We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful escape!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Storr Lochs Apartments
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful escape!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We traveled all over Scotland, and by far the most relaxing, enjoyable place we stayed was the ground floor Leathan Apartment! The location is perfect, the apartment is beautifully furnished, comfortable and clean. We appreciated the washer/dryer, the welcome basket of goodies, and all the amenities. I would recommend this accomodation HIGHLY. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaddyBresler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    12
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
150 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed a couple of nights in the Fada Apartment. The apartment has an amazing view over the Loch and makes a good base for exploring the northern half of Skye. We liked the fact that it is close enough to Portree that you can still have regular access to stores while still feeling remote. There was some noise from passing vehicles, but this became very rare as the sun set. You will have no cell phone signal here, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing. There is free wifi available and there were several guide books to help you find things to locally. Would recommend a stay here if you are in the area!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank arizona223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed in Leathan Apartment for two nights on our way to North Uist, perfectly situated for our ferry from Uig and just a few miles form Portree. The scenery is stunning in this part of Skye with the Old Man of Storr just a short drive away and Staffin and the Quiraing a little further.
It was a pleasure to return after our days out to very comfortable and well appointed accommodation, with Sky TV and all the home comforts you could possibly need - comfy sofas, crisp white sheets and fluffy towels.
We also really appreciated the inclusion of the necessities for cooking such as seasonings and cooking oil - we made a very simple dinner of steak and salad (purchased in Portree) but everything we needed was there. There was also milk in the fridge, porridge pots for breakfast and a variety of hot beverages. We would not hesitate to return if visiting Skye in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

A lovely appartment, modern, clean and comfortably furnished. Perfect for Portree restaurants and shops, but out of town for that relaxed "middle of nowhere" feel. I have lived in Skye and travel there often to take photographs and loved this place.

Also was first time we had ventured anywhere on our own with our 1 year old...she loved it too!

Spectacular views of The Old Man of Storr and a lovely warm place to come back to after day-tripping the island.

My only criticism was the bed which was practically floor level...very comfortable to sleep in but a nightmare to get in and out of in the dark while trying to be quiet for the baby!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jmac1168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
205 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in the Fada apartment and it was pleasant in all regards. The location was stunning, with views over Loch Fada and well placed between Portree and The Old Man of Storr. Despite the occasional passing car, it was extremely peaceful, especially with no mobile reception to disturb us. We also enjoyed listening to the elements Skye is famous for, with the wind and rain lashing the windows - it was very relaxing and just the break we needed.

The quality of the apartment in our opinion was very high. Well set out, spacious and consideration for many of the little things. Extra bonus was Sky TV and all of the comforts of home that we needed. Large bath sheet towels, toiletries, some welcome items in the fridge and pantry. All in all, it was a much better choice and better value than staying in a room above a pub or a small hotel room.

We were pleased with communication prior to our arrival and very easy information and directions, all leading to a hassle free experience. And there was even a birthday card and small gift when we arrived for my girlfriend's birthday - a very nice personal touch that made us feel more than just a paying customer, but as a guest. Without hesitation, we would highly recommend staying at Dunsgiath Apartments and will certainly look to book again when we return to Skye.

Room Tip: The views from the windows of Fada were spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AUSLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the fada apartment on the way to he Old Man of Storr. Beautiful location.the apartment was stunningly setup and the deep double bath to die for.there is nothing wrong with this place at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judy61Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

At first glance the apartment was very aesthetically pleasing and we were pleased with our choice. However once we seen past the decor we quickly became disappointed.

The bathroom floor was permanently soaking wet with cold water coming up from under the floor tiles (and that was before we even turned a tap on or had a shower), the bathroom shelves sloped downwards and therefore not fit for purpose with no where to put toiletries, tiles on the bathroom walls were filthy looking and badly needing replaced, the kitchen cupboard handles were sticky and filthy, the wifi was intermittent at best and nonexistent in the living room and although a washing machine was available we could not find anything to dry our clothes on (shame considering we had been camping and wanted to wash our towels).

We had planned a camping trip over several days and had decided to break our camping with a treat staying 2 nights at what looked like a lovely apartment. Sadly we ended up disappointed and wishing we had continued camping.

We don't mind paying that little bit more when choosing nice places to stay, however at £150 per night we expected The Leathan to deliver much more than it did. In our opinion it was not value for money and we would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twinklewendywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
5.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
10.9 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
27.4 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
15.4 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storr Lochs Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storr Lochs Apartments

Property: Storr Lochs Apartments
Address: | By Portree, Portree IV51 9HX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Storr Lochs Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
-4 Star apartments on the beautiful Isle of Skye -Available on a nightly basis -Free Wireless Broadband Access -LCD Satellite TV, CD & DVD player -Spectacular & Romantic Setting -Abundant wildlife and walking -Apartments with Benefits of Hotels, B&Bs & Self Catering. -Apartments in Portree & Storr Lochs -World Class fishing and walking -Complimentary bottle of wine, bread, milk, cereals, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, shortbread Steeped in Romance, folklore, history and myth, set against a backdrop of some of the most spectacular scenery in the world, Skye has the enviable reputation of being the Jewel of the Scottish Highlands and what better place to start your discovery of the islands magic than Dunsgiath Apartments at 2 locations - Storr Lochs and Portree Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Storr Lochs Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storr Lochs Apartments Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing