a fantastic few days staying here. It combines keen pricing, a great location, cleanliness and excellent hosts.

When we arrived the owners Theresa and Billy welcomed us and showed us to our beds in the dormitory. They showed us the facilities and made recommendations about what to do around Skye. I'm glad we listened!

The main living room has loads of seating and a nice fireplace as well as books and board games.
The dormitory has large beds with new mattresses and duvets and the beds are made daily. There is a small 2 bed room off the living room for the snorers (like me).
The kitchen has 8 hobs, an oven and grill, 2 sinks and 3 fridges. There are loads of utensils and communal foodstuffs. There is a shelf with beer available for a donation!
The bathrooms have 3 toilets, 3 sinks and 2 electric showers.
Basically what I am saying is that there are more than enough facilities to cater for everyone staying in the dormitory.

There is plenty of land for a kick about and furniture outside for the nice weather. There are barbecues to cook some of the fish you WILL buy from Paul at The Oyster House just down the road in Carbost.

The exceptional thing about this hostel is the standard of cleanliness. Theresa and Billy come in at 1100 every day to clean the place top to bottom. It is immaculate!

The hostel is very homely and comfortable. We were made to feel extremely welcome and will be back at the earliest opportunity.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Lewis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portnalong
10.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,083 reviews
26.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
11.6 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 mi away
Saucy Marys Lodge
Saucy Marys Lodge
#3 of 3 in Kyleakin
281 reviews
9.3 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skeabost
469 reviews
25.7 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croft Bunkhouse and Bothies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croft Bunkhouse and Bothies

Address: Croft Cottage 7 Number, Portnalong IV47 8SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portnalong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Portnalong
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Croft Bunkhouse And Bothies Portnalong, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing